We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin Nova Scotian
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$156
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites(Halifax)(Great Value!)
US$179
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cambridge Suites - Halifax(Halifax)(Great Value!)
US$197
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Coastal Inn Halifax(Halifax)(Great Value!)
US$119
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$235
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$222
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake(Halifax)(Great Value!)
US$147
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,879)
Filter reviews
1,879 results
Traveller rating
679
603
347
159
91
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
679
603
347
159
91
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheavenly bedelements restaurantfarmers marketcomedy clubtrain stationnova scotiaan older hotelliquor storestarbucks coffeefront desk staffharbour viewhistoric hotelvalet parkingdowntown halifaxjesseyukpier
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,003 - 1,008 of 1,879 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

So, the westin is famous for their beds and they, at least, are as advertised. Probably the most comfortable beds in any hotel I've stayed in and I travel a lot on business.

The problem is, there's more to a hotel than beds, and the westin has definitely dropped the ball where everything else is concerned. The rooms are small and calling them "ordinary" would be an overstatement.

Honestly, with all the other hotels in Halifax I would never stay here again if it were my choice. The problem is they always manage to attract conferences to their hotel, so I'm forced to stay here on occasion. For personal trips, never again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

We are disappointed to read about your less than expected experience. We want to extend our sincere apologies for not meeting your Westin expectations.

We would welcome the opportunity to discuss your concerns in more detail. Should you wish to discuss, please reach out to our Hotel Manager, Raj Gupta at raj.gupta@thewestinnovascotian.com.

We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back for a true Westin Nova Scotian experience.

Be well,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

After a long days work [ nearly 12 hours ] and awful snow and cold and ice, what a delight to met by such a warm welcome in the Westin. It is a hotel of choice and again they delighted us with their service and quality. We had a large bright well appointed room, on the 7th floor. The bed was a queen rather than the Kings we've had before but no less comfy or fresh. As ever a bright clean well stocked bathroom and a wonderful soft robe to slip into after a much needed soak in a hot bath :-) We got a royalty card that give 25% off food served in hotel - we had plans to eat out so will use the card in a few weeks when we hope to be back there with work. Anotehr great quiet stay THANKS.

Room Tip: We have been water side and street side and always enjoyed a quiet nights sleep
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita and Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

There's nothing better than relaxing after a long and cold winter's day. We're happy you had such a great and warm experience.

Thank you for writing a review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Be well,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Our stay here was fine. But when I have stayed here many times in the past, it felt more like a luxury hotel. Now it feels more like a run of the mill chain.

Our room was comfortable enough but quite small and oddly laid out. I liked the view of the harbour. The water in the shower was cold and lacked pressure. Our television stopped working several times. The first time a friendly service man was sent and told us the trick to get it to work. Also, a piece fell off our thermostat, which he also fixed. There were lots of little repairs that needed to be made (ie water drained super slowly in the sink, paint chipped on the bathroom door, etc.)

The pool was nice as was the lounge. Parking was easy and reasonably priced.

The desk clerks and lounge staff came across as stuffy and cold, although they weren't rude. The doorman, however, was very nice.

I guess my general complaint is that this hotel is slipping in service and proper maintenance isn't being done. Why pay to stay here when you can pay way less for other hotels of the same calibre with free parking and breakfast?

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank CndnFlagOnBckpck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

We take pride in our historic hotel, friendly service and rejuvenating guestrooms, and we're disappointed to read about your less than expected experience.

We want to assure you that we've shared your comments with our team. Reviews like yours are instrumental in ensuring consistent and quality guest service experiences.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We hope to welcome you back again for a true Westin Nova Scotian stay.

Be well,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The Westin is located beside the train station and it is a little tired hotel. Staff friendly and room are spacious with plenty of power points to charge wireless devices. The wifi is good and free to guests. If eating breakfast, and you are in a rush, go for the buffet as service seems to take a while. However, without a doubt I would say that you do get value for money as the rates at the hotel are good. We were unable to get gym gear as advertised which was a disappointment but not the end of the world.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soapdodger73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We want to apologize for inconvenience with the Gear Lending. At the time you were visiting, the sizes you requested were being utilized by other guests.

Should you wish to discuss any of your concerns in further detail, do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Be well,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The hotel's layout is a bit awkward because it is made up of older buildings. But the hotel is being refurbished and will be increasingly modern.

The rooms are fairly spacious, although the older bathrooms are awkwardly shaped. The noise insulation between rooms will also be upgraded eventually.

The parking lot is in the back of the building, accessible from Lower Water Street - you need to check in from lobby and get a parking access card first.

The fitness room has the basic cardio equipment, free weights, and a cable/pulley machine. They play cool electronic downtempo music (not frantic electronic beats, mind you).

The staff are friendly.

But for some reason, there is often only one person at the check-in counter, so there is often a wait for service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without neighbours, as the older building is not well sound-insulated. The sound insulation will be upgraded over time.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadaChick640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We take pride in our Maritime hospitality and we're happy to hear that you received quality service during your stay.

We often have two or more associates serving guests at the Front Desk; however, when associates are on breaks or dealing with other guests, this may lead to only one associate visible on the desk. We apologize for the inconvenience.

We hope to welcome you back to the Westin Nova Scotian again soon.
Be well,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews