We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Prince George Hotel
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Only downfall of this hotel is the 24hr cancellation policy, that would be the only thing to keep me from booking. Our suite was exceptionally large and was excellent for travel with a child, privacy for all!


  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Patty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you and your family for staying with us Patty D - don;t let the cancellation policy keep you away.... why would you ever want to cancel a trip to Halifax's BEST city?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,087)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,478 - 2,484 of 3,087 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

I have stayed in Halifax many times, but this is the first time at the Prince George. I was in Halifax for a science meeting and besides staying at the Prince George they supplied an evening reception for about 50 people.

This is a very nice hotel and I will certainly be staying there again. The room was excellent, the Wifi was good and cheap, the breakfasts were very good and the price was good. I ate twice at the Gio Restaurant/Bar and found that to have surprisingly good cooking. Supposedly the meeting, including the reception was going to be paid for by the Government of Canada which, rather late in the process, declined to support this international climate meeting. I needed to arrange a reception at rather short notice and got excellent help from Penny Mackinnon. Sleep quality was generally excellent, but Friday night in a room overlooking a bar that closed at 3 am was a little rough.

The meeting was at the WTCC and the group attending made extensive use of the pedway, or Halifax Link. We had visitors at other hotels, but all linked through the pedways system. One of our members was from Hyderabad and between home and Halifax he saw a drop in temperature of 50°C, he really needed the pedway.

This will become my standard place to stay in Halifax in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HowardFreeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for the review HowardFreeland. Anytime you need anything in Halifax please don't hesitate to give us a call and we will do our best to make you look terrific and feel comfortable in the process. Having the most bars per capita of any city in Canada comes with some pain HowardFreeland - my apologies that the party was a bit too loud over the friday night you stayed with us. Thank you for the great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We were on our way to Digby and decided to visit Halifax for St Paddy's Day..
Our stay at the Prince George was well worth the side trip..the staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel was very clean comfortable and conventiently located to all the action...The Prince George is a great place to stay in Halifax

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank hamiltonspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

We had the luck that day hamiltonspencer..... Thank you for trusting us for your stop over.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I am a regular patron of the Prince George while on both business and pleasure visits to Halifax. Excellent customer service and amenities will continue making it my hotel of choice in Halifax. A job well done!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Murray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Just what we love to hear Murray H - Thank you very (very) much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This is a great hotel for anyone who is visiting the city, it is close to great restaurants and within walking distance to shopping and historic properties. I have stayed here on a couple of occasions and the staff is always helpful and the rooms are clean and comfortable. Also if the weather isn't cooperating you can use the pedway to get to the waterfront without ever going outside.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

I am glad you enjoy us Lesley M & thanks for mentioning the pedway - we forget just how handy that can be when the weather is poor..... which very rarely happens in Halifax (sarcasm). She you again soon we hope.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Clean, friendly, convenient location. Great service, lots to take in and nice area of the city. I would recommend this place to others and will definitely stay here again at this hotel in the future. Thanks



  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank HOLLY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

The pleasure is all ours HOLLY M - thank YOU!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Beautiful Hotel!! Comfy beds!!! The bath tub is very deep great for a nice soak. The pool, sauna and hot tub were all very clean and great temperature. Staff were very helpful and made our stay very pleasant :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Hi Robyn T - The next time you stay with us be sure to mention you would like to have a room with a bathtub because 1/2 of our rooms have tubs and the other 1/2 have showers only - they are beautiful but some guests like yourself love to have a tub.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince George Hotel

Address: 1725 Market St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3N9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#2 Family Hotel in Halifax
#2 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#3 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: £74 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-class hotel excellence in the heart of downtown Halifax. Experience the sophistication and charm of The Prince George Hotel, from the moment you arrive to the time you checkout, you'll love our Four Diamond service and impeccably appointed accommodations. Our 200+ stylish guestrooms and suites feature contemporary design and luxe amenities for an unparalleled hotel experience that will please even the most discerning of travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Prince George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince George Halifax
Hotel Prince George
Prince George Hotel Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing