We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience :)”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

From start to finish my experience at the Harbourfront Marriott Hotel was amazing.
I ended up staying at the hotel because that is where the conference was being held and I am very happy that I stayed there.
The staff were amazing, housekeeping was friendly (even though I didn't use the service), the conference food was good and the restaurant was great, the location was superb and I would definitely return.
The only down side was that the room I stayed in, perhaps even the floor, had door locks that you had to slam to get to close properly, but other guests did not (different rooms and floors attending the same conference didn't have that problem so I think it was just the group on that floor)

Room Tip: The harbor-facing rooms have an amazing view if you have the opportunity to stay in one of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    533
    434
    127
    42
    28
See reviews for
209
407
42
333
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Rooms are nice and clean. Located right on the Harbor front it is a lovely place to stay. The hotel is open and accommodating for a conference. The staff are what make this hotel stand out. Very helpful, always friendly and attentive, quite often anticipating a need or filling a request immediately with no hesitation.

Room Tip: Harbor view is better... as always.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Just left a few days ago...extremely impressed with the service. ..especially our server Michelle in the lounge. Great sense of humor...just all around professional throughout the whole hotel..will most definitely stay again

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My mother and I booked the "girls night out package" with a day at the spa. I requested an early check in, but was told on the phone the earliest we could check in was 2pm. But when we arrived at 10am for our spa day they were able to check us in then! Great! The services were wonderful and the staff was very attentive. You could tell the hotel was an older building but it had had been completely renovated. Our room was very nice and clean with newer furnishings and bedding. Free wifi is an excellent service provided and it was very simple to log on.
While we were having our day at the spa the kitchen forgot to prepare our lunch orders. However, they rushed our lunch order and it was complimentary. As well, when we returned to the hotel room we had received a voucher for the breakfast buffet the next morning! Amazing spread! The food was excellent with quite a variety and the server was great. I plan on coming back to the breakfast buffet some morning even if I am not spending the night in the city. Over all, I was very impressed and the Halifax Marriott Harbourfront will be my first choice the next time I need to stay in Halifax.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I have stayed here a number of times and find it to be one of the nicest hotels in the Halifax area. The service is good and the guest rooms are very comfortable. One thing I particulalry enjoy is that I can hook my laptop or video camera up to the tv without having to circumvent the hotels attempts at trying to make that impossible. I don't know why they do that (probably an attempt to make people watch their on demand movies) but I always find it annoying when I want to hook my laptop to the television and find I have to go all McGiver in order to do it.

Aside from the confort of the accomodations, it is also in a very picturesque location and right downtown. Honestly, I'm not sure if I would rate any of the Halifax hotels ahead of this one come to think of it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

And I mean no view. I looked into a fence. Why have a harbour front hotel and give a room with NO view. Not even a street. A fence. The decor is dated but very comfortable and the restaurant is nice. Also good to have a Starbucks. Connected by Skybridge to a food court mall. Wifi okay but having to relog in every day is annoying.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank joanne7575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My daughter and I stay at a hotel 4 times a year for a girls night away. Check in was one of the best experiences I have had at a hotel. I wish I remembered the front desk womans name but she welcomed us with a huge smile, told us all the information we may need about our room and the hotel. Great experience. Our room had direct access to the pool which we thought would be great for swimming and to sit outside our sliding doors to do crafts on the table directly in front of our room. We went swimming and had a great time, pool was very clean and not too cold. We went and toured downtown Halifax and bought some crafts to do back at the hotel. After returning to our room we were going to sit out on the pool deck at the table in front of our door but it was gone, someone had taken the table and chairs. Not a huge deal we did crafts in the room but it didn't take long for 2 hockey teams to take over the entire floor playing hockey in the halls and running thoughout the halls all day into the evening. There was a very small child with his room number written on a piece of paper roaming the halls looking for his room. Shame on these parents. The loudness in the hallways was ridiculous, not enjoyable for anyone.This is no fault of the hotel just lousy parenting.
We ordered room service for dinner, food was excellent and delivered hot at a great cost. The beds were very comfortable and room was spotless. We woke up in the morning to a family having breakfast at the table outside our room at 8am. Quite the surprise to open the curtains and have a family literally 2 inches away from your door starring in your room at you.
I would definitely recommend this hotel for customer service, food and location. I would not recommend a pool access room as it is VERY loud which travels right into the rooms. The pool is open at 8am to 11pm.

Room Tip: Pool access rooms are incredibly loud. We were expecting some noise from the pool to travel in our r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxMarriott, Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Jennifer,
I'm delighted to hear that you and your daughter found our service, food and check-in experience exceeded your expectations.
I am however, sorry to hear that the noise from the pool and hallway disrupted your special mother-daughter get away. We expect and request that guests are respectful of the hotel being a shared space, but if that is not the case, we are prepared to deal with a situation quickly and reinforce the expectation.
Thank you for your compliments on the comfy bed and cleanliness of your guestroom. Overall, I hope you and your daughter enjoyed your time together and appreciate you choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,806 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel

Property: Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel
Address: 1919 Upper Water St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3J5, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Halifax
#3 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#7 Business Hotel in Halifax
#7 Family Hotel in Halifax
#8 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly connected to Casino Nova Scotia by indoor skyway, Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel offers a unique, modern, and chic space for guests to enjoy a stay in Halifax. Our Halifax hotel's restaurant, Harbourstone Sea Grill & Pour House - as well as our exquisite full-service Interlude Spa and spectacular views of the Halifax Harbour - make our hotel in Halifax a gem and a desired accommodation. At our Halifax, Nova Scotia hotel, you will be able to experience the best of Halifax from an ideal location. Your time in the city will be elevated while you stay with us, in our premier downtown location on the Harbour and close to everything business and vacation guests need. Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel offers luxurious hotel rooms and suites with picturesque views, plush bedding, and marble bathrooms. We provide Wi-Fi access, Starbucks® in our hotel lobby every morning, and other hotel perks including a 24-hour fitness facility and indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Halifax
Casino Hotel Halifax
Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing