We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay!”
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We had a fantastic stay at the Marriott in Halifax! The hotel had everything we needed and was in a great location, particularly with respect to the harbour front (we were attending the Tall Ships Festival). The hotel even had a full Starbucks in the lobby which was a great plus!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSartorialTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    453
    130
    44
    30
See reviews for
221
430
42
345
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We checked in after 3:00pm on the Saturday of the Tall Ships and were told that our room wasn't ready due to the large number of people who wanted to check in early. It took about half an hour and repeated enquiries at the front desk, however we were able to get into our room by 4:00pm.

Our room was on the South side overlooking Cows / The boardwalk and The Lower Deck. As we were only on the second floor, we were worried about the noise coming from the Lower Deck in the wee hours of the morning, however it turned out to be a non-issue and the room was very quiet.

The hotel was in a great location for us to experience the tall ships and then return to the hotel so the children could use the pool. In the past, the pool has been like ice, however on this visit the water was much warmer.

For dinner, we ate on the patio at the hotel. Service was painfully slow, and they seemed to be either understaffed or just overwhelmed by how busy the restaurant was that night. The upside of the slow service was that we were still eating when the fireworks went off at 9:30 and had a prime elevated front row seat for the spectacle. The restaurant even provided blankets for the customers to stay warm in the cool evening air. Special mention to Stephanie in 44 North who, although she wasn't our server, still helped our four year old survive the slow service with her "fish lips" demonstration.

We didn't stay for Sunday brunch, but the breakfast buffet was well stocked with the usual items.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123YHZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxMarriott, Public Relations Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us so much useful feedback. We are sorry to hear that you had to wait past check-in time for your room to be ready, however; glad to hear everything was satisfying once the wait was over. We strive to ensure everyone has a timely check in, unfortunately when there are a large number of rooms checking out, it presents more of a challenge. We are pleased to have such fantastic associates, who genuinely care about their Guests and always welcome any comments that are indicative of this!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

As others have noted, the Marriott Harbourfront is in a great location right on the waterfront and close to the action. The rooms were decently appointed with comfortable beds as well. Generally the room while clean and more than serviceable, was nothing to write home about. Service, on the other hand, was superlative. Everyone was extremely helpful and generous with recommendations and suggestions (even at 2:30am on Canada Day when we were looking for a place to eat). Everyone seemed to subscribe to that much-vaunted Maritime hospitality, and it made our stay. The Starbucks in the lobby had good hours as well.

It is definitely on the pricey side, but we got a deal on the Marriott website that included self-parking and a gas card, and that made it a better deal than other hotels we looked at.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raath_ki_Rani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxMarriott, Public Relations Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Your comment has brought a smile to many faces here at the Halifax Marriott Harbourfront. We appreciate you taking the time to share so many positive encounters you experienced during your stay with us, and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed at Marriot Harbourfront for our anniversary weekend in JUly 2012. The MHF is situated right down by the harbour and in easy walking distance of all the touristy harbourfront eateries and shopping. We stayed during the tall ships event and it was quite a busy area.
There was nothing particularly wrong with the Marriot, but yet it wasn't a stand out place. Generally I found the Marriot overpriced for the quality of service and amenities. Everything was slightly skimpy - which I don't mind in a super 8 but not for 400+/night. We had a suite with air massage tub as part of a romance type package. I expected more from the package which described chocolate covered fruit - we recieved a small box of truffle choclates, but that was no big deal. The linens were clean, toiletries acceptable. They were not fully refreshed each day. Less towels and soap, shampoo etc were left for us the second day. The room was rather sparse. The coffee in the room was single serving - one caf and one decaf. Two people could not have a regular coffee without recycling the used coffee 'bag'. There was no minibar or anything like that in the room. We ordered room service when we needed a snack. The 'lobster rolls' came on hot dog buns. Something a little classier would be nice for the price. The wings were pretty good. The breakfast was hot and good. Coffee a bit skimpy. Generally the food was ok, not great. Strangely the TV was not visible from the hot tub so no romantic movie while sipping wine in the tub, if that is what you are into!

The lobby is very busy, being part of a bigger setup to access various harbourfront locations and businesses. (Tip: You have to enter this busy area open to the publc to enter the pool, so wear a coverup!) The staff was busy to distraction, it was hard to find a bellhop. This may have been due to the Tall Ships activity. The bellhops were very nice when available and fetching in thier scottish costumes. We uused thier vallet service, which was always timely and 2 cold bottles of water was always provided in our car when we recieved it.

The indoor pool has a strange design where a number of hotel rooms open directly into the pool room... almost the outdoor pools are setup in some hotels, complete with thier own patio tables and chairs. The pool room was full of guests sitting outside thier own rooms watching the people who came in to swim. It felt like we were intruding when we went in there. In fact the experience was borderline creepy in an indoor space. Supposedly there was a sauna - we couldn't find it. There were no clean towels laid out in any obvious place, though the poolroom people all had blue towels. The changing area was very dim. The pool itself and the hot tub were nice and clean.

As it was a special occasion we requested a number of things through the concierge service:
Romance tool kit. The concierge replied to me at the time of booking that this was already included in our package but there were no items provided matching the description on the Marriot website, so either they mixed up what that was supposed to be or we just didn't get everything in our package.
Extra feather pillows. The pillows were feather and divine but only the standard 3 were provided, no extra.
Late checkout. Not acknowledged at any point. In the end we called down and asked when checkout was and if late was available. It was still unclear and we left at the regular time.
Room with a view. Not provided or acknowledged.
Bottle of Moet champagne. Was indeed brought up to the room with the romqnce package (ie. chocolates and two glasses of Henkel) in ice as requested.
All of these things (besides the wine and romance kit) were complimentary if available so it did not upset me when they didn't pan out, but again no one acknoweldged anything.

The hotel is perfectly clean, nice and pleasant for a typical hotel stay. Were the price a bit lower for the package and other amenities I would have given it four stars but for thier romance package price point, the level of service was just not there. I'd suggest if you are looking for a special occasion luxery splurge you should instead try the Prince George Hotels 'Living Large" package which I have reviewed in TA elsewhere. For a similar package price you get a lot more 'stuff' as well as the most elegant furnishings and service in Halifax.
For a similar type of stay to this hotel at less cost try one of the Delta's. The driving will also be easier from the Delta's or the Prince George and the locations are equally nice.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the indoor pool. If you want that!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea_027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
360 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Certainly the location is great but there are many hotels just a block or two away for half the price. You have to pay for parking and the WiFi is only free for the first day. We had a partial view of the water which was nice but didn't spend much time in the room so not all that important. The beds certainly are wonderful with great fluffy duvets but unfortunately our room a a damp musty odor we noticed every time we came in. Odd. If we go back to Halifax, I don't think we would stay here again because there are other nice places in same locale that cost a whole lot less. (But if I was traveling on a business expense account, I'd stay here again if the company was paying!)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janna64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxMarriott, Public Relations Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Thank you for your comments; we appreciate any feedback from our valued Guests. Although parking is not included in the price of the guest rooms, we do offer unlimited wireless internet in our guest rooms throughout the entire duration of the stay. After the first 24 hours, the system will ask you to sign back in as a guest but there is no charge associated with this sign in. Sometimes, high levels of humidity can cause dampness in any guest room but we are always more than happy to place an ozone machine in rooms that seem unusually damp. This can usually take place while you are away from your room so as to not cause any inconvenience. Again, thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

My wife and I stayed three days at this Marriott and enjoyed it in multiple ways. The doorman who met us as we drove to the entrance greeted us and directed us to underground parking ($19.95/day for self-park). Cassie at the reception desk was especially friendly and welcoming; she gave us a fifth floor room (571) with a partial view of the waterfront. The room was attractively decorated, with a comfortable King bed, mini-fridge, large well appointed bathroom, etc. Our windows had a crank casement section that allowed us to open the window for refreshing night breezes. Our first night we ate on the outside patio of 44 North, this Marriott's fine restaurant; we ordered an appetizer of vodka soaked salmon and line caught haddock for dinner. My wife and I shared each and the food was both delicious and plentiful for the two of us. There are a couple of local breweries on the menu and the Garrison's Nut Brown was a good choice with our food. Our server, Stephanie, was high energy and delightful, with a great sense of humor and a thorough commitment to customer service. She seemed to have something to do with the people at every table, dashing from one table to another; nonetheless, service was efficient and she helped add to the enjoyment of the dinner experience. We made it a point to have breakfast on the patio of 44 North each morning thereafter. The Marriott is on the boardwalk, which affords a comfortable amble down to many shops, the ocean liner pier, and beyond to Bishop's Landing, where there are a number of don't miss outdoor dining places. The location, amenities, staff, service, and food experiences of this Marriott were uniformly superb. It is a rare thing for everything to come together like this. We are looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: Rooms directly fronting the harbor command higher prices, but the fifth floor of the South Tower is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Edward3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxMarriott, Public Relations Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
We are delighted to hear so many positive comments about our staff. Here at the Halifax Marriott Harbourfront we know that we have an excellent location and wonderful product, but it is our dedicated associates who pave the way for overall success. Excellent customer service is our top priority. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester County, NY
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We spent three nights at the Marriott and found it to be everything we expect from the brand -- spacious, comfortable and clean room, with an excellent bed. Service from the friendly staff was also excellent. Although a little farther along the waterfront than other hotels, the Marriott is located conveniently with most sites within easy walking distance. The breakfast buffet was not inexpensive ($20) but it was bountiful, and the omelet chef did a very good job. The views of the harbor were impressive. Spacious lobby and direct access to the garage (self-park) were added attractions. We did not see any worn carpeting as mentioned by another reviewer. Since this was our first trip to Halifax, we cannot compare the Marriott to any other hotel but we can say that our experience affirmed our regard for the quality of the chain.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxMarriott, Public Relations Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
We are so thrilled to hear how impressed you were with your stay here at the Halifax Marriott Harbourfront, and truly appreciate your feedback! We pride ourselves on our excellent location, cleanliness and quality of service from our valued Marriott Associates. Thank you so much for your time and feedback, we look forward to having you as our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,920 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel

Property: Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel
Address: 1919 Upper Water St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3J5, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Halifax
#3 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#7 Business Hotel in Halifax
#7 Family Hotel in Halifax
#8 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly connected to Casino Nova Scotia by indoor skyway, Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel offers a unique, modern, and chic space for guests to enjoy a stay in Halifax. Our Halifax hotel's restaurant, Harbourstone Sea Grill & Pour House - as well as our exquisite full-service Interlude Spa and spectacular views of the Halifax Harbour - make our hotel in Halifax a gem and a desired accommodation. At our Halifax, Nova Scotia hotel, you will be able to experience the best of Halifax from an ideal location. Your time in the city will be elevated while you stay with us, in our premier downtown location on the Harbour and close to everything business and vacation guests need. Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel offers luxurious hotel rooms and suites with picturesque views, plush bedding, and marble bathrooms. We provide Wi-Fi access, Starbucks® in our hotel lobby every morning, and other hotel perks including a 24-hour fitness facility and indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Halifax
Casino Hotel Halifax
Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing