We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marriott Harbourfront enhanced our travel experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Marriott Harbourfront enhanced our travel experience”
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We travelled to Halifax for a mini-vacation - 4 days, 3 nights. We very much enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Staff was super nice, friendly and helpful. The room was of good size, nice amenitites, comfortable bed and the washroom looks virtutually new and overall, the room was in excellent shape and very clean. I made good use of the Starbucks on the main floor a few times and in one instance, I tried to get a bottled water even the caisher was closed. Although the girl declined to make the sale (since they had shut down the cashier), she was very polite about it and even wished me a good evening, which was impressive. Parking was expensive however and the the underground lot was small and spaces were tight. For one night, there was a wedding at the hotel and the parking was full. We were given the credit back for the day's parking, but we were told to go park at the garage attached to the casino and paid for it ourselves. We ended up finding a space on the street. But other than that, we really enjoyed our stay at the Marriott Harbourfront and will definately go back next time, even if it is a bit pricey.

Room Tip: Ask for corporate rates, if applicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yyzzaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    533
    434
    127
    42
    28
See reviews for
209
407
42
333
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Great location when visiting the city. This Mariott was pretty much at one end of the very well done walkway along the downtown waterfront. The building was modern, clean, comfortable and I really appreciated the Starbucks on the main floor each morning. Room was a good size with all the typical amenities, although the $15.95 a day extra for Wi-fi in the room seems a bit over the top. That said, Wi-fi was available in the lobby at no cost. The one short coming about the room was how the noise from the bar across the way permeated the room when it was time to sleep. The hotel had provided earplugs in the nightstand so I know I wasn't the first person to need them to sleep. Staff were very friendly and helpful everywhere I encountered them. The last plus was the boarding pass printer that was in the lobby for those of us who are not entirely living paper free.

Room Tip: Avoid a south facing room for less noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce154913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

The Marriot hotel is beautiful and very clean. Being connected to the ped-way is great, you can get to the Casino and the World Trade and Convention Center without going outside, and right by the Metro Center and Cheers/Dome (Bar and night club) with only going outside to cross a street or walk up the sidewalk. They charge you for everything though; you need to pay to use internet, local calls and parking and room service is a bit pricey. Compared to other hotels in the area you pay more here for pretty much the same quality. The pool is very nice and a good size, some of the rooms have access to the pool through their patio doors. The few times I have stayed here the pool was not very busy which was nice, however you do need to walk up to the pedway entrance to get to pool so there’s a lot of people traffic walking around. If the main purpose of your trip is to go to the casino, or you find a good price this hotel is certainly worth visiting. If you are travelling on a budget there are better priced hotels close by that are still very nice as well.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Capriscorpio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
home
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

I was with my husband for a conference and I played tourist.
Very nice hotel. Starbucks coffee bar in the lobby . Good little gift shop .
Perfect sized rooms comfy beds. We had a room with a partial view of the harbor on the executive floor . Very very clean. They provide ear plugs if you are a light sleeper
Great location close to all tourist places . Very helpul staff . The hotel has a resturant with surprisingly good food. with a view of the harbour Our water Marty was delightful. He gave us helpful suggestions and seemed to have tasted all the foods on the menu with alot of enjoyment .
Beware everything in Halifax is expensive...we in the USA have nothing to complain about....

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bellamia53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Our stay was not good. Had to pay for parking & internet. Paid extra $30 to get a harbour view & got a side view of a bit of the harbour. Room was way over priced.Got a microwave & bar fridge delivered to the room, thought that was great until I tried to warm up milk for my child & the microwave kept tripping out.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2011

Omg loved it alot. Super long walk just to get to the room but worth it. Room was great pub was even better. I keep recommending this hotel to everyone I know. Try it once and you will be hooked like me!!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela2625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Helpful and welcoming bellman and front desk staff. My luggage was in my room by the time I'd returned my hire car - I wasn't expecting that! Assigned a room on the Concierge level (as booked) right at the end of the corridor with great views straight out across the harbour from the main window and across the city from a second window elsewhere in the room. Very clean and well-appointed room. Bed was comfortable, but there were 11 (!!) assorted cushions and pillows on it. Most of them need to go somewhere before you can get into the bed!!! :-) Hotel well situated just off of the main drag of the city centre - a pleasant stroll along the boardwalk or down the street.

Very friendly staff greeted me each time I walked through reception. Concierge lounge was a very quiet and relaxing place to have a light snack and some drinks instead of dinner, as well as a basic (by Canadian standards) breakfast which I found more than adequate. The lounge was staffed by very friendly employees. Wifi as part of room package worked well.

Good pool, although strange way into it, especially past pool-view rooms. Hotel architecture much more attractive than many anonymous hotel tower blocks.

Highly recommended - would return without a doubt.

Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank simonlee001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,806 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel

Property: Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel
Address: 1919 Upper Water St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3J5, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Halifax
#3 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#7 Business Hotel in Halifax
#7 Family Hotel in Halifax
#8 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly connected to Casino Nova Scotia by indoor skyway, Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel offers a unique, modern, and chic space for guests to enjoy a stay in Halifax. Our Halifax hotel's restaurant, Harbourstone Sea Grill & Pour House - as well as our exquisite full-service Interlude Spa and spectacular views of the Halifax Harbour - make our hotel in Halifax a gem and a desired accommodation. At our Halifax, Nova Scotia hotel, you will be able to experience the best of Halifax from an ideal location. Your time in the city will be elevated while you stay with us, in our premier downtown location on the Harbour and close to everything business and vacation guests need. Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel offers luxurious hotel rooms and suites with picturesque views, plush bedding, and marble bathrooms. We provide Wi-Fi access, Starbucks® in our hotel lobby every morning, and other hotel perks including a 24-hour fitness facility and indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Halifax
Casino Hotel Halifax
Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing