We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Nova Scotian
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We pulled up to the front door and opted for the valet parking - I felt bad for the staff since we were camping for the week before coming to the hotel so the car was filthy and we had to unpack a pile of stuff from the car. The staff were incredibly helpful and we did not feel rushed checking in. The hotel itself is very nice - maybe a little more dated than other Westin hotels but still had the same level of customer service and amenities. The room was outstanding and the beds were very comfortable. Our kids did not want to leave!

Only a couple of "complaints":
- make sure you put the do not disturb sign on the door since you will get housekeeping knocking pretty early in the morning
- the pool is salt water and not very clean
- only two elevators seemed to be working so it took us a while to get to and from our room

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank crudest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We're glad to hear that overall you and your family had an excellent stay. It sounds like you were treated to the hospitality that our hotel is known for. Thank you for your feedback and suggestions. We are currently working with our staff to ensure that the appropriate improvements are made for our future guests.

We hope to see you again soon.

Until then,

Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,805)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Nova Scotian
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

844 - 850 of 1,805 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

I had two rooms booked for two nights, one for us and another one for my daughter's couple. The hotel is on a good location to enjoy things around the harbour front such as nice long board walk, lot's of places to eat, and even a farmer's market. The staff were mostly very friendly and always willing to help. The building, though, is aged and could use renovation.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank S_Cube43_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

stayed here for a conference and though it was packed the rooms were kept sparkling clean , very nice pool area, and walking distance to everything on the waterfront..stayed during a snowstorm , and my only regret was we didn't get a room on the harbour view side :)

Room Tip: if your going to stay here , definitely swing the extra $$ for the harbour view side!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bonnie_Gamble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for your kind words. It sounds like you enjoyed our downtown location and clean rooms. Next time you’ll have to stay in a room with a view. The harbour sunrises are breathtaking! We hope to see you again.

Until then,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights. We liked the friendly service but the rooms are dated (old carpet, older bathroom) but the beds were very comfy and the room was big. It shows this used to be a CP hotel back in the days... It is in a great location - we loved being able to walk everywhere from it - right beside train station and large grocery store.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie-France M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The hotel is location on the waterfront near the historical Pier One. A mixture of old charm and new modern. Their restaurant, Elements on Hollis served excellent food. Don't forget to try either there cold or hot breakfast buffets. If you are a member of the Starwood group hotels, you are entitled to a 25% discount on all food in their restaurant or bar. Just ask to join when checking in. There is no charge.
If you stay for a thursday, friday or saturday night, ask about their rate based on your year of birth. If you stay for two or three of these nights, the cost of the first night is their normal rate while the cost of the second and third nights is equal to the last two digits of your birth year. A great weekend bargain. We always book this rate. Just check the details on line. For those arriving by train, the Via station in Halifax is joined to the hotel. Very convenient for train travellers. The first class Via lounge is actually located in the hotel. It is in an excellent location for visiting the city. You can easily walk the waterfront (about a mile or so long) or take cabs which are very reasonable.

Room Tip: Wifi is free for Starwood members. The waterfront rooms offer and excellent view of the harbour. T...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Vern T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

this is a nice hotel, but it is an older property. The bathrooms and furnishings are not as nice as the other Westin hotels I have stayed at, but they were adequate. The biggest problem I had was trying to keep the room temperature comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are sorry about the problems you had maintaining a comfortable room temperature. We have shared your feedback with our maintenance staff, and we are currently working to ensure this is fixed. We hope you enjoyed your time in Haifax.

Kind regards,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We had a lovely stay at this hotel.

After driving 12 hours through the night they let us check in early to get some shut eye before all of the wedding festivities we had traveled so far to attend.

We realized our room smelled a little bit like cat urine (they allow dogs and cats at this hotel), and we are animal lovers so we picked up on it once there was some damp weather on day 2 of our stay... We called the front desk and they promptly took care of it.

I found it a little strange that they did not refill our mouthwash/shampoo/etc. each day but am not sure if this is a hotel policy or just Canada's eco-friendliness.

Even though the rooms show a bit of age, and it was a little loud (numerous weddings), the people were the friendliest.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor with a water view.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Josh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,974 reviews
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Nova Scotian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Nova Scotian

Address: 1181 Hollis St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 2P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Halifax
#5 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#14 Family Hotel in Halifax
#15 Business Hotel in Halifax
#15 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: £118 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Nova Scotian 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Nova Scotian, is located near Halifax Harbour. Steps from world-class shopping and dining opportunities, we are the ideal place to savor the sights and sounds of the beautiful city of Halifax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Westin Nova Scotian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Nova Scotian Hotel Halifax
Westin Hotel Halifax
Westin Nova Scotian
Westin Halifax
Halifax Westin
The Westin Nova Scotian Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing