We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ascendence Harbourside Mansion Bed & Breakfast Halifax
Ranked #6 of 22 Halifax B&B and Inns
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“pretty good”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The B&B was a nice location for our stay in Halifax.
You need a car to get downtown late at night if that's where you want to go.
The price was a bit high but it included free Wifi and breakfast.
The owner was very nice and generous and prepared a lunch package since we had to leave early in the morning. It seemed like the room and bathroom weren't cleaned lately.
There was loud TV noise in the adjacent room in the late evening which I don't think is proper!
Overall, I'd stay here again since it's a nice location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldIsMine2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    34
    16
    13
    18
See reviews for
38
62
12
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Ascendence Harbourside Mansion. It is an old house, a little tired, but much loved. The owners are young, enthusiastic, and fall all over themselves to make your stay enjoyable. Our room was small but clean and adequate. The beds were good and our breakfast was prepared with care. The bi-modal reviews are hard to understand. We took a chance and were glad we did.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We took a chance on this B&B even though others had panned it. Our first mistake. It is 10 minutes from Halifax, but there is NO view of the water. The musty smell in our bathroom was just the beginning. We could hear the owners children running upstairs until 10:00PM, and then the morning clatter of breakfast prep at 7:15 AM. After climbing into bed we both began to itch. My friend was too tired to move to another hotel (our second mistake) so he slept on top of the blankets and I (didn't) sleep on the hard, cold vinyl sofa. Breakfast was plentiful and good but Kat, the owner, sat down with us and proceeded to tell us how horrible Americans were!! Before we checked out I told them about the itching the night before (possibly due to the overly fragranced sheets), and our temptation to leave the night before. Her husband looked genuinely concerned, but Kat dismissed it as a mistake by her housekeeper and then went on to insult us again by saying "isn't it just like Americans to want to leave instead of asking to have the sheets changed". The owners are young and sharp business people. They own another low income housing project across the river. But they DO NOT know how to run a B&B. Don't waste your money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank oneworldonepeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarmouth, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

DO NOT STAY THERE!!! This is our story about our horrific stay at a B & B Bedford Highway N.S.(24 Northumberland Lane),, we are from Yarmouth N.S.We have been waiting for money owed to us 13 night stay only stayed for 6(one night no sleep at all),paid up front.Gave them a chance to pay me back and promised not to put review but it’s been long and no money.Went through Better Business Bureau because you cannot treat customers that way and should not get away with it.Try to make long story short.On 6th night they decided to have big party ,bar loud music,marijuana,alcohol,cigarettes,yelling, ,cursing,stomping up and down stairs.Being a paying guest never thought B&B owners would make guests stay in such atrocity .We were two women up for medical appts(IVF),upon calling requested we needed somewhere quiet to stay (guess I wasn’t clear).They did mention they were having a party.Didn’t feel comfortable saying“No you can’t have a party”. We were paying guests and felt we shouldn’t have to plus really thought they meant small get together..Well we were unbelievably surprised the party started at 8pm til 4am..(which small would have been fine).When dealing with BBB they replied nonsense such as doing IVF our hormones made me sensitive(lol)..they offered to buy us supper(lol)etc..lots of excuses.Men tried to break in our room we were petrified.. all for a lock was eye hook. .We should have called the police and were close but didn’t want to rock boat cause we wanted money owed .We said we wanted our money back for the rest of the stay, she said no, she said it’s a 48 hour cancellation we said whatever because it isn’t pleasant dealing with people who are intoxicated..(she was so intoxicated and high she could barely stand or focus).So we said fine we will pay for 2 more nights but we want the rest(which we haven’t seen),cause they made us feel very uneasy. . He then hauled her downstairs and she went ballistic, she was screaming at extremely high pitches constantly, slamming things for a good hour complaining to her guests about us .We then were scared also they were outside on patio where exit was and we weren’t sure what to do. We thought to call cops but we were trying to be smart with her downstairs in hysterics. Had to leave at 6am for appt. I opened my door and heard her sobbing and I immediately told my wife to stay back cause I thought she was waiting for us. Walking out marijuana was so strong it was smoked upstairs and them I immediately realized where she was .Her and Danny were in the guest room adjacent to us having sexual relations with the door open. We quickly grabbed the rest of our belongings looked downstairs in the dining room ,table was gone, empty beer bottles everywhere, lime wedges all over the floor, broken chairs(good thing we didn’t want breakfast).We just wanted out..We we outraged , scared, and upset we had to deal with something so stressful when we had enough to deal with medically. We wanted to enjoy our experience and not even close.I am positive she will reply on here crap she sent to BBB in which I want no part of,just know the part about them caring about customers is a lie...Horrible just Horrible!The most idiotic thing she said was ,”you pay for 13 nights,you got a good rate,I think one night of this is OK!)..lol

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
19 Thank amanda a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celle, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We spent three nights in Ascendence when we arrived in Halifax and one night before we left NS. The accomodaion and service was just perfect. Kathrin and Dan were wonderful hosts. If we would go back we wold certainly book there again. We got excellent tips for our stay in Halifax and took the bus going downtown. The rooms and beds were very good and the breakfast delecious, of high quality and each day different. They offered 24 hrs service in case of any problems.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Uwe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed at the Ascendence the first and last night of our round trip. We were going to book it over booking.com but then decided to contact them directly. We got a very good offer from Katherine and Dan and booked our stay directly with them. They also organize a shuttle to and from the airport if required. The Ascendence is situated in Bedford, a bit outside of Halifax. There are several busses to the city center stopping almost in front of the house. Depending on the type of bus (express or normal) it takes 20 min to 1hr (1 hr was during rush hour).
Both rooms were very spaceous and clean. The rooms are very nicely decorated and made us feel very much at ease from the minute we entered them. They have the most comfortable beds, wonderful matrasses! Just the right thing before or after a long flight or after 2 weeks in a RV like in our case. We got a separate bathroom with both rooms which was very convenient.
The breakfast was excellent, good coffee and a big selection of tea.
Katherine gave us a lot of very useful suggestions for our stay in Halifax and in Canada in general. They even gave us a ride to town and showed us a bit around for no charge. We enjoyed this very much.
Travelling a bit off season, we were able to keep our room all day even after the check out time while exploring the city, but we could also have left our suitcases with them, just not in the room.
We were also able to check in much earlier than indicated on the website. I suggest to contact them prior to arrival to let them know when approximately you are coming.
Katherine and Dan are very kind and open people. It was like staying with friends. If you enjoy chatting to your hosts, that's the place to go.
To summarize it: we enjoyed the stay at the Ascendence very much and would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elskada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

The room was comfortable and clean. We were upgraded by booking directly with the hosts. The crepes for breakfast were delicious. The hosts provided good information on places to see for our short time in the city.

Room Tip: Nice to have tv in the room. Heater control on outside of room door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sade37664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
South End
Waverley Inn
Waverley Inn
#12 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascendence Harbourside Mansion Bed & Breakfast Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascendence Harbourside Mansion Bed & Breakfast Halifax

Property: Ascendence Harbourside Mansion Bed & Breakfast Halifax
Address: 24 Northumberland Lane, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3M 1R7, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ascendence Harbourside Mansion Bed & Breakfast Halifax 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Victorian registered Heritage Property (c1981). Right in Halifax, by the harbour, only 5 km drive along the water to downtown. Deluxe two course Hot Breakfast, Parking, Wi-Fi, Laptop to use in room, Concierge, Kids Corner, Media room with small library and Business Corner -fax, printer, computer, local calls, Trip Planning - ALL Free! Extras: (please reserve) Makeover Studio in house, Childcare,Gift Baskets, Champagne, Limo Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ascendence Harbourside Mansion Bed & Breakfast Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascendence Harbourside Mansion Bed & Breakfast Halifax Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing