We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has all the amenities, but pretty dang grungy.”

Halifax Backpackers Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Halifax Backpackers Hostel
Chico, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Has all the amenities, but pretty dang grungy.”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Easy to find, has all the needed amenities. We found the upper bunk miserably uncomfortable, and theplace neess some good scrubbing. Might worth the money-in a big city- but everything single thing costs more. Unneccessarily dirty!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicosalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    15
    7
    9
    8
See reviews for
4
6
58
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

If you're ok with a sketchy part if town and the smell of pot, you'll be great here. If the blaring music from the beer party hosted by the cafe downstairs until 2 am doesn't affect your sleep, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dumbbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I cycled from Ontario and stayed at the hostel 2 times....2-3 nights each time last September-October. I took a private room ($57) and got a kick from the funky decor. Shared bathroom right across the hall.
Michelle and staff were all friendly and helpful. I took full advantage of The Alterego Cafe downstairs where I could get a latte in the AM and a local beer in the evening. It's a favourite gathering place for locals and meeting with them and chatting really made my stay memorable.
With their new liquor license they now have live music too so if you like it more quiet request a room away from the cafe.
Tony, friend of the hostel was a great source of local knowledge. From the closest grocery store to a local brewery or an inexpensive Lebanese veggie resto, Tony was happy to give directions and advice to travelers.
I'm 72 yrs old and I must say I really enjoyed interacting with the younger folks (20-30).
I'm going back to Halifax this summer (this time by train), and I will be happy to stay there again. A homey place for the young and the young-at-heart

Room Tip: Quieter rooms away from cafe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I have done lots of travelling and this is the friendliest place I have ever stayed. The staff make everyone feel welcome as if it was a home away from home. Great advice about the city and they plan local events. Location is good and you get everything you need as a budget traveller. If you are coming to Halifax this is the place to stay to feel welcome. The daily fresh baking is so comforting and delicious! And the music mix in the lounge is awesome! j

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I was very pleased, and being in my early 30s, I usually consider myself too old for hostels. It was clean, friendly, and generally quite livable. I wasn't expecting much from the cafe, but their food is quite good! I stayed in the dorms, which of course are shared by many people, but with an eye mask and ear plugs, I got a fantastic night's sleep. I also appreciate that this place attracts intelligent, locally-minded people who would rather explore beyond the downtown area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The staff at Halifax Backpackers Hostel is friendly, outgoing, and eager to help travellers experience everything that Halifax has to offer. Instead of being offered the same old tourism info, like museums and historical tours, the Halifax Backpackers Hostel staff introduced me to unique aspects of Halifax culture, such as listening to authentic maritime music with fiddles and banjos, and dancing to live Motown / Funk music. The Halifax Backpackers Hostel encourages socialization between guests and the local community, which is made easier thanks to the downstairs "café" Alteregos, where travellers can interact with local residents, including the many artists and musicians who call this beautiful neighborhood their home. If you want to experience more than the tourism brochure has to offer, I highly recommend staying at the Halifax Backpackers Hostel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathieu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Being 50 years old I was not quite sure if I would fit in at a backpackers hostel, I was so welcomed by the amazingly warm,kind, sweet staff who with their long term guests are the life blood of alteregos. Michelle, the owner, always available and open herself has made a modest building a welcoming place that makes you feel like you are truly sleeping in a friends home.
I am a fan for life and would never stay anywhere else when in Halifax.

Room Tip: 2 very pretty private rooms are also available for families or people wanting more privacy. I chose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbiemomz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,915 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halifax Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halifax Backpackers Hostel

Property: Halifax Backpackers Hostel
Address: Gottingen St, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Halifax Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halifax Backpackers Hotel Halifax
Halifax Backpackers Hostel Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing