We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin Nova Scotian
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Waverley Inn(Halifax)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,878)
Filter reviews
1,878 results
Traveller rating
678
603
347
159
91
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
678
603
347
159
91
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheavenly bedelements restaurantfarmers marketcomedy clubtrain stationnova scotiaan older hotelliquor storestarbucks coffeefront desk staffharbour viewhistoric hotelvalet parkingdowntown halifaxjesseyukpier
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,440 - 1,445 of 1,878 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Nice updated rooms in a a friendly hotel. The only downside is the size of the bathrooms which are extremely small! I also walking distance to great restaurants and shopping

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kc1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleyNCH, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2011

Thank you for writing a review on your recent stay with us at the Westin Nova Scotian. We’re happy you enjoyed our modern guestrooms, convenient location and friendly staff. Our hotel is historic and one of the original railway hotels in Canada. Due to the history of our hotel, some of our restrooms can be smaller than others and we’re sorry you experienced a smaller restroom.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Halifax Seaport District and to our Westin again soon.

Kind Regards,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

On our recent tour of the Altlantic Provinces we found The Westin Nova Scotian a great place to relax.

The front counter staff were friendly and hospitable upon our arrival. Scott the conceirge, provided us with suggestions on where to visit in Halifax, that proved to be of interest to us. He also provided us with a map on how to reach our next stopover on our trip.

The bed was very comfortable, as was promised. The rate for the hotel, prooved to be the best in the area. The breakfast which was included was fantastic. All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tillydog401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleyNCH, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2011

Thank you for staying with us at the Westin Nova Scotian. We’re pleased to hear you enjoyed our historic hotel, our Heavenly beds, and most importantly, our friendly staff. Scott is a valued member of our team and is very knowledgeable on everything Nova Scotia. We’re happy that he was able to assist you with your inquiries and interests.

We were happy to be part of your tour of Atlantic Canada and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Best wishes,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We stayed at the Westin for 3 nights and were pleasantly surprised at the beautiful view of the harbour and the friendliness of the staff. This is an older hotel, so smaller rooms were expected. The room was slightly tired looking but very clean. Would stay here again in a moment.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view room on an upper floor.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StGtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleyNCH, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2011

Thank you for staying with us at the Westin Nova Scotian. We’re pleased you enjoyed your Harbourview Room and our friendly & welcoming staff. Due to the history of our hotel, some of our rooms can be smaller than others. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another rejuvenating stay.

Kind Regards,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed in Halifax for two nights and were very glad we did NOT book this hotel for both nights. We had gotten a good deal on Hotwire for this hotel, and had higher expectations since it is rated as a 4 star hotel, but had a horrible experience.

The room itself wasn`t bad. We were at the end of the hallway so our room was very tiny, probably because we booked through Hotwire and got the room at a much cheaper price than if we booked it through the hotel. The bed was comfortable, and there was a desk and flat screen TV. The bathroom was small but updated as well and had a really nice showerhead. It was nice, clean and fairly modern. Our room had a terrible view, looking out a rooftop but we didn`t expect much

Our problems began the next morning. We were woken on a Saturday morning around 9AM by the sound of jackhammers on the floors above us. Turns out the hotel thought it would be a good idea to do renovations on weekends. So much for a relaxing sleep in on vacation. Completely unacceptable in my opinion...the renovations should be done on weekdays during hours when people will not be sleeping. Or, even post signage around the hotel explaining the noise.

Then, an even bigger problem. After a night out on the town, we were both feeling a tad under the weather. I tried to turn the water on to brush my teeth, and have a shower, and....nothing came out. A small trickle of water. I called the front desk and they assured me that the water would be on in 15 minutes. Another 20 minutes passed. I called again and got the same response. I waited again, and called once more. After an hour of waiting, I was getting frustrated and knew checkout was getting closer. I asked to speak to a manager and told her the problem. She assured me that an engineer would be up to the room in 20 minutes tops to see what the problem was. 20 minutes later, no one had come.

We got to the point were we were extremely frustrated and upset by the lack of customer service and the fact that we were lacking such a basic amenity as water when we were staying at a 4 star hotel. The problem should`ve have been addressed the first time I called the front desk. We finally packed up our bags and went down to the front desk. I have to say that the woman working the front desk was extremely courteous and helpful and handled the situation very well. She got us a new room immediately, and extended our checkout and took care of our parking. She told us that the contractors doing the work never told the hotel they would be shutting off the water, but that wasn`t the point. The point was that the problem should`ve been addressed immediately. I wouldve like to have part of our room refunded but was so upset by this point it wasn`t worth pursuing.

In the end, we wasted an entire morning of our last day in Halifax at this hotel because our poor customer service. It was extremely frustrating and I will never again stay at a Westin hotel. It was unbelievable that we had to fight so hard just to get a room with running water after we paid for a hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alyssa9889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleyNCH, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. Our sincerest apologies for the construction disruptions you experienced during your stay. We are currently renovating our Crown Suite and apologize for the issues with your water. Unfortunately, in the hotel industry, there is never a good time to do renovations. We have spoken with our construction crew about your concerns to try to mitigate the likelihood of the same incidents happening again.

We would like to welcome you back for a true Westin experience at our Halifax hotel.

Regards,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

My husband and I have fond memories of our stay here about 13 years ago, so we were looking forward to our stay this time. Unfortunately, it appears that the Westin chain has neglected this grand old property. Our king harbourview room was a disappointment. Because the seals were broken on the old aluminum thermopane windows, and because they were so steamed up between the glass, it was impossible to enjoy a nice view of the harbour. The room was small and dated, with thread-bare carpeting in places. The first night we were there, the car parked right beside ours in the $18/night parking lot had it's window smashed out during the night. The parking lot itself is situated at the back entrance to the property, and you have to walk by all of the hotel's garbage bins. Even though it is hidden behind a fence, the stench is very strong as you walk through that entrance. We registered for 3 days prior to our arrival, and on the 2nd day after reaching our room with parcels etc., the key had been de-activated. Back down to the main lobby where I used the washroom at the same time and the toilet in the ladies room would not flush. On our first morning there, construction was going on in the room directly above ours beginning at 7:45 a.m. I am not exaggerating when I say that it sounded like a jack hammer...perhaps tearing up old tile floor or something. Even the receptionist could hear it when we called down to the front desk. This was the start of our relaxing vacation! On a positive note, the staff was very friendly and professional. They did refund our over-priced "parking fees" as compensation for the noise so early in the day. The restaurant was very nice, and we enjoyed the breakfast buffet every morning which focuses on fresh and local ingredients. The servers there were fantastic!! For the remainder of our stay, we paid the same price and stayed at the Courtyard Marriott, and couldn't believe the difference. We don't mind paying for beautiful facilities, but the Westin is no longer what you expect for the price you pay. Please Mr. Westin, make sure that some $$$ are invested to restore this once grand old lady!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank far2go2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleyNCH, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2011

Thank you for providing feedback on your stay with us. Our sincerest apologies for not exceeding your Westin expectations and for the construction disruptions experienced during your stay. We are currently renovating our Crown Suite and we apologize for the noise disturbance. We have taken your comments into consideration and have spoken with our construction crew to ensure work does not happen before 9 AM. Our hotel is historic and we have invested millions into our property and continue to do so year after year to upgrade our facilities and property.

In regards to the windows, we are currently looking into replacing them as the seals have weakened due to the exposure to salt from the Halifax Harbour. We want to ensure you that the occurrence in the parking lot was an isolated incident as we have security patrolling our back lots regularly. To address you concerns about the price of parking, we do price shop the city and find our prices to be lower than other Downtown Halifax hotels.

We’re pleased to hear you enjoyed your dining experience at the new restaurant, elements on hollis in our hotel. We wish to invite you back again for a true Westin Nova Scotia experience. If you wish to discuss this further, please feel free to contact me directly.

Sincerely,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews