We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for touring Halifax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The hotel sits on the harbor with a fantastic view from their suites. The staff were excellent. You can park your can and do all the Halifax attractions without driving around. Be sure to try the "Hopper" car tour; takes you on land and out into the harbor. Also, the public gardens are worth the walk up the hill.

Room Tip: The suite overlooking the water was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxMarriott, Public Relations Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful view of the Halifax harbour, and that you were thoroughly impressed with our associates. We sure do have a lovely location, with many attractions nearby. We hope to see you again, and hope that you have the opportunity to do a bit more exploring in the wonderful city of Halifax!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

752 - 758 of 1,265 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

The rooms are well appointed and the view of Dartmouth was lovely. Staff are friendly and efficient. This is a very convenient location to stay with pedways connecting the hotel to the Casino Nova Scotia and Scotia Square..... you can wander from your room through the pedways to attend concerts and events at the casino without the bother of winter boots and coats......... I would definitely recommend this hotel for stays when attending events at Casino Nova Scotia.

Room Tip: Ask for a Harbour view on the highest floor possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SherriMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxMarriott, Public Relations Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed our convenient location and the Pedway that connects us to Casino Nova Scotia. Looking forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Interior decor: Marriott standard. Wide open space lobby. Elegant room furniture. Adequately lit. Stylish restaurant appearance.
Exterior appearance: Waterfront hotel, relatively low key appearance for Marriott.
Outside view from the room: One window looks out to Halifax Harbour with OK view. The other window looks out to Halifax downtown with average view.
Room size: Approximately 35 square metres. Very good. Tall ceilings.
Price value: A bit inflated.
Service: Professionally trained staffs for valet parking, luggage assistance, front desk and restaurant service.
Bed: King, soft.
Location: Centrally located in Halifax next to the harbour. You can walk to the shore deck directly from the back side of the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank setotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxMarriott, Public Relations Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thanks for your review! We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

The Hotel was very good - highlights included the large pool, conference facilities, and its location on the harbour. Exceptional front desk service. By all means drive out to Peggy's Cove for stunning views from this seaside town (relatively untouched), and just further up the road a 1/2 mile, the SwissAir disaster memorial (also serene and spectacular). 20 minutes from the hotel is the Fairlawn cemetery where many of the Titanic passengers are buried, including J. Dawson. Leonardo DiCaprio played Jack Dawson in the Titanic movie, but James Cameron states it was a coincidence there was a real J. Dawson on the ship. Halifax is a beautiful town, and with more time I would have visited the Citadel close by. All on all, hotel is an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Partial harbor view is noce - so request this.,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chucky2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxMarriott, Public Relations Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are glad you enjoyed our Hotel, and are thrilled that you had the chance to explore some of the exciting attractions of Nova Scotia. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a weekend away with my husband. As my husband is Platinum Elite with Marriott and this hotel is a bit pricey.... I just expected more. If you are traveling for business, I'm sure the location would be very convenient and the experience would be adequate. If you are looking for something romantic and picturing a lovely view of the harbor with luxury service, I think you'll be disappointed.

Overall a little disappointed in this Marriott.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ads298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxMarriott, Public Relations Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our unbeatable location. We do hope to have the opportunity in the future to change your mind about us, as we pride ourselves on providing our valued guests with flawless service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Wow, I'm not easily impressed by large hotel chains, but I WAS impressed by this hotel. From beginning to end, my stay was great. The location, right on the waterfront was impressive. I had a "harbour" view. The rooms are large and spacious. The beds were amazingly comfortable.
And, unlike most hotel properties, the room and bathroom were immaculately clean. Very hard to find this cleanliness standard in a hotel anymore!
There is a Starbuck's right in the lobby and also a convenience store for "munchies" and snack food. Free internet/computers available at lobby level AND a dedicated computer with printer to check-in for your flight and print your boarding pass.
Most of all and most appealing about this property, were the staff. Everyone was warm, welcoming and only too willing to help. Nothing was too much trouble for anyone. This level of customer care is now the exception rather than the "norm"...............
I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone. Even the most discerning customer would be hard pressed to find better service anywhere. A beautiful lobby level restaurant rounds out the excellent amenities here.
This hotel should be on everyone's list of places to stay while in Halifax. The location is perfect with many great restaurants to choose from in close proximity.
So to this Marriot, THANK YOU for one of the best hotel experiences in a long time. You are doing something right........

Room Tip: If you can get a harbour view you will love it. the sunrise/sunset views are spectacular!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robertam187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxMarriott, Public Relations Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

We thank you for your wonderful comments. We pride ourselves on providing flawless customer service, and hosting each and every guest brilliantly. We look forward to having you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed here recently for a work conference. Stayed in room 367. First impression of lobby was nice and location was perfect. Room was pretty standard looking and cozy and maybe a bit smaller than others I've stayed in. Beds are spectacular but pillows are so flat it ruined the experience. I had to share a room with a work colleague both of us females. Rooms are definitely not female friendly. There is one mirror in the bathroom and no bathroom fan. Made getting ready in the morning a real hassle. No mini fridge in room which is unacceptable in any hotel room. Honestly I've rented yurts in provincial parks that have mini fridges in them lol. Starbucks in lobby was nice. The conference rooms were always freezing which made meetings unbearable, and the lunch and dinners we did have there were disappointing. The only vegetables for lunch was literally 4 green beans, and dinner was literally 4 green beans. No salad nothing. Meeting rooms were always hard to find as they are scattered around the hotel in every which way. Bathrooms could use updating as the ceiling is starting to peel in shower. Its not an ugly hotel, but didn't have anything to make me ever want to return. Service was excellent and super friendly though.

Room Tip: stay away from room 367...its located just across street from a bar. I heard people outside all nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJ_kennedy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxMarriott, Public Relations Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. We are glad you enjoyed our newly renovated lobby and unbeatable waterfront location. We are sorry to hear that your meeting space was colder than you would have preferred, and that the menu for your meeting did not satisfy you. We always strive to give the best possible service, and to make our guests comfortable in any way we can. We do hope that you will stay with us in the future, so we can have the opportunity to ensure that your requests are met and that you are hosted brilliantly!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
3,021 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel

Address: 1919 Upper Water St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3J5, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Halifax
#3 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#7 Family Hotel in Halifax
#7 Business Hotel in Halifax
#8 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: £123 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly connected to Casino Nova Scotia by indoor skyway, Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel offers a unique, modern, and chic space for guests to enjoy a stay in Halifax. Our Halifax hotel's restaurant, Harbourstone Sea Grill & Pour House - as well as our exquisite full-service Interlude Spa and spectacular views of the Halifax Harbour - make our hotel in Halifax a gem and a desired accommodation. At our Halifax, Nova Scotia hotel, you will be able to experience the best of Halifax from an ideal location. Your time in the city will be elevated while you stay with us, in our premier downtown location on the Harbour and close to everything business and vacation guests need. Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel offers luxurious hotel rooms and suites with picturesque views, plush bedding, and marble bathrooms. We provide Wi-Fi access, Starbucks® in our hotel lobby every morning, and other hotel perks including a 24-hour fitness facility and indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Halifax
Casino Hotel Halifax
Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing