We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Prince George Hotel
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Classy”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights at the Prince George. We actually arrived in Halifax early on our first day and they were able to accommodate us. Therefore were checked in before 10 am. Know this doesn't happen often but was really happy this occurred. Hotel and room was very clean. Front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful recommending restaurants. Would recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DJCrcc85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Glad we could be there for you DJCrcc85 & thank you for posting such a nice review of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,935
    594
    165
    59
    45
See reviews for
548
1,028
115
820
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Etobicoke
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Excellent hotel and services in the heart of the city. Front desk very helpful. Easy access to key city attractions. Food quality in restaurants was good. Room amenities (Kuerig coffee maker and accessible refrigerator for storing food items) were practical touches.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you Sandra C - you are the second of back to back reviews titled "Great Halifax Hotel".... that's very cool and I think a first for us ....... thank you for your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed here for three nights. It was perfect for sleeping--good bed and quiet. The front desk staff had great driving directions for heading to Peggy's Cove, Chester, etc., and for getting out of Halifax in the other direction. The location is great for walking around downtown Halifax. A few short blocks down to the waterfront, or a few blocks up to the Public Gardens. Parking was east in an underground garage, and we could access the car whenever we wanted. The price was reasonable, possibly because the lobby and bar were in last stages of renovation.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thanks Brett A!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateauguay
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I arrived early, several hours before check in time. I was tired but thought all I would be able to do is leave my bag at the front desk and then perhaps go out for a walk until check in time. A room was available and I was checked in allowing me to relax and take a nap. When I did go out for an afternoon walk I was completely refreshed and ready to go. Thank you front desk.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Front Desk says you are welcome Susan H!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Prince George is a wonderful downtown hotel. It is very centralized the citadel is a 5 minute walk the waterfront a 5 minute walk the museum of natural history a 5 minute walk The hotel itself is a lovely small hotel. It is almost all renovated and looks beautiful. The staff is so friendly we loved it I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are in halifax

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank debbie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
We are not finished yet debbie k - but thank you for mentioning the renos.... the complete finished product is going to be superb..... if I do say so myself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee-on-the-solent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We found the Prince George Hotel was ideally located to explore Halifax with excellent facilities and friendly staff who were happy to help. Rooms and facilities are well set out and very clean throughout. The hotels restaurant Gio is a must with excellent menu choice which was only surpassed by its quality and the staff service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Leslie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thanks Leslie J for staying with us and for mentioning GIO - we appreciate your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2014

If you want a hotel that will exceed your expectations and go above and beyond just to make your stay incredible then this is the place for you. Excellent-rooms, food, staff, facilities, decor and perfect downtown location--and fully great for the pets too-- everyone gets spoiled! By far my favorite place to stay in Halifax..and I refer everyone I can to this location.. love staying there and will continue to as many time as I can get away with each year...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tawnya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Shucks Tawnya P.... thank you for your kind comments. Our team takes a lot of pride in what we do and they will be thrilled to see what you wrote - thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince George Hotel

Property: Prince George Hotel
Address: 1725 Market St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3N9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#2 Family Hotel in Halifax
#2 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#3 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-class hotel excellence in the heart of downtown Halifax. Experience the sophistication and charm of The Prince George Hotel, from the moment you arrive to the time you checkout, you'll love our Four Diamond service and impeccably appointed accommodations. Our 200+ stylish guestrooms and suites feature contemporary design and luxe amenities for an unparalleled hotel experience that will please even the most discerning of travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Prince George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince George Halifax
Hotel Prince George
Prince George Hotel Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing