We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Prince George Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$400
Residence Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$294
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$272
FourPoints.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$269
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$256
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$231
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites(Halifax)
US$253
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cambridge Suites - Halifax(Halifax)
US$272
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Coastal Inn Halifax(Halifax)(Great Value!)
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake(Halifax)(Great Value!)
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$270
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$264
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (3,263)
Filter reviews
3,263 results
Traveller rating
2,261
683
191
68
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,261
683
191
68
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrown floorgio restaurantlevel bargreat hoteldowntown halifaxworld tradecentral locationexcellent stayfront desk staffwithin walking distanceunderground parkingcomfortable bedsnova scotiapgcitadelwaterfrontlounge
Filter
Updating list...
2,789 - 2,794 of 3,263 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Prince George Hotel two nights last week while we were visiting Halifax. What a special treat! The hotel staff were extremely interested in making our stay perfect, the furnishings were exquisite, and the entire experience was very memorable for us. I would highly recommend the Prince George!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamGaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Thank you PamGaddy (and husband) for staying with us. I am glad to know you enjoyed yourself and we appreciate the kind shout out. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The Prince George is very conveniently located in the heart of downtown Halifax, just steps from great restaurants, shops, historic sites, museums, and the waterfront. The lobby and public areas are lovely and well-decorated. Our room was spacious, clean, quiet and beautifully appointed. Loved the modern glass shower enclosure! Staff was attentive and professional, and eager to help. The breakfast buffet was very good, with something for every taste. Would recommend highly!

Room Tip: Our room at the very end of the hall was very quiet, with a nice view of the city and harbor.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Ok Mary L....... So when are you coming back? (Ifeel like Betty White & the California commercials asking that)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Over the years, we have stayed in many hotels in downtown Halifax and consistently come back to the Prince George as we did on a recent trip in late June 2013. Unfortunately it isn't cheap and sometimes the extra cost can make it our second choice when several of the other Halifax hotels come in with a much better deal. Still, it is the best and most convenient place in the downtown and was again thoroughly enjoyable. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the rooms well laid out and clean and the location is close to most of the attractions, bars and restaurants in Halifax. The internet works well and the parking is convenient although tight for a larger car and not cheap. We have never eaten in the hotel since there are some many nearby choices. Obviously, the higher rooms are nicer and if on the backside of the hotel, there is a view of the harbour.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank London_John_Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

OK WestCoastJohn&Jane.... you gotta try our restaurant GIO the next time you stay with us (which we hope is soon ....... with no other visits to the competition in between - lol) or if your stay includes a Sunday you MUST try our Sunday Brunch...... it is absolutely the best in the city and I promise you will not leave with an empty belly. Thank you for continuing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed there for a family vacation. It is right downtown, and a block away from seeing the citadel. In a year, when they build a conference center across the street, it will be booked solid I'm sure.

It was nothing special - clean, quiet, excellent, helpful staff - what I'd expect in any hotel. It was close to downtown, so I could walk and see some of the sites. Parking was $22/day + tax, and there was free wi fi.

They have a nice little pool that opens out to a little courtyard. I should've had lunch out there - there are tables and it's nice up there.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pw0867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

We hope so pw0867....we sure do hope. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Located in central downtown area of Halifax, walking distance to all sites. A quality hotel, with efficient and friendly staff. The rooms are a good size and very clean, and well maintained. A private car park is conveniently located in the hotel basement....but it costs about 25 dollars per day to park there..!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripperUK27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Thank you for reviewing our property tripperUK27 and if you ever get back to these parts it would be our pleasure to be your hosts again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews