We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to visit for history buffs & families too”

Halifax Citadel National Historic Site of Canada
Book In Advance
More Info
US$44.23*
and up
Halifax City Tour
Ranked #3 of 138 things to do in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience an exciting part of Canada's history by visiting this 19th-century fort with a sweeping view of downtown Halifax. Between May and October, the Citadel is brought to life by two historic regiments of the British Army - the pageantry of the 78th Highlanders and the precision of the Royal Artillery thrill visitors daily with live re-enactments. The skirl of the bagpipes mixes with the crack of a rifle and the assembly of recruits for the next foot drill. There's no shortage of authentic experiences to view and participate in! Kids will love the Xplorers Program - an activity book just for them. When the sun sets, it's time to experience the other side of the Citadel - join the Citadel Ghost Walk and experience the dark and errie lore from the early 1800's. Tours start mid-July and run every Friday and Saturday nights starting at 8:30pm until the end of October. Cash at the front gate.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
165 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great place to visit for history buffs & families too”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Great place to visit if you're a history buff like me! Also a great place to visit w/kids & the entire family as there are things for everyone to do. Nice views of the city from atop the walls as well. The site has many costumed characters depicting British soldiers & the like from the 18th Century.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank OBIDOCRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,338
    853
    160
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
67 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Halifax isn't Halifax without the Citadel”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I visited the citadel when I was much younger with my parents and loved the experience. After many years, I finally found myself back in Halifax for a conference and relived some memories. When I visited in December, there were no activities happening and not a staff member in sight except for at the front gate. I just went for the view. It was as stunning as I remembered it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hn�U
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Incredible Volunteers”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Tours of the Citadel start 5 mins after the hour. Our tour group had around 30 people and we were led about the Citadel by a university student, on summer break, with a huge passion for history.

The Citadel wouldn't hold up against today's military weapons but let me tell you, it feels extremely safe just being there.

The museum has a wonderful historic collection of items, many of which were donated by the veterans or family's directly. Really makes you appreciate Canada's military background as peacekeepers.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Give history a chance”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Loved that they were celebrating a child's birthday. Of course, the kiddos loved capturing the spy after searching for them. Great idea.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank BandJNh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead
Level Contributor
360 reviews
131 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Disappointing after Louisbourg”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We spent a morning here and whist we found the AV presentation very interesting the rest if the activities seemed bland by comparison with Louisbourg. The actors did not interact spontaneously and seemed more interested in chatting with each other. The shops seemed to be a big focus of the site.

Helpful?
Thank djne11026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Halifax Citadel National Historic Site of Canada also viewed

 

Been to Halifax Citadel National Historic Site of Canada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing