We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try it you will like it”
Review of Elephant's Eye - CLOSED

Elephant's Eye
Price range: US$9 - US$14
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Downtown Halifax
Halifax, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Try it you will like it”
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We used to go there every Saturday until they changed their hours. The food is always excellent and you know it is all homemade.

Helpful?
1 Thank virginia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A nice little gem close to all of the historic properties in old Halifax”
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We had a light lunch there. Food was very good and seemed to be in line with other food places in Halifax, certainly not exorbitant prices as some have claimed.

It is a nice little spot to rest your legs while touring downtown Halifax. It is easy to get anywhere downtown from here.

The owner was also very helpful regarding information for parking and getting to other locations downtown.

The restaurant is small though, so if you come with a group with limited time, best you have a reservation.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank flameforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“hidden gem”
Reviewed 2 August 2011

The Elephant's Eye is a little gem in the downtown Halifax core. Its food is always fresh, home-made and delicious and they have many gluten free options which is nice perk for those with intolerance to wheat.

Everything I have tried has been flavourful and delicious and the warm herbed bread that they bring out as you are waiting for your meal is so good! The gingerbread and rum sauce is the best I have ever had - not to be missed!

The food is great and the service is friendly and sincere. This is a cozy little spot for a lunch date, or a business lunch. It never disappoints.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chile_elm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Elephant's Eye in Halifax has excellent food and service!”
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stopped in for breakfast while walking by and immediately liked the adtmosphere. Then our server arrived and was cheerful and helpful. Then the food arrived and it was excellent. We came back later the same day for tea and dessert. And again for as many days as we were there. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lakeshoreguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, B.C.
1 review
“The food here is Amazing and the atmosphere is freindly”
Reviewed 2 February 2011

This little gem is the best place for lunch in Halifax. The menu changes daily. The food is fresh and prepared so well. The owners are there in the cafe all the time so everything is kept perfect for guests. I have had the owners cater to my business many times and the food is exquisite. In fact many businesses in Halifax get this place to cater to various functions. I just love the seafood chowder as it is not that gooey white pastey stuff you get in many restaurants. The crepes are so fresh and delicious as well as the made in the cafe desserts. The prices are very reasonable and you are really taken care of by the staff.
Make this place a part of your Halifax visit and you will see what many believe, the Elephant's Eye is the place for a really wonderful dining experience.

Visited August 2010
Helpful?
Thank halifaxlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Elephant's Eye also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing