We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff are outstanding; room was awful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Nova Scotian
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed at the Westin in Halifax over Thanksgiving Weekend. We were impressed with the front desk staff and two hospitality staff named Sarah. One Sarah worked in the dining room and was exceptionally willing to accommodate us and our party. The other was a supervisor named Sarah and she worked doubly hard to help us with a problem that arose over a dining room reservation.

The room we stayed in (#439) was in desperate need of new beds and bedding. No mattress cover so the sheets kept sliding up the mattress as we tried to sleep. The pillows were lumpy and uncomfortable. It appears that the hotel does not have an ironing machine for the laundry so even on the first day, it looked tired and maybe even unclean. We were busy during our stay so grumbled but put up with the room until our last night. When I showed the manager our room, he found us a different hotel room in which to sleep and we actually slept well that night.

After watching CBC's marketplace show on cleaning in hotels, I recognize some of the same problems that we noticed in the Westin halifax. The air vents were dirty, the carpet needed replacing, the beds were awful and I just wished we had asked for a different room sooner.

Great staff work so hard but without the resources to manage the property, they pale in comparison to poor accommodations.

Room Tip: If the room doesn't look clean or there appear to be problems, don't wait to tell the manage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pam f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

We appreciate you writing a review on TripAdvisor. We'd also like to thank you for taking the time to speak with us regarding your concerns while on property.

We're happy we were able to address your concerns and switch you to another room. We want to assure you that we've spoken to our Housekeeping Department to ensure we're meeting our high cleanliness standards.

During future visit, should you have any concerns or questions regarding your stay, please contact our Front Desk and we'll be more than happy to assist.

We hope your travels bring you back to the Westin.
Be well,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,848)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,013 - 1,019 of 1,848 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

We chose to the extra for a harbour-view room. The accommodation was clean and comfortable and the view of the harbour was excellent.

The staff are extremely courteous. Our one problem in the bar was quickly rectified to our satisfaction by the manager and we tried the bar again the next day (different bartender) and were not disappointed.

This is a beautiful hotel in an excellent location for touring the historic side of Halifax.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a view the harbour!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clayacres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you for writing a review. We're happy to hear that you had such an excellent stay with us and you enjoyed the history of the Halifax Seaport.

We hope your travels bring you back to the Westin Nova Scotian again.
Be well,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My Husband and I stayed here on September 14th on the 6th floor in a corner suite, that was over looking the harbour and NS powers new Building.

The Beds are not just heavenly, they are amazing! The Showers are HOT and I loved the double showerheads! The Room was very clean! It offers Terry Towel Robes, a complimentary bottle of water, and includes complimentary Starbucks Coffee that you can make in your room. The rooms have been updated nicely.

We are residents of Halifax and booked the room via Priceline.com without knowing where we were going to be staying. Glad it was the Westin! Great location if you want to go downtown, or if your travelling by bus/train. Cabs are readily available waiting for you there, and YUK YUK's is also in the same building.

The night of our stay there were a few large functions going on, however the hotel was still quiet on the bedroom floors. The Check-In was Flawless, and we were in our room within Minutes. Jon helped us, and he was awesome! Very welcoming and warm, and hyped us up a little bit for our room before we got there.. and I was not disappointed. The toiletries are high quality, and the towels were VERY clean.

We visited the Gym, Pool, and Hot Tub area and it was very clean. The only thing is they had ran out of towels... however I called to let them know and within ten minutes, someone was there restocking with fresh towels! The hot tub was hot! and the pool was fresh! Just what we were looking for!

The only thing really is the layout of getting to the pool, having to walk to the end, and then going into an older part of the hotel that hasn't been redone.. but the hotel itself does not have any control over that.. so I really can't complain!

All in all I would rate the stay a 9/10. In fact we are planning another staycation next month and will probably book the same hotel! Hopefully this time we will try the food! However the location was great as there was a liquor store, and superstore right next door, which allowed us to buy some before dinner snacks and drinks!

Room Tip: Try and Choose a Corner Room, facing the water. Lots of space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MandaJane420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you for staying at the Westin Nova Scotian for your overnight staycation. From our Heavenly beds to convenient location, it sounds like you had the rejuvenating experience you were looking for.

We look forward to you next visit.
Until then.
Be well,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

After many years of staying with family when visiting the Halifax area, I needed to stay in town for a family event. This is an older hotel, so the rooms are on the small side and are a bit dated, but they are clean and well-laid out. Housekeeping was efficient and nicely done.

The view from the rooms overlooking the harbor is quite nice, but the “generator” on that side is very noisy when the window is open. The hotel is close to the waterfront and there is a walkway nearby that goes for a quite a ways up the harbor (it definitely goes as far as The Maritime Museum and The Historic Properties - it might also go up to the casino, but I didn't go that far.) There is also an interesting farmer's market on the waterfront - it was open on the Saturday I was there – I don’t know whether it is open on any other days.

Breakfast is typical hotel hot/cold buffet, and there are à la carte items which can be ordered as well. The restaurant is not open for dinner on Sundays, but small plates/light fare can be ordered in the bar/lounge. Strangely enough, one cannot take a glass of wine (or anything else, I’d assume) from the bar back up to the room – it must be ordered from room service. Maybe they don’t want to retrieve glasses from all over the hotel? A bit of a pain if you don’t want to wait 30-40 minutes for a single glass of wine to arrive in your room, with the accompanying delivery fee and mandatory service charge…

My only real complaint concerns the valet parking. Service was inconsistent. For the cost (cdn $22), I would hope that, when I pull in, there is somebody there, if not to open the door, then to at least to be there to take the keys and move the car somewhere. They may have been short-staffed, because a couple times I really had no idea where the attendants were and it felt a bit uncomfortable to be standing there with keys in hand ….waiting…and waiting…and waiting…

So, it is a nice hotel, with a few quirks. The difficulties I had with checking in early to be able to change for a funeral ( i.e. I wasn’t able to check in early, so had to change in the women’s locker room with sopping wet floors...) were certainly not pleasant, but I’d hope they were not typical of the usual service at this hotel. I would stay here again, but would also be very open to trying a somewhere different.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orkdldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you taking the time to write a detailed review of your experience at the Westin Nova Scotian. We appreciate your comments and feedback; and we've shared your review with our team.

We hope your travels bring you back to the Westin again.
Be well,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We came to this Westin after 6 days of hard driving in order to get to Nova Scotia and it was "Heaven" lying down in this Westin bed. As always the room was clean, nicely appointed, with mini-bar, a robe for comfort, and the blackout curtains that give that excellent sleep! I came here for the comfort and was once again pleased.
Great location at the intersection of South, Barrington, Hollis, and Lower Water Street. On the street behind the Westin is the Halifax Seaport Market and the beginning of the Harbor Boardwalk.
The front desk service was impeccable!
There is Starbucks coffee in the room gratis.
It felt like home away from home!
Only one thing kept this visit from rating a five star which was our call to guest service asking for more coffee that they said would be "right up" that we had to call again for in the morning 9 hours later. A bit inconvenient, but everything else was top notch!
Recommended!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a Harbor view room...usually they reserve them for those who ask! Enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Becky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you for staying with us during your trip to Nova Scotia! It sounds like you had a rejuvenating stay after a long journey. We appreciate your feedback and we're happy you enjoyed our Heavenly products, convenient location and friendly staff.

We hope your travels bring you back to the area again soon.
Until next time.
Be well,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I have to travel to Halifax frequently, and my new favorite is the Westin. The location is not truly central, but it is not bad either. There are nice harbor views if you ask. Rooms can vary tremendously as this is an old hotel that has had lots of additions over the years. Don't be afraid to ask to change rooms. Thew staff are well trained, helpful, and friendly. The restaurant is about average for a large hotel, nothing to write home about. Staying here on our last vacation trip was enjoyable. The new Halifax market is just across the way and is worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thank you for staying at the Westin and for taking the time to write a review. We're happy to hear we're your hotel of choice when staying in Halifax. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next visit.

Until next time.
Be well,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I recently travelled for business and stayed 3 nights at the Westin Nova Scotian. What a great experience. The room was clean and fresh and the staff were extremely friendly. I would definitely choose this hotel for all business trips to Halifax.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank czechlette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thank you for your recommendation! We hope to see you back at the Westin again soon, whether for leisure or business.

Until next time.
Be well,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#4 of 28 in Halifax
3,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Nova Scotian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Nova Scotian

Address: 1181 Hollis St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 2P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Halifax
#6 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#13 Family Hotel in Halifax
#15 Business Hotel in Halifax
#15 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: £94 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Nova Scotian 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Nova Scotian, is located near Halifax Harbour. Steps from world-class shopping and dining opportunities, we are the ideal place to savor the sights and sounds of the beautiful city of Halifax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Nova Scotian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Nova Scotian Hotel Halifax
Westin Hotel Halifax
Westin Nova Scotian
Westin Halifax
Halifax Westin
The Westin Nova Scotian Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing