We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, service and food!”

Durty Nelly's Authentic Irish Pub
Ranked #15 of 733 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$18
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Downtown Halifax
Bemus Pt, NY
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, service and food!”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We were here twice in four days! The first night we came for drinks/appetizers at the bar. The bartenders were great and the suggestions they made for appetizers were perfect. We ordered the scallops appetizer and the mussels in Guinness cream sauce. Both were perfect. A couple days later we ate lunch there for a group event during the day and we had the same great service, quick & efficient and the food was great. Many people we were with purchased the Durty's Nelly's apparel! Don't miss this place when coming to Halifax!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank derby3680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    189
    48
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Pub Experience”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We ate here twice while in Halifax; we loved the atmosphere and the food. The pub is located near the water downtown. They offer a wide selection of beers and ales. Cheers!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ProfDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
484 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Second Time Unlucky”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I went to Durty Nelly's soon after it opened, and although it had the decor of an Irish pub, supposedly because they went to Ireland and copied the elements from "Real" Irish pubs, but it was TOO new and too perfect. No real Irish pup looks that perfect, they are all a bit worn and aged. At that time I enjoyed the food and the beer was good. I went back this week a couple of years later, and it looks a bit better, but still is a bit too perfect. It just hasn't reached that nice worn, broken in, comfortable feeling you get in an old established pub that has had a few more Guinness spilled on the floor.

I had a Guinness, and it was good, served at the right temperature and with a nice head, but the food was not good. I had the Lamb Shank (As on the picture above). The Potato was the best part of the meal. The lamb was tough and overcooked with little actual meat on the bone. It was terrible! the vegetables were oven roasted and were over done and also tough. They tasted like they had been roasted a and left under a heat lamp. Overall a terrible meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Art H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
352 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Always a good time”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We love this place. All the interior was brought over from Ireland,we are told,so it has a very authentic look and feel.
The service is excellent,it often has Irish music and local performers singing,dancing and playing instruments.
We have eaten appetizers here twice and had one lunch...all perfect.
Love it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Landrys05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It was great!”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

I had the cajun chicken sandwich and even if they forgot to add the avocado spread, it was awesome. My wife had the beed ribs and she liked them, the plates are generous and we enjoyed the atmosphere on the patio. When we went inside, I found the music a little too loud for my taste.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank France L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Durty Nelly's Authentic Irish Pub also viewed

 
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Durty Nelly's Authentic Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing