We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay in Halifax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Nova Scotian
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Halifax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

As a SPG platinum member - I have high expectations of all the starwood hotels i stay at - and the Westin Nova Scotian was a top hotel in my mind. The staff were all very friendly and i was in a great corner room on the 8th floor (Room 800). The gym at the hotel was better than expected and the food at element was amazing. Thanks for a great stay

I only wish they had an Westin lounge - or if they did for some reason i was not told about it

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank torontotraveler31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for loyalty. We're delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful visit at the hotel and an enjoyable dining experience at elements on hollis.

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review;we'll be sure to share your comments with our team. We hope your travels bring you back to Halifax again soon.
Be well,
Guido Kerpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    584
    541
    311
    140
    82
See reviews for
326
612
108
412
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milltown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We only stayed one night, but it was an excellent experience. It was easy to access, right next to a supermarket and within walking distance of several great restaurants. The entire staff was friendly and helpful. We had exceptional service from Kaylee at the front desk.

Room Tip: Harbor views are nice but ask for an upper floor on a weekend if there is an event or wedding, or y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. We're happy to hear you had such an enjoyable experience at the Westin Nova Scotian.

Kaylee is a great asset to the hotel and we'll be sure to share your kind words with her and the team.

We hope your travels bring you back to the Westin again soon.
Until next time.
Be well,
Guido Kerpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Poor inefficient service
October 22, 2013
I travel frequently for conferences and have stayed in many hotels, not typically Westin. I experienced a number of problems with this hotel - I had asked for a cot to be placed in the room but the hotel staff wasn't aware of this when I checked in. The room had to be changed to a larger one to accommodate a cot. OK fine. But no cot was sent up and I had to call again to ask for the cot.
Room service - I had to call 3 times to get an item sent up. I've never experienced this at any other hotel.
Checking out - the hotel can't leave a copy of the invoice under your door for review prior to check out because the "doors are made soundproof and we wouldn't be able to slip it under the door". I was checking out at 5 AM and didn't have enough time to review the invoice. The person at the desk was not very courteous.
Invoice - I was actually charged for the cot - even though the reason for the cot was that no two double bed rooms were available. I've never been charged by a hotel for a cot. I called the hotel to inquire and the person stated she would take it off the bill and email me the revised invoice. I didn't receive the invoice and called again two days later. I was told it was sent to an email address that wasn't mine.
So overall, an atrocious level of service with recurrent errors, inefficiencies.
On the plus side, the food was good and the room was quiet.
But this hotel doesn't strive to make the stay relaxed or pleasant at all, and I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The only other Westin I have stayed at was the one in Beijing and that was also a horrible experience. I would not book any Westin hotel in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripping88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for writing a review. We're disappointed to hear about your recent visit to the Westin Nova Scotian; please accept our sincerest apologies for falling short on your service expectations.

We'd like the opportunity to speak with you regarding the issues identified in this review. Should you wish, we encourage you to contact our Hotel Manager, Raj Gupta at raj.gupta@thewestinnovascotian.com to discuss.

We look forward to connecting with you soon.
Be well,
Guido Kerpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed at the Westin in Halifax over Thanksgiving Weekend. We were impressed with the front desk staff and two hospitality staff named Sarah. One Sarah worked in the dining room and was exceptionally willing to accommodate us and our party. The other was a supervisor named Sarah and she worked doubly hard to help us with a problem that arose over a dining room reservation.

The room we stayed in (#439) was in desperate need of new beds and bedding. No mattress cover so the sheets kept sliding up the mattress as we tried to sleep. The pillows were lumpy and uncomfortable. It appears that the hotel does not have an ironing machine for the laundry so even on the first day, it looked tired and maybe even unclean. We were busy during our stay so grumbled but put up with the room until our last night. When I showed the manager our room, he found us a different hotel room in which to sleep and we actually slept well that night.

After watching CBC's marketplace show on cleaning in hotels, I recognize some of the same problems that we noticed in the Westin halifax. The air vents were dirty, the carpet needed replacing, the beds were awful and I just wished we had asked for a different room sooner.

Great staff work so hard but without the resources to manage the property, they pale in comparison to poor accommodations.

Room Tip: If the room doesn't look clean or there appear to be problems, don't wait to tell the manage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pam f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
We appreciate you writing a review on TripAdvisor. We'd also like to thank you for taking the time to speak with us regarding your concerns while on property.

We're happy we were able to address your concerns and switch you to another room. We want to assure you that we've spoken to our Housekeeping Department to ensure we're meeting our high cleanliness standards.

During future visit, should you have any concerns or questions regarding your stay, please contact our Front Desk and we'll be more than happy to assist.

We hope your travels bring you back to the Westin.
Be well,
Guido Kerpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We chose to the extra for a harbour-view room. The accommodation was clean and comfortable and the view of the harbour was excellent.

The staff are extremely courteous. Our one problem in the bar was quickly rectified to our satisfaction by the manager and we tried the bar again the next day (different bartender) and were not disappointed.

This is a beautiful hotel in an excellent location for touring the historic side of Halifax.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a view the harbour!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clayacres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for writing a review. We're happy to hear that you had such an excellent stay with us and you enjoyed the history of the Halifax Seaport.

We hope your travels bring you back to the Westin Nova Scotian again.
Be well,
Guido Kerpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

My Husband and I stayed here on September 14th on the 6th floor in a corner suite, that was over looking the harbour and NS powers new Building.

The Beds are not just heavenly, they are amazing! The Showers are HOT and I loved the double showerheads! The Room was very clean! It offers Terry Towel Robes, a complimentary bottle of water, and includes complimentary Starbucks Coffee that you can make in your room. The rooms have been updated nicely.

We are residents of Halifax and booked the room via Priceline.com without knowing where we were going to be staying. Glad it was the Westin! Great location if you want to go downtown, or if your travelling by bus/train. Cabs are readily available waiting for you there, and YUK YUK's is also in the same building.

The night of our stay there were a few large functions going on, however the hotel was still quiet on the bedroom floors. The Check-In was Flawless, and we were in our room within Minutes. Jon helped us, and he was awesome! Very welcoming and warm, and hyped us up a little bit for our room before we got there.. and I was not disappointed. The toiletries are high quality, and the towels were VERY clean.

We visited the Gym, Pool, and Hot Tub area and it was very clean. The only thing is they had ran out of towels... however I called to let them know and within ten minutes, someone was there restocking with fresh towels! The hot tub was hot! and the pool was fresh! Just what we were looking for!

The only thing really is the layout of getting to the pool, having to walk to the end, and then going into an older part of the hotel that hasn't been redone.. but the hotel itself does not have any control over that.. so I really can't complain!

All in all I would rate the stay a 9/10. In fact we are planning another staycation next month and will probably book the same hotel! Hopefully this time we will try the food! However the location was great as there was a liquor store, and superstore right next door, which allowed us to buy some before dinner snacks and drinks!

Room Tip: Try and Choose a Corner Room, facing the water. Lots of space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandaJane420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for staying at the Westin Nova Scotian for your overnight staycation. From our Heavenly beds to convenient location, it sounds like you had the rejuvenating experience you were looking for.

We look forward to you next visit.
Until then.
Be well,
Guido Kerpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

After many years of staying with family when visiting the Halifax area, I needed to stay in town for a family event. This is an older hotel, so the rooms are on the small side and are a bit dated, but they are clean and well-laid out. Housekeeping was efficient and nicely done.

The view from the rooms overlooking the harbor is quite nice, but the “generator” on that side is very noisy when the window is open. The hotel is close to the waterfront and there is a walkway nearby that goes for a quite a ways up the harbor (it definitely goes as far as The Maritime Museum and The Historic Properties - it might also go up to the casino, but I didn't go that far.) There is also an interesting farmer's market on the waterfront - it was open on the Saturday I was there – I don’t know whether it is open on any other days.

Breakfast is typical hotel hot/cold buffet, and there are à la carte items which can be ordered as well. The restaurant is not open for dinner on Sundays, but small plates/light fare can be ordered in the bar/lounge. Strangely enough, one cannot take a glass of wine (or anything else, I’d assume) from the bar back up to the room – it must be ordered from room service. Maybe they don’t want to retrieve glasses from all over the hotel? A bit of a pain if you don’t want to wait 30-40 minutes for a single glass of wine to arrive in your room, with the accompanying delivery fee and mandatory service charge…

My only real complaint concerns the valet parking. Service was inconsistent. For the cost (cdn $22), I would hope that, when I pull in, there is somebody there, if not to open the door, then to at least to be there to take the keys and move the car somewhere. They may have been short-staffed, because a couple times I really had no idea where the attendants were and it felt a bit uncomfortable to be standing there with keys in hand ….waiting…and waiting…and waiting…

So, it is a nice hotel, with a few quirks. The difficulties I had with checking in early to be able to change for a funeral ( i.e. I wasn’t able to check in early, so had to change in the women’s locker room with sopping wet floors...) were certainly not pleasant, but I’d hope they were not typical of the usual service at this hotel. I would stay here again, but would also be very open to trying a somewhere different.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orkdldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you taking the time to write a detailed review of your experience at the Westin Nova Scotian. We appreciate your comments and feedback; and we've shared your review with our team.

We hope your travels bring you back to the Westin again.
Be well,
Guido Kerpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Nova Scotian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Nova Scotian

Property: The Westin Nova Scotian
Address: 1181 Hollis Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 2P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Halifax
#4 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#14 Family Hotel in Halifax
#15 Business Hotel in Halifax
#15 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Nova Scotian 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Nova Scotian, is located near Halifax Harbour. Steps from world-class shopping and dining opportunities, we are the ideal place to savor the sights and sounds of the beautiful city of Halifax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Nova Scotian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Nova Scotian Hotel Halifax
Westin Hotel Halifax
Westin Nova Scotian
Westin Halifax
Halifax Westin
The Westin Nova Scotian Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing