We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never disappoints”
Review of The Halliburton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Halliburton
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We recently had superb dinner in the Stories restaurant (in the Halliburton) and I have visited the hotel a number of times since my last review in 2008. Most of the visits were for catered events i.e., receptions and high-end dinners where a number of the guests stayed overnight in the hotel afterward. We have never been disappointed. The menu is unique and features a selection of seafood, game and even vegetarian options. Every dish is beautifully presented and tastes as wonderful as it looks. Service is friendly but professional and the Halliburton is able to handle the most formal of events including black tie with ease. Being able to stay at the hotel after dinner and wine is a bonus, particularly as the rooms I have stayed in, including the king suite, have all been so lovely and comfortable. This is a charming hotel with a warm and welcoming atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HalifaxCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    218
    66
    21
    15
See reviews for
60
402
44
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

The Innkeepers at the Halliburton continue to improve and tweak an already incredible experience. The dining is among the best in the city, and the accommodations are imaginative, comfortable and unique. The Innkeepers are very hands-on, and selective in all aspects of their operation, especially with the staff. The service is unmatched, anywhere. If you don't dine here at least once a year you are truly missing out! I can't wait until my next visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed at the Haliburton for 2 nights during our road trip to the Maritimes. This hotel was our "prime stop" place so spending a little extra for a boutique hotel in the heart of the city was fine with us, but unfortunately I think it came up a little short to be called a boutique hotel. I definately dont feel we got the added value for what we spent. We had a queen room on the 2nd floor. The bed was not comfortable. The room was very small and looked out onto an alley so we kept the blinds closed all the time. The room looked like it needed a repaint and need bedding. The wifi didnt work the 2nd night and the tv was the size of the small computer monitor.

The was a complementary breakfast which was ok, except for the 2nd day they didn'thave butter. I'm not a coffee drinker, and dont like the smell, and this is probably not an issue for many people, but the hotel always smelled of strong coffee...even in out room on the 2nd floor.

However, the staff were very friendly and hospitable and the rooms were clean.

Room Tip: No elevator. Room 207 has no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claire w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

This hotel was recommended for the start of our holiday in NS but proved to be a disappointment. We stayed 2 nights 10-11 June. I feel it lives on past glories. The bedroom was small, no view and poorly equipped (e.g. no milk for tea and coffee, which when asked for was provided, but never replenished for the following day). The bedding was 'tired' and the bedroom carpeting threadbare. Breakfast was a meagre affair for what claims to be Halifax's leading 'boutique' hotel with lukewarm coffee from a large self dispensing flask, basic selection of preserves all manufactured by a global food company and on day two no butter - yes the hotel had run out of butter. In 35 years of travelling I have never experienced this before!
There was a cosy lounge with Internet near reception. Staff were attentive and always tried to be helpful.
Until some money is spent on a major refurbish I would not consider the Haliburton on a future visit to Halifax.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silverfoxtrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Although a little tired looking this place is well located to experience the capital of Nova Scotia. It is in easy reach of the waterfront and ocean terminal and many good restaurants/pubs. The room was old style, high ceilings etc, but quiet and well equipped. Breakfast was continental and a bit limited, but nevertheless adequate. The fine dining restaurant was a disappointment. On our first night we couldn't get a reservation but they managed to "squeeze us in" at 7pm on our second night (a Friday night). Problem was there was only one other couple there all evening at the other end of the restaurant.The food was ok, but not great, but the atmosphere was absolute zero and the service mediocre. Commenting on this the next day we were told they'd had a private party function in a room downstairs which had obviously caused some strain on the kitchen ! Still there are any number of good places to eat on the waterfront...try the Bicycle Thief.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sennokians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2013

The location of the Halliburton is very good, as it is in easy walking distance of almost everything in downtown/old Halifax and is close to the ferry to Dartmouth. The staff was extremely helpful and polite. Our first two nights we were in a room in one of the buildings adjacent to the main building/lobby/restaurant. The room was very nice and clean. We returned a few nights later and stayed in a room in the main house. This room was nice as well, but there was a bit of noise from the restaurant down the hall, but nothing major. Would recommend this hotel and stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galibraryguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charleston, sc
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We enjoyed all aspects of this boutique hotel from our spacious room and continental breakfast to the location. Our room was on the second floor but the staircase is wide and easy to maneuver with suitcases in hand. There was a lovely room with computer and internet connection in the main building. The location was just a few blocks from the harbourfront and an easy walk to Pier 21, the Citadel and shops. We would absolutely stay at this gem again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsb80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,806 reviews
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Halliburton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Halliburton

Property: The Halliburton
Address: 5184 Morris St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#8 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Halliburton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Halifax’s historic boutique hotel. The Halliburton features signature dining and individually appointed guest rooms in a trio of heritage townhouses. A favorite downtown retreat for visitors and locals alike, The Halliburton offers a unique four-star hotel experience; a blend of contemporary amenities and personalized service in a historic setting. 'Stories' restaurant offers inventive regional cuisine in intimate dining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Halliburton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Halliburton Hotel Halifax
Halliburton Hotel Halifax
Halliburton Halifax
The Halliburton Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing