We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish Halifax had better options”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Wish Halifax had better options”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Spent two nights here. Going in, we understood that this was a Marriott and thus, did not have any grand illusions that this was going to be a Four Seasons: the rooms were the typical well-worn institutional grade hotel - doused with over fragranced chemical cleaners, furnished with squishy beds, imperfectly cleaned nooks and crannies, etc... Despite the price, this was all fine. Our disappointment came from paying a premium for a room that they billed as a 'premium Harbour View,' which did not overlook a harbor; instead, we found ourselves with a view of the boardwalk, including two outdoor restaurants and an ice cream stand - no conducive to a good night sleep if you're there on a Friday/Saturday as we were. The view was actually comical - if you pressed your head against the window (and there was evidence on the pane of the prior guest doing such) and craned your neck, you could catch a glimpse of the harbor. When I asked if we had mistakenly ended up in the wrong category, you would have thought my question was insane - no recognition that one might expect a harbor view room to have a harbor view. Anyway, Halifax is a great city, this hotel is pretty well situated, it's just a shame that they feel the need to over stretch on marketing/pricing their rooms. Would be great if there were a better option in Halifax, but our research suggested this was the best in town.

Room Tip: Make sure the Harbour View room is actually looking out on the harbor - otherwise save the money and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TUCK1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra S, Guest Relations Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at the Halifax Marriott Harbourfront. It is our goal to ensure that all our guests have an enjoyable stay and return for a future stay. Unfortunately it doesn’t sound as if we met yours or our expectation and I do apologize. We have only 36 view rooms at our property out of 352 that are divided between our North and South views, the South being the more popular with views of the beautiful historic properties, boardwalk and McNabs Island. We have only selected those that we feel are the best based on previous feedback from our guests. During the summer months we have numerous festivals that are taking place where the locals and tourists can often participate in creating some excessive volumes making it challenging for us to handle. We have often considered sound proof windows however that would take away the ability to open the windows to enjoy the summer breeze. I do hope that you will reconsider and stay with us in the future and appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    453
    130
    44
    30
See reviews for
221
429
42
345
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel for two nights with two teenagers. We loved our room. Very comfy , modern and clean.
The views of the Halifax harbor where perfect. There was always something to do on the waterfront as well. Lovely people at the front desk too. Everything you could ever need is close to the hotel. Close in walking distance to downtown Halifax. Food at the hotel was delicious and drinks too.
Teens never complained and found lots to do. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sapphiresea2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxMarriott, Public Relations Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
We are so glad you and your family enjoyed yourselves while staying with us. We can't wait to have you stay with us again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We booked two nights at the Marriott's cheapest rate online, then upgraded for $30 x 2 to a harbourview room when we checked in. The room was quiet and spacious. The bed, pillows and bedding hotel white and clean. The tv worked well. The bathroom did what it should. Everything was clean. We had a nice view of part of the harbour. The staff were polite. We had coffee and sweet rolls at the main level Starbucks, and it was warm enough to sit outside. Yeah.

This hotel is at one end of the harbour board walk, close to the casino, and shopping which you can access via a pedestrian overpass. Ask for directions. We used the route through this downtown mall to climb a third of the way to the Citadel. (I enjoyed the Citadel a lot.) There is lots to see along the harbour board walk. It'll take you to the Immigration Museum.

I would think twice about being on the street side. The front entrance is pretty close to a highway on ramp, used by large trucks. Ask about it.

We'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a harbour view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AuntCarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxMarriott, Public Relations Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
We are so glad you had the opportunity to explore Citadel Hill and the Immigration Museum, a couple of Halifax's gems! Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Located in the historic harbor area it provides easy access to the boardwalk, Maritime Museum and ferry.

We stayed in room 236, the view was a building across the street. The room was clean, adequate in size, with a nice desk area made to accommodate todays electronics, plus two full size beds with great mattress providing a great nights sleep. This hotel pretty much has anything you would want, a restaurant, balcony overlooking the harbor, a Starbucks, etc, etc.

The only minus was the room didn't have a microwave or refrigerator, which would have been nice to keep and reheat dinner left overs.

Would I stay there again, absolutely.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rb47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxMarriott, Public Relations Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
We wanted to thank you for the great review! We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
533 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We enjoyed a two night stay at this lovely waterfront hotel. The staff were very friendly and the accommodations were clean and comfortable with all the amenities. Location was perfect as it was in easy walking distance to all the waterfront attractions, restaurants and bars. It was also an easy walk to the casino which had an indoor walkway connecting the two properties. We enjoyed their breakfast buffet which was delicious and offered a wide variety of breakfast foods. We enjoyed our stay and would consider this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yaflincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxMarriott, Public Relations Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for the review! We are glad you found our Hotel to be so conveniently located and found our breakfast buffet so enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a couple of days while in Halifax. It is on the harbor waterfront and within walking distance to just about everything in Halifax. The staff was excellent--friendly and attentive. The room was perfect. The price was very reasonable. I hope to bring my wife on my next trip to Halifax and stay at this property.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpfitzma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxMarriott, Public Relations Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience from your stay with us. We hope that you and your wife will be our guests in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

You could not ask for abetter location! This hotel is close to the waterfront, restaurants, and shopping. My husband and I felt very safe walking the harbour front early in the morning. The rooms and beds were very comfortable and clean. Staff were very friendly. Cows for ice cream was right outside the side door! Two if by Sea for breakfast was very close. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxMarriott, Public Relations Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
We are thrilled by your comments, and wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to review us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,915 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel

Property: Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel
Address: 1919 Upper Water St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3J5, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Halifax
#3 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#7 Family Hotel in Halifax
#7 Business Hotel in Halifax
#8 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly connected to Casino Nova Scotia by indoor skyway, Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel offers a unique, modern, and chic space for guests to enjoy a stay in Halifax. Our Halifax hotel's restaurant, Harbourstone Sea Grill & Pour House - as well as our exquisite full-service Interlude Spa and spectacular views of the Halifax Harbour - make our hotel in Halifax a gem and a desired accommodation. At our Halifax, Nova Scotia hotel, you will be able to experience the best of Halifax from an ideal location. Your time in the city will be elevated while you stay with us, in our premier downtown location on the Harbour and close to everything business and vacation guests need. Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel offers luxurious hotel rooms and suites with picturesque views, plush bedding, and marble bathrooms. We provide Wi-Fi access, Starbucks® in our hotel lobby every morning, and other hotel perks including a 24-hour fitness facility and indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Halifax
Casino Hotel Halifax
Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing