We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it is miracle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Nova Scotian
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Pleasantly surprised at the quality of this hotel. Staff were friendly especially the front desk clerk. Rooms very clean and nice. The pillows were great as was the bed. My only complaint about the room was the layout. The closet was in a poor location making it difficult to access. The hot breakfast was more than adequate. There seemed to be lots of parking. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2,673,938,441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. It’s great to hear that our staff made you feel so welcome. Our Westin Heavenly Beds always guarantee a refreshing good night’s sleep. We hope to see you again.

Until then,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,838)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

938 - 944 of 1,838 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

This hotel was just wonderful! The bed was so cozy and the rooms were very clean. It is right on the harbour, next to a Superstore and liquor store, and plenty of restaurants in walking distance. The staff was pleasant and all went smoothly with my reservation! I would definitely stay there again and would definitely use Skoosh again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
1  Thank Kathryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for your kind words. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our cozy rooms and convenient location. Our Westin Heavenly Beds are always a guest favourite. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Until then,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The Westin Nova Scotian is a great Hotel. It right next to the waterfront and close to restaurants and pubs. The rooms are spacious and clean. The restaurant on the ground floor is delicious and the price is reasonable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crsbrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. It sounds like you were able to take advantage of our downtown location. Guest’s always appreciate that we’re conveniently located within walking distance to many Halifax attractions. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed Roy’s restaurant, their daily deals are delicious.

See you soon,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Spent a night hee duirng the Halifax Comedy Festival on April 26. The staff was amazing and the oom was very clean and service was good. Spent time in Roys lounge where the people were friendly and service was excellent

Front desk staff were very helpful

I hihly recommend staying at this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay with us. We are humbled to hear that you had such a positive experience. It sounds like our staff did a fantastic job of making you feel at home.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Until then,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is a Westin that feels more like an old, downtown Sheraton, the redheaded stepchild of the SPG family. In fact, all of the Canadian Westin properties that I’ve stayed in (Toronto, Calgary, Edmonton, Montreal) have the same 1980’s vibe and décor with a superficial facelift. I don't blame the local managers, it's a corporate decision to neglect these Canadian hotels.

The staff, as per usual for SPG, was friendly and efficient and check-in and out was easy. The valets are excellent, tip them well.

The location, next to the train station, right on the harbor, was convenient but not especially scenic. In fact, Halifax is not a very pretty place; it’s an industrial seaport. Because of that, you may hear the tractors, forklifts and trucks (and their annoying back-up beepers) from your room from 6:30 a.m. on as I did. Beware of cruise ships docking nearby, the hotel area gets swamped with fools. (Ship of Fools, get it?)

The rooms are small for a Westin, with some pretty grubby details like warped paint on the window sills, a non-functioning thermostat and toilets like the kind they have in prisons. The windows are ancient and mine was fogged up with condensation. I was unable to cool off my room and slept with the covers off both nights. The bathroom is small but has been updated with marble.

NOTE: There is no convenience store in the lobby (but there is a comedy club!), so if you need snacks or sundries, go left out the door to the supermarket next door.

Parking is free (this may be a first for me) and so is low-bandwidth internet. It’s $12.95 a day for a higher speed (not high speed, just a little faster than the free) connection and you'll need it because it is all very, very slow.

As noted earlier, the location is central and you can walk to restaurants and bars. Try Chives, an outstanding place featuring fresh and local ingredients and lots of love applied to each dish. It ain’t cheap but high quality food rarely is.

If you have the time, be sure to get out of Halifax and drive along the coast. It is rugged and beautiful. It is also cold, wet and windy, so bring the right gear.

Room Tip: Take a drive along the south shore
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dupedtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share these comments with our team. We’re sincerely sorry to hear that your room did not meet your expectations. In the future, I would encourage you to communicate your concerns with the front desk staff while on property. We take our guests feedback very seriously, and we are currently looking into the problems you encountered.

It sounds like you had the opportunity to explore the surrounding restaurants in the area as well as our waterfront. You’re right, Chives is a delicious treat! We hope you visit our beautiful city of Halifax again in the future.

Unitl then,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

good location for train travelers and cruise ships passengers, walking distance to center of town, harbor walk, farmers market, castle etc.. historical building with lots of charm in overall good condition. bathrooms could use a make-over. gym spacious but average with very limited equipment. pool but no sauna. attached restaurant average with aloof staff and mediocre breakfast buffet. decent choice for Halifax but overall average property showing in Starwood category 3 property rating.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KlausMaus139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay with us. It sounds like you were able to take advantage of our convenient downtown location. The boardwalk is one of our favourite parts of the city to explore, there’s so much to see and do. Please let me be the first to apologize about your breakfast buffet experience. We are working with staff to ensure a more positive experience in the future for our guests.

We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Until then,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

A one-night stay was very fine here. Although the weather was rainy, the unobstructed harbor views were excellent and my king corner room was spacious. Staff was very friendly. Drinks at the bar were a little uneven and not a lot of pour for the price. The restaurant was unfortunately closed on the Sunday I stayed but breakfast the next morning was good. It is quite centrally located, albeit at the far end of the main downtown drags but a short walk can get you to anything.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your stay. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your spacious corner room, our friendly staff, and delicious breakfast. We apologize for the unevenness of your drinks. We have addressed the issue with our staff, to ensure the problem is solved. We hope to welcome you back soon (hopefully on a sunny day next time.)

Until then,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
3,081 reviews
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Nova Scotian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Nova Scotian

Address: 1181 Hollis St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 2P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Halifax
#6 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#14 Family Hotel in Halifax
#15 Business Hotel in Halifax
#15 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: £92 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Nova Scotian 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Nova Scotian, is located near Halifax Harbour. Steps from world-class shopping and dining opportunities, we are the ideal place to savor the sights and sounds of the beautiful city of Halifax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Nova Scotian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Nova Scotian Hotel Halifax
Westin Hotel Halifax
Westin Nova Scotian
Westin Halifax
Halifax Westin
The Westin Nova Scotian Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing