We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Halifax Made Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Prince George Hotel
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay greatly at the Prince George Hotel! Staff and service was excellent, as were the facilities. We walked to the bay-side boardwalk, just a couple blocks downhill from the hotel, and we found plenty of good dining options nearby. Enjoyed our stay in this great town!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank drmcdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

All the way from California eh mrmcdon? Come see us anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,312 - 2,318 of 3,125 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

We often stay at The Prince George and it is our favorite Halifax hotel. This most recent trip we had to bring our aging mini schnauzer along for the first time. The staff were very welcoming and they even had a little gift bag for Jack with treats, a blanket and a toy. The kids thought it was great! The breakfast buffet is excellent and the hotel is in a terrific location to enjoy everything downtown Halifax has to offer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank HeyEllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thanks HeyEllie & Jack!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed at the Prince George, Halifax on July 10, 2014. Very impressed with the room. It was very clean with a very comfortable King bed. The only complaint would be the restaurant food prices and that the room rate does not include the $22 for parking.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Our rates sometimes include parking Darlene M..... our website has some amazing packages if that may interest you on any return trips to this fantastic city..... I hope you'll check us out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I recently stayed at the Prince George Hotel. Let me start off by saying the staff is very friendly and accomodating. When you first walk in to the hotel you can clearly tell it was just renovated. The atmosphere is very crisp, clean and tastfully updated. They have a casual dining restaurant open for breakfast and brunch and the food good for an hotel. Once you leave the main floor and head up to your room you feel like you are in a completely different hotel. The rooms are extremely outdated and the matresses need to be replaced. The walls are very thin and I could here my neighbors talking constantly and heard them yawn in the mornings. I am sure that a sleeping room renovation is in the works given the decor of the main lobby but it truly was a shock to walk into the room.

The location of the hotel is nice and you can easily get to places from their front door which I like. But since I travel frequently for work it is truly important to me to have an updated and comfortable hotel room that I can rest in at night. Overall, I would recommend the hotel but would inquire on when their rooms are being updated.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Rica603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Sorry for the shock Rica603.... upstairs renos are on there way..... things are arriving everyday. Glad you liked the lobby though.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The rooms and hotel are beautiful, the location great, staff not overly friendly but helpful when requested directly. Parking charges are absolutely unreasonable given the cost of the rooms, restaurants are expensive and there are lots of cheaper options close by.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

We are not that expensive Sharon B..... jeesh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Smallish first class hotel in downtown Halifax, convenient to the Citadel, the waterfront, Public Garden, and Metro Center. Breakfast was a good buffet, with eggs cooked to order. Not the largest I have seen, but a good assortment of good food. Attentive staff. Nice rooms, as you would expect for the price. The concierge arranged hotel transport through a car service for about the cost of a taxi.

Room Tip: This is more sleek than quaint. The hotel charges for parking, typical for a down town location. Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RadioGuyAsheville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thanks RadioGuyAsheville...... love the handle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We spent three nights at the Prince George, as part of a business convention, before touring more of the Maritime provinces. Because of the central location and pleasant walking conditions we chose not to rent a car until we were departing for the rest of our tour. The Prince George does charge for parking. The airport is about a half hour away with bus, taxi, and limo service available.

The rooms were nicely decorated and very comfortable. The lobby is attractive, although there are only two computer terminals available. We walked to the waterfront; to the Citadel; to restaurants; and to the public gardens. We visited several historic churches and road the harbor ferry. We did not dine at the hotel restaurant. Hotel staff were always helpful and informative.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Barb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thanks for the shout out Barb C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
The Westin Nova Scotian
#15 of 28 in Halifax
1,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince George Hotel

Address: 1725 Market St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3N9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Halifax
#2 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#2 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#3 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: £93 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-class hotel excellence in the heart of downtown Halifax. Experience the sophistication and charm of The Prince George Hotel, from the moment you arrive to the time you checkout, you'll love our Four Diamond service and impeccably appointed accommodations. Our 200+ stylish guestrooms and suites feature contemporary design and luxe amenities for an unparalleled hotel experience that will please even the most discerning of travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Prince George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince George Halifax
Hotel Prince George
Prince George Hotel Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing