We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, great location but dated rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Nova Scotian
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Westin Nova Scotian for four nights and had a lovely time overall. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. The staff was also very friendly and the hotel is well located. However, this in an older building and the rooms could benefit from a little bit of updating. The ventilation system was loud and the bathroom was quite small. The shower didn't drain properly and the overall look was a bit dated. Not as good as other Westin we stayed at, but definitely a comfortable average hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissYGlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,804)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Nova Scotian
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

892 - 898 of 1,805 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

We sayed at the Westin during Charles and Camilla's visit. The staff was very friendly and knowledgable and helpful with local information.

The hotel is in a great location to everything the downtown has to offer. The market is directly behind the hotel and it made it very easy to explore the stores along the boardwalk.

The suites were very clean and although a little small, we were very comfortable and had a nice view of the harbour.

We eat at the restaurant for breakfast it the food was actually very good.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed just one night. The staff was noticeably friendly and professional. The lobby is lovely and had a live duo playing the night we stayed. Great bed and pillows! We had a view of the harbour. We'd stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NflderAndCaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for the feedback about your stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that you were treated to the friendly service that The Westin is known for. Our comfortable beds and convenient location are great perks to our hotel. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Until then,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed at the Westin for 5 nights over a conference and we enjoyed our stay here. The room was somewhat dated but the bed was very good and the room clean. We felt the staff were excellent and always courteous and ready to help. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the waterfront and city. I would be very happy to stay here again

Room Tip: Some of our conference had rooms with no outlook. Ask for one with a view of the harbour
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annatfarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed three nights at this typical high quality Starwood property. First of all, we had a great deal with cash and points which reduced our cost to super value. Loved the location directly on the waterfront, our room was spacious and overlooked the harbor. Breakfast buffet was included in the price as was free parking. Many restaurants and pubs within a two block area, the only negative is the weather which was windy and foggy much of the time. Would stay here again because you can't beat the location.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank pfefmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in the city. We hope to welcome you back again soon; hopefully with better weather!

Until then,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at the Westin last October for our anniversary weekend. The king sized bed was comfortable and the duvet and linens were good quality. The room itself was small but adequate. The bathroom was well appointed and had no issues. We had a room overlooking the harbour so the view was great - watching the cruise ships come in and out, watching the sunset and sunrise etc. Room service was great - brought us an ice bucket and ice for our champagne and two flutes. Cleaning staff did a great job, front desk and valet staff also great. Breakfast in the hotel was delicious and filling. Also in the building is Sykea Salon & Spa. Great staff and services there too.

Only real issue was that the mini fridge is locked and wont chill a bottle of wine even if you get it opened. Aside from that, no real issues.

Would I stay here again? Technically yes. We live in Halifax, so we dont stay in hotels here often- just for a weekend getaway from the kiddos. Would I recommend this hotel to others? Wholeheartedly YES!

Room Tip: Higher up the better, on the back, for a nice view of the harbour.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tableforfourplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Got in 11 pm due to flight and left at 11 am to drive to Cape Breton. Staff pleasant, beds very nice, rooms reasonably well appointed. Options for breakfast. 24 hour Supermarket next door so we could stock up for our drive. Parked on street for free on weekends.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,974 reviews
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Nova Scotian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Nova Scotian

Address: 1181 Hollis St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 2P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Halifax
#5 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#14 Family Hotel in Halifax
#15 Business Hotel in Halifax
#15 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: £118 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Nova Scotian 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Nova Scotian, is located near Halifax Harbour. Steps from world-class shopping and dining opportunities, we are the ideal place to savor the sights and sounds of the beautiful city of Halifax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Nova Scotian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Nova Scotian Hotel Halifax
Westin Hotel Halifax
Westin Nova Scotian
Westin Halifax
Halifax Westin
The Westin Nova Scotian Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing