We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Change your shower heads!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Nova Scotian
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Mahone Bay, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“Change your shower heads!!”
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Decent accomodations, a little overpriced, although convenient location. Had to run around the shower to get wet!!! I'm all about saving the environment but those shower heads have got to go. Lovely, friendly staff in the bar/lounge.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schooner86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleyNCH, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review, 28 April 2011
Thank you for your review. Our apologies for the low water pressure. We are committed to being environmentally friendly but normally our shower heads work much better than what you have described. If you would like to contact us directly, we could find out your room number and check out the shower head.

We are glad you enjoyed the location and our friendly staff in the lounge and throughout the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back again so we can show you what a true Westin experience is like.

Be well,

Guido Kerpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    618
    564
    328
    146
    87
See reviews for
344
641
111
439
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2011

Recently took my daughter, son in law and grandson to Halifax on the train for a "fun" weekend for my grandson. His usual trips to Halifax are to the IWK are anything but fun. When I shared this with Wanda who booked our rooms she went out of her way to make sure our weekend was special. Thanks to everyone for such a wonderful experience from the wonderful tray with the special choc chip cookie for Cole to the "mickey mouse pancake" prepared special at breakfast for my grandson. The rooms were clean and comfortable with wonderful pillows and the pool was a blast, great temperature!!. My daughter's room was upgraded to a suite when one became available and made their weekend unbelievably special. We all said we had been wonderfully spoiled and wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in Halifax. We will definately be back. Thanks Westin!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jmclella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleyNCH, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review, 13 April 2011
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are so happy to hear that your stay was so special. We understand how difficult trips to the IWK can be for families, therefore we try to make sure you receive extra special treatment when you stay with us.

Wanda and the team are very happy to hear that you took the time to mention them in this review. It is great that you enjoyed your room, the bed, the pillows, and the pool, and the suite upgrade.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another great Westin stay.

Be well,

Guido Kerpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lunenburg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2011

We took our 3 young kids (ages 2 to 7) here for a night during their March break "pay what you want" promotion. Great value! We booked 2 connecting rooms. When booking, we were told it wasn't a guarantee that the rooms would be connecting, which surprised me, but when we arrived, that is exactly what we got, so very happy! There was some delay at check-in, but that was the only glitch we had during our stay. The kids enjoyed the pool and hot-tub, dinner at Elements was great (they have a kids menu) and there was a 25% discount if you billed it to your room. We walked across the street to the Halifax Market on Sunday morning. There is also a playground and an Atlantic Superstore (groceries)across the street for those last minute snacks kids ALWAYS need. Upon check-in, we asked for a microwave to be brought to our room to heat things up for the baby.

Room Tip: ask for room near pool elevator if with kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islandgal42_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2011

We appreciated the pay what you want promotion. It was the only way we could have stayed there. Although the room was about average, the view of the harbour from our room was awesome. The rest of the hotel was elegant and the service was friendly and prompt. Thank you Westin!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loghousemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2011

We liked the hotel but the beds were not good and we stayed here before and loved the beds. I have no idea what happened but none of us had a good nights sleep. I am glad that the hotel had the promo "Pay what you want" It made it that we could go and have a couple nights out. So thanks!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gursch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleyNCH, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review, 13 April 2011
Thank you for your review. We apologize that you did not have a good night's sleep. We pride ourselves on having the best beds in the industry; they are heavenly. We are not sure what happened with your sleep. If you would like to contact us directly to let us know what room you stayed in it would be greatly appreciated. We could investigate to see if the bed needs to be replaced.

We are glad that you were able to afford a fun experience at a hotel because of our Pay What you Want promotion. We hope that you can return someday for a true Westin experience, complete with a heavenly bed.

Kind regards,

Guido Kerpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2011

We stayed the recent pay what it's worth for 2 nights. Our room was above the ballroom and it was very hard to sleep.the pool area was crowded and there were very few chairs. The fitness centre was top notch and service was very impressive all weekend. When we went to check out we did not feel pressured to pay the full amount. Its a beautiful hotel but factors such as poor sound insulation will limit any future stays

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1976pacer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleyNCH, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review, 7 April 2011
It is no surprise that you were impressed by our service and fitness center. We work to provide a top notch customer service experience. Our employees are passionate about going above and beyond to make our guests feel welcome. Thank you for sharing that with us.

Please contact us directly if you want to discuss this further. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel to show you what a true Westin experience should feel like.

Thank you once again and warm regards,

Guido Kerpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2011

This hotel has the best location! It is right in the center of some of Halifax's most interesting restaurants--very good for a "foodie" weekend! My mother and I took part in the "Pay what you want" promotion, and had so much fun exploring the neighborhood around the Westin. Everything was literally minutes away from the hotel, so once we had parked our car for the night, we didn't have to worry about driving anywhere (good for enjoying a beer or two at the nearby Henry House pub). We ate at Shiraz (a Persian restaurant), Boneheads (a southern BBQ joint), enjoyed the Friday lunchtime buffet at Taj Mahal, and visited the Friday International Market on the waterfront. The Westin is a gracious old-style train station hotel, and is so much more fun than staying in a cookie-cutter motel way out in the suburbs!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeB_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,870 reviews
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Nova Scotian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Nova Scotian

Property: The Westin Nova Scotian
Address: 1181 Hollis St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 2P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Halifax
#4 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#14 Family Hotel in Halifax
#15 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#15 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Nova Scotian 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Nova Scotian, is located near Halifax Harbour. Steps from world-class shopping and dining opportunities, we are the ideal place to savor the sights and sounds of the beautiful city of Halifax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Nova Scotian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Nova Scotian Hotel Halifax
Westin Hotel Halifax
Westin Nova Scotian
Westin Halifax
Halifax Westin
The Westin Nova Scotian Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing