We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, don't expect a great night of sleep...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I stayed in the Marriott Harbourfront for 3 nights, and loved its location, right on the harbour, within walking distance of great entertainment and fabulous dining. It's nicely renovated, the service is nice.

Only problem, sleeping was challenging, the lights from the corridor seep through the door and light it up like in daylight. No amount of blockage resolves the issue... So go there to play, not to sleep!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pebouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxMarriott, Public Relations Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

We appreciate your review, and are so sorry to hear that you found the room to be too bright. We do hope you will be visiting us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

776 - 782 of 1,265 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

I have always liked staying at this hotel because of its central location near historic properties and beautiful harbour views. The new lobby renovation completed last year has given the hotel a much needed freshing up and brings it into the 21st century. The restaurant and bar are standard hotel fare and herein lies my only complaint. I loved the down home ambiance of the old pub with its wooden tables and live local music. The new bar is a cocktail bar and not a pub. I am sure the marketing and trending people probably told Marriott that is what is in but I do miss the past.

Room Tip: gat a full harbourview room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxMarriott, Public Relations Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Thank you for your review, we are glad to hear you like our fresh, new lobby!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed here for a wedding hosted at the hotel. The room was made up early for us .The hotel has had renovations to the lobby and the reception room, it overlooked the harbor. The food at the wedding was delicious. Great service at the reception.

The room we had was a large room opening onto the pool . Very nice clean room with comfortable beds(although I prefer at least a queen) . Found the staff to be helpful.

Only one incident which kept us awake for part of the night was a security guard trying to get some disruptive people out of a room across the hall. These things happen and it is a difficult situation for the hotel . It was handled fairly well but were offered no apology for the noise situation.

I would stay here again as that incident was a one off.

The location is great for walks along the harborfront, several well known restaurants near by, a view of the cruise ships if they are in and some tourist shopping as well .
Great location.

Room Tip: If you are going to be using the pool alot ,great for kids, and need a fridge ,there are some larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebM908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxMarriott, Public Relations Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed staying with us! We do apologize for the disruption brought on by other guests on your floor. We pride ourselves on superior guest service, and go above and beyond whenever possible to ensure guest satisfaction. We do hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in October, 2013 as we were taking a long weekend getaway. We were not disappointed. The hotel is right on the waterfront, steps away from many restaurants and the beautiful Halifax harbor. The restaurant in the hotel, while expensive, has a beautiful breakfast buffet with an omelet station, smoked salmon, and just about anything else you could think of. All staff were very friendly and helpful. Julia at the front desk was very helpful in setting up some tours for us at the last minute. The pool was wonderful. We arrived during the week when there was less of a crowd and it was quiet. The room we had on the 4th floor had to be the best in the hotel. The view of the harbor was terrific. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who appreciates a water view and an upscale hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 403--which in my opinion had the best view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anniewhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxMarriott, Public Relations Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you for your comments, it seems you feel the same about our beautiful Hotel as we do! So glad you were able to enjoy every aspect of your stay here with us, and we hope you will return in the not-so-distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Booked on Marriott sit with points. Check in was courteous and friendly, especially from our kilted hosts which described the offerings of the hotel.

The room was nice with a no mix of old world charm and modern touches. Beds were comfortable, loads of channels on led TV, free Wi-Fi for gold members and free breakfast in the morning. The buffet was quite good. The gym was well appointed and the pool quite appreciated.

As there was a wedding that night, the self serve parking filled up and we had to use valet. The hotel was kind enough to wave that fee for us.

Overall very pleased with this in hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lubiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxMarriott, Public Relations Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you for your kind review, we appreciate you taking the time to leave your comments! We are truly pleased that you had such a satisfactory visit with us, and we are looking forward to hosting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed at the Marriott for one night. Check in was at 3 and we arrived shortly thereafter. Our room wasn't ready as I had paid for an upgrade to harbour view. We decided to go to the Starbucks located in their lobby. Forty-five minutes later I checked and our room was still not ready. We waited another 30 minutes and I went to a different person at the desk who said the room was still not ready. At this point I asked if they had other harbour view rooms ready, which they did but only on the executive level. After a bit of pleading with the front desk clerk she did manage to find me a suitable room. I really feel they should have been more willing to accommodate me as if did pay for an upgrade in the first place..

Our room was perfect and the pool area is excellent. They have a huge fitness area as well. After our evening out we stopped back at their bar which was really nice. The wait staff there really new their stuff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mexigood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxMarriott, Public Relations Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are so sorry to hear that you had to wait for your room to be ready, but we are relieved that once you were checked in you were satisfied and had an enjoyable stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

In late September my wife and I traveled by ferry from St john N.B to Digby Nova Scotia. Thanks to the hurricane "Gabrielle" we were unable to see anything but fog during the crossing on the ferry and torrential rain from Digby to Halifax by car. It truly was a White Knuckle drive that at times I could not see two feet in front of the car and the highway disappeared all while only traveling at 40 mph . My wife had her eyes clued in too for she was on Moose alert. We were expecting to see Bullwinkle at any moment! After two plus hours of driving in this nightmare we made it to the Marriott Harbourfront and after check in headed straight for a drink and some food,as well as stretching my fingers back to a normal position again.
The service and cleanliness of the hotel was excellent all 4 star. I was however a bit disappointed in our room, I had booked a Harbor view and we did have one but it basically was more a slight view of an inlet beside the hotel. Not what I had in mind. It still was a lovely room and the hotel's location on the boardwalk had us close to all the action . All in all I would recommend this hotel but would not wish that hair raising drive on anyone!

Room Tip: With the coffee maker in the room we would go to a Tim Holton's buy a blueberry muffin and have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aljgoddard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxMarriott, Public Relations Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Wow! By the sounds of things, you certainly did experience quite a treacherous drive! We are so happy you made it safe and sound and were able to enjoy the Halifax Marriott Harbourfront. Thank you for sharing your story, hopefully we will have the opportunity to host you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
3,021 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel

Address: 1919 Upper Water St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3J5, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Halifax
#3 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#7 Business Hotel in Halifax
#7 Family Hotel in Halifax
#8 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: £123 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly connected to Casino Nova Scotia by indoor skyway, Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel offers a unique, modern, and chic space for guests to enjoy a stay in Halifax. Our Halifax hotel's restaurant, Harbourstone Sea Grill & Pour House - as well as our exquisite full-service Interlude Spa and spectacular views of the Halifax Harbour - make our hotel in Halifax a gem and a desired accommodation. At our Halifax, Nova Scotia hotel, you will be able to experience the best of Halifax from an ideal location. Your time in the city will be elevated while you stay with us, in our premier downtown location on the Harbour and close to everything business and vacation guests need. Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel offers luxurious hotel rooms and suites with picturesque views, plush bedding, and marble bathrooms. We provide Wi-Fi access, Starbucks® in our hotel lobby every morning, and other hotel perks including a 24-hour fitness facility and indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Halifax
Casino Hotel Halifax
Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing