We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No problems with our stay. Would stay again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Nova Scotian
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I have 4 criteria when deciding whether a stay at a hotel has been a good one or not:

1. Is the room clean?
2. Are the beds comfortable?
3. Is the price reasonable?
4. Does the shower have good water pressure?

How does the Westin Nova Scotian stack up?

1. Yes, the room (and hotel in general) was clean. It was a little tired behind the updated furniture and paint, but still clean. Our room had a massive walk-in closet compared to the room size, but I'll chalk that up to its age.

2. The beds were comfortable. My wife commented specifically on it. Bedding was nice as well.

3. We paid $108 plus tax for the night, so I think that was a reasonable price to pay. We also paid $18 for parking out back because we weren't sure what the street parking would be like. As it turns out, we could have parked on the street no problem. Which we'd do next time if we stay here. I wouldn't count on that option being available in the winter though. If a storm rolls through, over night parking gets banned in the winter.

4. Shower pressure was ok. I'd put it in the middle. It wasn't like a fire hose, but also didn't just drip out either. The shower head was kind of loose on the wall which goes back to point #1.. the room was a little tired. Clean, but tired.

Would I recommend you stay here? Sure. We'd stay here again.

We didn't use any of the facilities, so I can't speak to those.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ClubFred0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,821)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

885 - 891 of 1,821 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

The hotel was pretty nice when it came to hosting a conference I attended. The staff was very supportive, and the presentation venues were quite nice. I liked the bright and open feel about it, compared to many hotels that hide their conference rooms in basements and things.

But as a hotel, it met expectations but was not stellar necessarily. The location was a bit quiet, but it wasn't far from Halifax proper. It was affordable though. And to be honest, being steps away from a grocery store was kind of nice too. The IT staff was helpful when I reached out to them fro a question or two.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fivetimesthethree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our bright and open meeting spaces and our convenient location. It’s great to know that our IT staff was able to answer your questions. We're glad your visit was satisfactory, and hope to see you again.

Until then,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We spent three nights at this lovely hotel. The rooms were bright and very nice. The pool was warm and inviting. The location is great - walking distance to everything we wanted to see and do. There is a Super Store next to hotel and a park across the street so we made use of both and had a picnic one evening. I appreciated the positive way the staff handled my one bad night because if the bed. We were moved the next day and they checked to see we that all was okay in second room.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mvoelkening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The Westin Nova Scotia is a hospitable, comfortable hotel located very conveniently along the waterfront in Halifax. A very large property, it has a very service-oriented staff who took great effort to accommodate our family by providing us adjoining rooms and the bed confirgurations that made most even without our asking. I was very impressed by this. The hotel could use some updating but the rooms are comfortable, clean and more updated than some of the common spaces. We walked most evenings to dinner along the bay or the wide range of other attractions in Halifax.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms face Halifax and the odd numbered rooms face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cookie2008_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Considering this hotel is a Westin, my boyfriend and I had very high standards for our stay and was very excited to experience the luxury one would expect at a Westin hotel. We were terribly disappointed and disgusted. The first room we walked into (601) was not only extremely small and poorly laid out but filthy. The bathroom was utterly disgusting and the level of cleanliness overall was horrible, I would expect this bathroom at a 1-2 star hotel. There were hairs, dust and dirt and grime all over the bed and bath rooms, as well as the back of the toilet had yellow slime and grime (see picture). This was not the level of sanitation you would expect in a Best Western, let alone a Westin. We immediately expressed our concerns and they moved us to another similar, extremely small room (611). This one was cleaner but not sparkling and shiny by any means. The old bathroom tile was full of grime and hairs were visible throughout. No upgrade was offered even though we expressed dissatisfaction. The only reason we stayed was because we were there with a larger group of people and it was convenient to all be in the same hotel. We paid $240 per night and in my opinion it was worth $80 or less. Our large (well traveled) group all had the same opinion and were less than impressed.
Overall the hotel was old, not updated, unsanitary and extremely overpriced, even for the location. The only positive about our stay was the valet was wonderful and they had a well equipped gym, even though you may get lost or mugged finding it. I would NEVER recommend this hotel and if I was the Westin chain, I would seriously reconsider allowing this hotel to hold the Westin name, as it is in no way on the level you would expect. There are much nicer hotels in the same downtown waterfront location and price range. Do your research!
As an aside, later in our trip we stayed at a Quality Inn and this was ten times the hotel room that the Westin was.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LBabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Please let me be the first to send my sincerest apologies for your experience with us. We are very sorry about the problems you encountered during your visit. We would love to speak with you in further detail, and encourage you to contact our Hotel Manager, Raj Gupta directly at, raj.gupta@thewestinnovascotian.com. We look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had a night out and without the kids. We had stayed at this hotel previously for a couple weeks during a relocation a few months back. When we arrived this time, we were greeted by the valet by name, which we were both very impressed with. We were given a very generous upgrade by the front counter (manager?). The room was awesome, we brought another couple who was also staying at the hotel up to show them and they were super impressed.
In the morning we went for the breakfast buffet. Despite being very busy, one of the staff, Jose, came over to say hi, and had a short friendly conversation asking about our kids.
Overall excellent stay, exceeded our expectations. If we had one recommendation it might be to expand a few options on the dinner menu at elements, but hey there are plenty of other restaurants around so really it's not a big inconvenience.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room. If you can try to a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank decamann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We are Westin platinum, so we typically choose them when traveling. We were very pleased with our stay here, as the front desk personnel were so helpful an pleasant and, as always, the beds are great! The building is a little older, but our room was comfortable and had a great view. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
3,027 reviews
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Nova Scotian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Nova Scotian

Address: 1181 Hollis St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 2P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Halifax
#6 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#14 Family Hotel in Halifax
#15 Business Hotel in Halifax
#15 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: £106 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Nova Scotian 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Nova Scotian, is located near Halifax Harbour. Steps from world-class shopping and dining opportunities, we are the ideal place to savor the sights and sounds of the beautiful city of Halifax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Westin Nova Scotian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Nova Scotian Hotel Halifax
Westin Hotel Halifax
Westin Nova Scotian
Westin Halifax
Halifax Westin
The Westin Nova Scotian Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing