We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Nova Scotian
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Reviewed 31 March 2010

We came to the city for an annual meeting. My wife usually does not come with me as she does not like the city and thought that there would not be much for her to do while I was in meetings. The staff treated her like she was one of their family the gave her suggestion of things to do and paces to see while I was attending meetings. Now she can't wait to get back to the Westin for another trip. The staff was friendly and the room was clean what else can I ask for.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RHC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,805)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Nova Scotian
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,612 - 1,618 of 1,805 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2010

It may say Westin over the door but that's the only thing Westin about it.
I am a business traveler which takes me across our great country and away from home 75% of my year and over the last ten years, I have never encountered anything like it.
The standards which you appreciate and expect when staying at a Westin property do not apply here. Housekeeping is so below standard, I am amazed that the property is allowed to bare the Westin name. Something is terribly amiss here.
This property has great potential, it just requires the right individuals at the helm.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeverHome22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinHalifax_NS, Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2010

Dear NeverHome22,

Thank you for taking the time to complete this review of our hotel. We are truly sorry to hear that your stay fell well below cleanliness standards. Our Housekeeping team is taking specific measures to improve deficiencies so all feedback is appreciated so we can improve. Should you wish to provide specific feedback we invite you to contact Robert MacNeill, Rooms Division Manager, at rmacneill@westin.ns.ca so he can address. We feel that should your travels take you back to Halifax and you chose to stay at our hotel again that you would not experience these issues ever again.

Warm regards,

Westin Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2010

Had a great weekend to end off the student March break in Halifax. The Westin Nova Scotian is an gracious old hotel with all the modern amenities. Kids loved the room, wife loved the king size bed, I enjoyed the whole thing.

Main thing about the Westin is the staff. Friendly,happy people everywhere. Clearly they treat their staff well, because its reflected in the willingness to help. When our room wasn't ready, they upgraded us. Real nice.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RayRMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinHalifax_NS, Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2010

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that your family enjoyed the Hotel and the staff. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Westin Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2010

Myself and two friends stayed at this hotel when we went down for a concert recently. The only good thing was the proximity to the Cunard center, where the concert was being held.
Three of us were staying together, they only had rooms with 2 double beds, when we inquired at check-in if they had rooms with 2 queen beds they said they did not. The room, which overlooked the harbour, was very tiny and very dated. The windows were old and grungy, we called to see if we could be a cot and were told it would not fit in the room, the bathroom was small (you could almost stretch out your arms and touch wall to wall), and after a shower the walls were literally dripping with water. The absolute worst was the fact that there was dried blood on the floor and down the wall in the bathroom!!! It was a significant amount and would not be easily missed by housekeeping.
We compained to the front desk and were given another room relatively hassle free, it was as small as the first but slightly more updated. We found a used lipstick on the floor of this room, it really makes you wonder about the quality of housekeeping done in the rooms.
For a 4-star hotel with a good reputation I was very disappointed. I have stayed at many hotels over the years in several different countries and have NEVER seen blood in the rooms. We paid 150$ (and that was at a discounted rate) for what looked like a road side motel room. We were refunded approx. 50$ when we told the front desk at check-out about our first room, but I specifically had to ask to put in a formal complaint about it before they offered us a refund, when we told the front desk staff initially all se did was apologize. I think dried bio-hazard material deserves more than just an apology.
Needless to say, this will be my last visit to the Westin

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_fiend45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinHalifax_NS, Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2010

Dear Travel_fiend45,

Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel as without it we cannot improve. Our goal at Westin is for you to leave our hotel more renewed and relaxed than when you arrived and we certainly failed you in this. In regard to your cleanliness issues we immediately followed up after being notified and are taking extra measures to ensure these never reoccur. Our Housekeeping team takes tremendous pride in the work they perform each day and when standards are not met they take this personally. We receive annual secret shopper inspections and our Cleanliness has scored between 95 and 98% in each of the last six years. We are certain that, should you chose to return to our hotel, that you would not encounter any issues again. We completed a full room renovation in 2008 and continue to make constant improvements to our grand dame of Halifax with a deep rooted history.

Sincerely,

Westin Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2010

I received this Hotel on a priceline bid so it was a great value however it is about a 15 minute walk to the downtown retaurants and entertainment. The Hotel is showing it's age however they have upgraded it fairly well, besides the small bathrooms which are typical of a Hotel of this age the rooms are quite comfortable. The staff are your typically freindy Nova Scotians and always trying to please.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martymnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2010

This hotel is ideally located within walking distance of all amenities. Next door is a large supermarket where you can purchase extra coffee since there was only one cup's worth of weak coffee provided in the room - not quite enough! - and a quick breakfast that won't cost you 12 dollars.

We were given a room with two double beds rather than a Queen or King sized bed. They were very small/short. The TV was flatscreen, but you couldn't adjust the settings which had been set to fill the screen even if the signal wasn't HD. The result: squashed everything. The vanity and drawers were nice looking.

I liked that we could open our windows, since it was very warm on Valentine's Day weekend. There is a safe in the room which is good for travel docs etc. and the style was soothing and fresh.

The bathroom was underwhelming: small (granted it's an old hotel) with a small chip in the granite counter. The shower was a little grungy, and had a serious hole in the tile near the tap. It leaked a bit. The shampoo was alright, but not the nicest I've had. Towels were fine.

There is a nice heated pool/jacuzzi and gym area in the hotel. We went for an early morning swim and the place was empty.

Service was exceptionally friendly. I would definitely go again if I could guarantee a larger bed.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JadeinHali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinHalifax_NS, Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2010

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location of the Hotel as well as the windows that open. We take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback. I do apologize for the cleanliness issues you encountered while staying with us. I assure you that is not the norm and we will look into this issue.

Sincerely,

Westin Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Feb 26th we had stayed here at the westinn , the service is great and friendly and ready to help you with anything . The hotel is very very old . And you may not get a new room ! Our room was so old . It is just a let down because the pictures on the hotel site are NOTHING like the hotel . But it was clean and for a quick visit , its worth the money . We got it off the net for a very cheep price . Also bathrobes and extra towels were no where to be found ! Breakfast is 18 dollors and over-priced !!!!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelchick0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,979 reviews
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Nova Scotian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Nova Scotian

Address: 1181 Hollis St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 2P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Halifax
#5 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#14 Family Hotel in Halifax
#15 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#15 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: £118 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Nova Scotian 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Nova Scotian, is located near Halifax Harbour. Steps from world-class shopping and dining opportunities, we are the ideal place to savor the sights and sounds of the beautiful city of Halifax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Westin Nova Scotian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Nova Scotian Hotel Halifax
Westin Hotel Halifax
Westin Nova Scotian
Westin Halifax
Halifax Westin
The Westin Nova Scotian Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing