We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Noisy and Restless Night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Westin Nova Scotian
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This was our second time here in two weeks. Our last visit was okay, but not great, but from the moment we arrived this time it was not up to par. The woman who checked us in was not very pleasant or helpful. She was dismissive. We tried to ask about the restaurant, and she dismissed us. We decided to go somewhere else.

We were put in room 332, overlooking the park. We were happy with this, as it overlooks our former neighborhood. Our room was comfortable.

The partying next door in room 330 started at 7pm and went until 3 am, with a short break where the people went out. We complained at about 9pm and the manager said it wasn't "loud enough", as it wasn't quiet hours yet. I invited him back, to listen in our room. He came and agreed that it was noisy, but not quiet hours until 11pm. He said the walls were "paper thin" and the hotel was full, so they couldn't move us. We felt like we were the ones in the wrong. Apparently there was an event at the hotel and a Ball at the Cunard Centre, so we were basically told it would be noisy. That would have been nice to know when we arrived, so we could go somewhere quiet and more peaceful.

As the evening went on our floor got more rowdy and we could hear a lot of loud voices and hooping and screeching outside of our closed window. Our room was directly above a deck where smokers from the event directly below us was. People were out there all the rest of the night and they were loud. It felt like we were trying to sleep in a bar with drunk people all around us.

The people in room 330 even were up by 7:30 loudly discussing their night out. There were at least four or more adults in their room. It was awesome. We leave the Westin exhausted and are not in a hurry to return to the hotel. We were not treated like valued customers. We were dismissed from the moment we arrived.

We left Halifax five years ago and stay here several times a year when we return to visit. We'll try some other place next month when we're back to Halifax.

Room Tip: I think the newer part of the hotel is quieter than the old original section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NStravellers71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're sorry to hear about your less than expected experience. Please accept our sincerest apologies.

We'd like the opportunity to discuss these concerns in further detail. Should you wish, you may contact our Hotel Manager, Raj Gupta at raj.gupta@thewestinnovascotia.com.

We look forward to talking with you soon.
Be well,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,833)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

988 - 994 of 1,833 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013

We visited the Weston for a conference in Halifax.


Room -was dated for sure although in fairly good repair. The room was particularly small, I must say, but served it's purpose. Cleanliness wasn't an issue room was kept very well. Beds were typical for an aged hotel.

Food - We had all our food catered by the hotel for our conference, Breakfasts were buffet style with your usual fair food was hot and plentiful. Lunches were also buffet usually a soup with a selection of hot dishes, nothing from the lunches stands out it was also usual fair.
Suppers were all 3 courses served table side, supper was my least favorite meals very unimpressive. Main courses were always semi warm and overcooked. Overall the food was average.

Staff - Staff was always very helpful and courteous, always greeted with a smile. Would definitely give them a 5/5 rating!

Overall the stay was a pleasant one, I would recommend this hotel for a conference type setting but not as a vacationers place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wonder61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

We appreciate you writing a review on your conference stay. We're delighted to hear that our staff were friendly, helpful and courteous.

We take pride in our hospitality and conference services, so we're disappointed to hear that we fell short on your expectations. Should you wish to discuss, we'd like the opportunity to discuss your concerns in more detail. Feel free to reach out to Hotel Manager, Raj Gupta at raj.gupta@thewestinnovascotian.com.

We hope to welcome you back for a true Westin Nova Scotian experience.
Be well,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I was booked here for a conference for work. I always read the tripadvisor reviews before travelling to any hotel. I read a review about how nice Kaylee(front desk clerk)was. Upon check in I was surprised that Kaylee was the clerk serving me! She definitely was professional and very accommodating. My first room was overlooking the park and not much of a view. I was staying for 3 nights, so I called the front desk and asked if I could be moved to a room with a harbour view. Before I knew it, there was a knock on my door and I was escorted to my new room on the 5th floor with a view of the harbour(thanks Kaylee). Now that's service! The room was comfortable and clean. Its unfortunate that the restaurant on site was closed on Sunday. Parking was $18.00/day and $22.00/day to have someone park your car.

Room Tip: Ask for the harbour view, if they have it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheryl_canada50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thank you for writing a review about your stay. We always enjoy receiving feedback about our associates and we're delighted to hear that Kaylee made your stay so memorable. She is a tremendous asset to our team and we'll be sure to share your comments with her.

It sounds like you had a great visit and we hope to see you at the Westin Nova Scotian in the future. During your next stay, if timing permits, we definitely recommend checking out elements on hollis.

Until next time.
Be well,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed 4 evenings related to work. Got there late at night and check in was quick and efficient. Room was on 2nd floor. Got out of the elevator to a dark hallway, somewhat creepy, but then the lights turned on as I started walking. I got to my room and it smelled a bit musty. I could tell the room was older but the decor was well appointed. The bed was very comfortable. The walls paper thin.The next morning, opened the curtains to no view. My window was facing the water but all I could see was the sky because of a rooftop air exchanger which completely blocked the view. The location is great for any downtown activities. The hotel itself is beautiful with lots of places to sit. Food at the restaurant was excellent.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Sue217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

We appreciate you writing a review on your recent stay. As a leader in energy conservation, many of our hotel lights are motion sensitive, including the lights in the guestroom hallways.

We're disappointed to read that we didn't exceed all of your expectations. Should you wish to discuss, please contact our Hotel Manager, Raj Gupta via e-mail at raj.gupta@thewestinnovascotian.com.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Be well,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The Westin Nova Scotian is an older hotel, but rooms have been upgraded in recent years. Property had the amenities and comfort one would expect from a Westin, especially if one is on an SPG floor. For those arriving by train, it takes just a minute to walk from the station to the front desk. The cruise ship terminal, with its open concept shops and food options, is just a block away. The Harbourwalk starts at the cruise ship terminal and offers a beautiful stroll via boardwalk and shops to downtown.

"elements" restaurant in the hotel [lower case e intentional] offered one of the best surprises of the weekend. We dined here after a delayed arrival. Choices offered, service provided, food quality and quantity, and prices all far exceeded expectations. Next trip to Halifax will definitely include a meal at "elements."

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for staying with us and dining at elements on hollis during your visit. It sounds like you had an enjoyable stay and a wonderful meal. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Until next time.
Be well,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed here for a conference, so it was very convenient. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. It was close to the water so nice for walking around. Staff very nice, including the housekeeping staff.The room was quite small and the bathroom was adequate but nothing special. However, an unusual thing about this hotel is that it actually appears to be quite old. Our room appeared to be at the end of an unrenovated hallway that smelled old and musty, and even the room doors were old wood doors completely different from other more modern parts of the hotel. It seemed a little second-class. I've never experienced anything quite like it. They had a fantastic breakfast buffet which made for a speedy breakfast. One shortcoming is that the hotel didn't seem to have an actual concierge, which seemed odd for a busy conference facility; the people at the registration desk told us that the people at the front door also were the concierges. Can this be possible? So we relied heavily on online sources for restaurant recommendations. I think if I came back to Halifax for a pleasure trip I would try to find someplace different to try.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rwright6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay. We're happy you enjoyed our convenient location, conference facilities and friendly staff.

Our historic hotel is one of the original railway hotels in Canada and is over 80 years old. The Westin Nova Scotian boasts modern amenities while preserving the classic, original features of the heritage hotel. We continue to invest in the grand property.

We hope to welcome you back again, whether for business or leisure.
Be well,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed a total of 3 nights at the Westin at the beginning and end of our trip to Nova Scotia. Both rooms were fine, but we had to settle for smaller room on our first visit to get a queen instead of 2 double beds. Everyone was friendly, the bed was comfy (a bit firmer than home), and the room was clean. The best thing about this hotel is the location! It's within walking distance of the farmer's market and the beautiful harbor which was really fun on a Saturday night. Halifax is a great city with great restaurants, and the Westin was a good reliable choice for accommodation.

Room Tip: Since it's the main city in NS, Halifax can get booked up pretty quickly if there are weddings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jstoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you for staying with us on your trip to Nova Scotia. We're happy you enjoyed your time in Halifax and at the Westin Nova Scotian.

We'll be sure to share your kind comments with our team. We hope your travels bring you back to the area again soon.

Be well,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
3,057 reviews
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Nova Scotian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Nova Scotian

Address: 1181 Hollis St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 2P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Halifax
#6 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#14 Family Hotel in Halifax
#15 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#15 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: £94 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Nova Scotian 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Nova Scotian, is located near Halifax Harbour. Steps from world-class shopping and dining opportunities, we are the ideal place to savor the sights and sounds of the beautiful city of Halifax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Nova Scotian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Nova Scotian Hotel Halifax
Westin Hotel Halifax
Westin Nova Scotian
Westin Halifax
Halifax Westin
The Westin Nova Scotian Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing