We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and friendly service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Durty Nelly's Authentic Irish Pub

Durty Nelly's Authentic Irish Pub
Ranked #13 of 710 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$17
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Downtown Halifax
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Visited Durty Nelly's in June 2014 while wandering the streets of Halifax. The place was so busy, and understandably so. They had live music, which was very fun, and a great vibe. The waitress was so pleasant and even recommended further places to explore in the city. The atmosphere alone would make it a must-go-to Irish pub in Halifax, but combined with the food and service, I would highly recommend a visit here!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank anywherebuthere04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    176
    45
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tillsonburg, Canada
Level Contributor
240 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“What a great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Went here after my cousin recommended it. Wow!!! Food was simply amazing. We had the pan fried haddock which was served with a cream sauce and carrots,parsnips and beets and fries. The veggies were delicious. I highly recommend this place.
Also had the house draft beer. Rather nice also.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank outandabout4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ma
Level Contributor
206 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“True Irish Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

This place was great! Authentic Irish Pub food and atmosphere. Friendly servers,really make you welcome. Loved our meals. A "don't miss spot" in Halifax.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank courtney106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, New Brunswick
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I have a new favourite bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were blown away by the beautiful woodwork in this bar. The wait staff were extremely friendly and the selection of beers was very good. We sampled the new Keith's Fusion while there, which I'm sure will be a hit on hot summer days. I regret we had eaten earlier and had not waited to try the food here as it looked amazing going by to other tables. We definitely will wait to try the food here next time in Halifax.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vaughn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Had a wonderful meal here. It was my husband's favourite meal during the whole trip, the lamb shank is highly recommended. Friendly servers who enjoy a chat, good service and great ambiance. We'll be back

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Durty Nelly's Authentic Irish Pub also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Durty Nelly's Authentic Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing