We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Westin Hospitality...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Nova Scotian
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Comox Valley, Canada
Level Contributor
331 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 767 helpful votes
“Westin Hospitality...”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We enjoyed the Westin Nova Scotian hospitality last weekend.
I had a very small double room and my brother Barry had a slightly bigger king room; his room was fine with extra chairs, but my room with two beds was a bit tight and with only one chair, I found it not suitable for entertaining. (I prefer more space and chairs). There, that's my only beef and now the positives...
First, price was excellent as each room prepaid was only $97.50 a night, loved that.
Second, Westin is famous for their "Heavenly Beds" and believe me it's true!
Last, my son enjoyed the indoor pool, I enjoyed the hotels décor, and we all enjoyed their Outstanding Service...an example?
My son Chris lost his money in the pop machine, so he called down and told the front desk. They asked 'what pop were you trying to buy?", and minutes later a bellboy was at our door with two cans of pop, two tall glasses and fresh ice...ALL complimentary. WOW, where does this service happen anymore?
So small rooms aside, I would gladly spend another weekend at the Westin Nova Scotian when I return to Halifax.
Cheers,
Paul

Room Tip: I always ask for and get a higher floor and quiet area room and I'm never disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulshappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor! Feel free to request a bigger room when making your next reservation with us. We want you to be as comfortable as possible during your stay. We’re thrilled that you enjoyed our Heavenly Bed, it’s loved by most!

We’re so happy we could help you out with your pop situation. We love going above and beyond for our guests, that's what differentiates us from other hotels.

Looking forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Halifax!

Until then,
Guido Kerpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    544
    313
    141
    82
See reviews for
332
614
109
420
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverview, New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
156 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I had the opportunity to stay at this Westin recently and it's still a great spot. It is a bit removed from the Historic Properties on the waterfront but that isn't always a bad thing. In the summer months it's still just a really pleasant walk.

Like all Westin's it was very comfortable, the room was great and the staff very pleasant and helpful. I felt it was an excellent value for the money.

Room Tip: See if you can get something facing the Harbour. Gives you the morning sun and a view of a busy harb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for choosing to return to the Wesitn Nova Scotian. We were so happy to welcome you back to our downtown hotel. The Historic Properties are just a quick walk form our property, we always recommend our guests to check it out. And you’re right! It’s a beautiful walk along to waterfront during the summer months.

We’re thrilled that you were cozy in your room and had time to explore downtown as well as relax.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Until then,
Guido Kerpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hubbards, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My husband and I enjoyed a lovely weekend away at the Westin. The rooms were clean and the bed "very" comfortable' We ate at Elements where we had a slight problem, which the management quickly corrected with an apology and a free breakfast buffet. Also the management (2) were always around observing every part of the Westin and seeing how they could help all the guest.
Wonderful burger at Roy' the best!
I definitely will be going back before winter is over for another lovely mini vacation. Wonderfully managed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor! We’re so happy to hear that we were your hotel of choice when wanting a weekend away. We don’t blame you for escaping the winter weather; the Westin has everything you’d ever need under one roof.

Thank you for letting us know on property about the slight issue in elements on hollis, we always want to make things right and happy we fixed any confusion. Also, Roy’s burger is always a guest favourite, great choice!

Looking forward to seeing you again before the spring!

Be well,
Guido Kerpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

This is an old building. Service was good. Temperature control was an issue. Had to keep the window open to keep the room temp less than 75. Room was very small, but functional and comfortable. Free wi-fi was reliable. Meeting room was spacious and the food was pretty good.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank sfortuna93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share this review with us. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary Wi-Fi and delicious dining options. We want to apologize for the inconvenience with the warm temperatures, we will be sure to share your comments with our team.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Be well,
Guido Kerpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I came for a one-night stay for a getaway. I booked a standard room, and the actual room was nice, lovely features, comfortable bed, clean and tidy, and decently sized.

However, the room was VERY hot, and the temperature could not be turned down via the thermostat so I turned it off and opened the window, which eventually cooled the room. Opening windows is definitely a nice feature.

Checkout was smooth, but I was charged for a mini-bar item I did not have. I've contacted them and I am hoping they will remove this charge.

If they remove the charge, I will think about staying again. The rating reflects the heat and false charge. The hotel main areas are lovely and clean, and it is within walking distance of many of Halifax's attractions.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaime B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking time to share your experience.

Due to the ever-changing weather and temperatures in Halifax, it can be a challenge to regulate the heat. We want to extend our sincere apologies for the inconvenience. In future stays, should you have any concerns with the heat, please do not hesitate to reach out to our Front Desk and they'll gladly assist with this.

In regards to your mini-bar charge, we would encourage you to reach out to our Hotel Manager, Raj Gupta, so we can get this rectified right away. He can be reached via e-mail at raj.gupta@thewestinnovascotian.com.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Be well,
Guido Kerpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

So, the westin is famous for their beds and they, at least, are as advertised. Probably the most comfortable beds in any hotel I've stayed in and I travel a lot on business.

The problem is, there's more to a hotel than beds, and the westin has definitely dropped the ball where everything else is concerned. The rooms are small and calling them "ordinary" would be an overstatement.

Honestly, with all the other hotels in Halifax I would never stay here again if it were my choice. The problem is they always manage to attract conferences to their hotel, so I'm forced to stay here on occasion. For personal trips, never again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
We are disappointed to read about your less than expected experience. We want to extend our sincere apologies for not meeting your Westin expectations.

We would welcome the opportunity to discuss your concerns in more detail. Should you wish to discuss, please reach out to our Hotel Manager, Raj Gupta at raj.gupta@thewestinnovascotian.com.

We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back for a true Westin Nova Scotian experience.

Be well,
Guido Kerpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelburne, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

After a long days work [ nearly 12 hours ] and awful snow and cold and ice, what a delight to met by such a warm welcome in the Westin. It is a hotel of choice and again they delighted us with their service and quality. We had a large bright well appointed room, on the 7th floor. The bed was a queen rather than the Kings we've had before but no less comfy or fresh. As ever a bright clean well stocked bathroom and a wonderful soft robe to slip into after a much needed soak in a hot bath :-) We got a royalty card that give 25% off food served in hotel - we had plans to eat out so will use the card in a few weeks when we hope to be back there with work. Anotehr great quiet stay THANKS.

Room Tip: We have been water side and street side and always enjoyed a quiet nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita and Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
There's nothing better than relaxing after a long and cold winter's day. We're happy you had such a great and warm experience.

Thank you for writing a review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Be well,
Guido Kerpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Nova Scotian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Nova Scotian

Property: The Westin Nova Scotian
Address: 1181 Hollis St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 2P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Halifax
#4 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#14 Family Hotel in Halifax
#15 Business Hotel in Halifax
#15 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Nova Scotian 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Nova Scotian, is located near Halifax Harbour. Steps from world-class shopping and dining opportunities, we are the ideal place to savor the sights and sounds of the beautiful city of Halifax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Nova Scotian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Nova Scotian Hotel Halifax
Westin Hotel Halifax
Westin Nova Scotian
Westin Halifax
Halifax Westin
The Westin Nova Scotian Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing