We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Halliburton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Halliburton
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

We have had a few bad to horrifying experiences with inn-style accommodations, so we are somewhat wary about choosing an inn. We need not have worried. The Halliburton House was just delightful. Service and responsiveness to requests was top-notch. Our room was very comfortable and reasonably quiet for this style of accommodation - a caveat: the noise level probably depends greatly on which level of which building (of the three that make up the inn) your room is on. Our bed was comfortable, the bathroom was adequate (plenty of hot water and a good shower), and we had a nice little private balcony. The complimentary continental breakfast was delicious and perfect as a good, light start to each day. Location is brilliant - close to all South End sights and walking distance to a multitude of good restaurants. Unfortunately, we didn't have a chance to eat at Stories, the in-house, highly rated restaurant, but will definitely do so next time. If you come in by train (my advice? DON'T!), it's an easy walk from the station. Free, off-street parking is available.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    210
    62
    21
    13
See reviews for
56
383
42
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

We were very disappointed with this hotel. What was supposed to be a quaint boutique hotel, turned out to be a tired motel room. Very dated. Breakfast was pretty decent but nothing impressive about this stay. It was in a very convenient location and offered free parking, if I were to try and find a couple of positives. Didn't replenish any towels, coffee, water the next day(even towels that were put on the floor in a pile were hung up for reuse). Will go back to Halifax, but not the Halliburton.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsbevis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halliburtonHalifax, General Manager at The Halliburton, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention and we regret that you were unhappy with your experience at the Halliburton. We have controls in place to ensure our guests get the very best service and in this rare case they were not followed. We hope that on your next visit to Halifax you will give us another opportunity to provide the top notch service we are known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockbridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We were referred to the hotel by JoAnn (who was awesome and very helpful) at the visitor center at Peggy's Cove. She helped us get a last minute reduced rate. We were pleasantly surprised with the quality of this hotel - three historic buildings that share a spectacular tree-encased courtyard in the back and a topnotch restaurant (which we did not try for dinner but enjoyed during a delicious continental breakfast), and off-street parking. The room was wonderful - very high ceilings, historic touches, quiet AC, and large windows. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plindenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

The Halliburton is in a central Halifax location, easy walking distance to the Harbour. The hotel is well kept, clean and the staff were helpful and polite. The breakfast was continental with a range of food options. The breakfast was good but not stellar....no wonderful freshly baked breads, and limited fruit. The breakfast areas are pleasant. Our suite was perfect for my family. It was also nice to have off site parking. I would stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
99 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

The Halliburton is a group of historic townhouses on a fairly quiet street right downtown. Its a good location and you can walk everywhere you want to go. No elevators so if you don't do stairs well or have a lot of bags this might not be the place for you. Our room was a good size and overlooked the street. There is a very pretty courtyard behind the buildings and free parking (which is rare for a city hotel) Breakfast is the ordinary "continental", soft boiled eggs, some cold cuts, cereal, toast etc.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishAudity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

We recently stayed at the Halliburton for two nights during a stay in Halifax. This was a great base to explore the city and the waterfront. We did not move our car once it was parked at the hotel! (Though it is a bit of a hike to the Citadel.) The hotel rooms are beginning to show a little bit of age, but overall the hotel is well kept. Service is great and the included breakfast is very adequate. I would definitely stay here again if the opportunity arose!

Room Tip: There are no elevators, so a room on the first floor may be best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CincyParrotthead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

The hotel's website says' each guest room is unique in size, layout and decor. Some have fireplaces, others have private balconies overlooking the garden.' Well I think we were just unlucky. We had an oddly shaped, small room with one small window at one end overlooking the firescape! We struggled to find floor space for our two bags and most annoyingly there wasn't a single free surface on which to spread out a map or even safely put down a glass of water. It was also a very hot night and the fan provided was both noisy and not particularly effective. To be fair the bathroom was a reasonable size, modern and did have a bit of a view of the garden if you happened to be in the right spot!

Obviously, from other reviews, there are some very nice rooms, so perhaps it would be worth paying a little extra for one of these or at least checking what's available when you book.

On the positive side, the location is very handy for the waterfront, the staff friendly and breakfast perfectly adequate if rather 'do-it-yourself.'

Room Tip: Might be worth paying extra to get a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Welburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,647 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South End
Waverley Inn
Waverley Inn
#12 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Halliburton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Halliburton

Property: The Halliburton
Address: 5184 Morris St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#8 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Halliburton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Halifax’s historic boutique hotel. The Halliburton features signature dining and individually appointed guest rooms in a trio of heritage townhouses. A favorite downtown retreat for visitors and locals alike, The Halliburton offers a unique four-star hotel experience; a blend of contemporary amenities and personalized service in a historic setting. 'Stories' restaurant offers inventive regional cuisine in intimate dining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your The Halliburton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Halliburton Hotel Halifax
Halliburton Hotel Halifax
Halliburton Halifax
The Halliburton Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing