We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Westin Nova Scotian
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed there on points April 19th , The room was fine , but I wanted to say thanks to the mgr. & staff who returned our Iphone cord that we left behind. I had to call a couple of times but in the end it was found & mailed to me gratus. Thnks appreciate it !..

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steelyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave some information about you stay. We are happy that we were able to safely return your cord to you, and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Until then,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,833)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

941 - 947 of 1,833 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

Great stay at the Westin! Rooms were mixed up and the front desk team worked to resolve the mix up very quickly! We had 10 people in 3 rooms and the hotel was very accommodating, the valet attendant Lucas provided great service to us!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fredshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your stay. It is great to hear that our staff was able to accommodate you and make you feel welcome. Lucas is an amazing valet attendant, and we are so lucky to have him on our team.

We hope you will stay with us again soon.

Until then,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

As always, the heavenly beds are heavenly. I always have an amazing sleep when I stay at a Weston. This one is tucked out of the main area, but a quick 10 - 15 walk along the scenic boardwalk and everything you need/want is there - plus you get your exercise!

The only thing I'd change is putting the Westin sign on the back of the building for easy identification and making the back entrance more obvious - it is the foot passenger way to enjoy the city. It's not super obvious where to go when you are returning in the day, even trickier at night because of the fences around parking lots which impact how you access the back door.

Room Tip: Ask for a waterfront view! Very accommodating to requests to be 'away from the noise and action...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiscoverAndEnjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for the detailed feedback about your recent stay. It sounds like you greatly enjoyed our heavenly beds! We’re so happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of our scenic downtown location and had time to explore the waterfront.
In regards to the signage, we are aware of this issue and are currently working towards fixing the problem by making our hotel more identifiable.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Until then,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed at this lovely hotel for the Easter weekend and had a delightful stay. The room was wonderful with a fabulous water view. The hotel was quiet, the staff were courteous and informative. As it was easter there was not a ton open we were given some excellent suggestions for our restaurant choices. We would stay here again for sure. The waterfront location near the market can't be beat.

Room Tip: Waterfront is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niobegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with the Westin Nova Scotian over Easter weekend. We’re thrilled that you enjoyed our beautiful views, comfortable rooms, courteous staff and convenient location.

We can’t wait to welcome you back to our downtown Halifax hotel sometime soon.

Be Well,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

The Westin is always our favourite place to stay while staying in downtown Halifax. Most rooms are very spacious and the beds are the most comfortable I've ever slept in at a hotel. The location is superb being within walking distance to most downtown attractions.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your recent stay. It’s so great to hear such positive feedback from returning guests! It sounds like you were able to take advantage of our location to really experience downtown Halifax. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Until then,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

I will start off by saying that this is not the hotel for us . Upon checking ... The room that was given to us was very small
And dark ... It was depressing so I returned to the front desk to asked for another room... The clerk at the desk said that it was an old hotel and most rooms were small and that he did not know if there was anything else available . He was not rude about it ... But I don't think he should of stated that all rooms were small because it's not true and this room was very dark and unpleasant I advised him that I did stay there before and that I had stayed in much bigger and brighter rooms ..
I was happy when He did find us one. We found both rooms very dusty .. Not what I would expect from a four star hotel

We did however experience four star customer service at the dinning room in the hotel .. It was about 9:45 pm and The dinning room was about to close but the bar still served food until 11 pm.
We were starving so I was going to ask if we could take food up to our rooms since the children were with us .. But the manager offered to serve us in the dinning room ( the manager .. Jisit) was awesome ... Great customer service !!!
The fish and chips were outstanding ... The food is great here.
once we returned to our room and we were getting ready for bed we found the tv did not work.. We called the front desk and they sent a very nice lady up to fix it.. We were all in bed except for my husband ... It was around 11 pm She offered us a complimentary breakfast which was awesome customer service because it was quite uncomfortable and inconvenient to have a complete stranger come in while you are in bed. The customer service we received from a few points of contact were exceptional except for the front desk service. Like I said the clerks were not really rude .... Service was " ok" But not like the rest of the service we received... Not four star ..

The down side of this hotel is the cleanliness of the room ... I did not like the fact that it was very dusty and also it was very hot... But we were able to open a window. Thank heavens it wasn't summertime we would have been extremely uncomfortable. I don't know why there are no fans or air conditioning
I also found it very warm in the hallways as well
The pool was very dated and " yucky" as the children put it .we did not swim there the kids were very disappointed in it...

We will not return because of the pool and cleanliness
I would suggest to gut out the whole pool area ... Put in a new one there is no updating that one I don't think .. If it's rated a four star it should be four star all around. Not just on some points
Pool and cleanliness is high priorities for us... So sorry Westin you are not in our list:(

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Micheypl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave such detailed feedback about your stay. We are glad to hear that our restaurant and housekeeping staff was accommodating, and that you were able to enjoy the delicious food on our menu. We apologise for the issues you experienced. I can ensure you that your feedback has been passed along to our team.

We would like the opportunity to speak with you in person and we encourage you to contact our Hotel Manager, Raj Gupta at rgupta@westin.ns.ca.

We hope that we can welcome you back again.

Until then,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Very average, nothing about this stay was exceptional. Food was terrible quality. Breakfast buffet was swimming in oil, even the omlette. No one goes above and beyond in the service area. I requested a taxi and was told to go stand outside and wait.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us. I sincerely apologize that you had a negative experience. I assure you that your concerns have been noted and we are currently working with our kitchen staff to fix the problems you mentioned.

Until then,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
3,056 reviews
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Nova Scotian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Nova Scotian

Address: 1181 Hollis St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 2P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Halifax
#6 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#14 Family Hotel in Halifax
#15 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#15 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: £94 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Nova Scotian 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Nova Scotian, is located near Halifax Harbour. Steps from world-class shopping and dining opportunities, we are the ideal place to savor the sights and sounds of the beautiful city of Halifax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Nova Scotian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Nova Scotian Hotel Halifax
Westin Hotel Halifax
Westin Nova Scotian
Westin Halifax
Halifax Westin
The Westin Nova Scotian Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing