We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of The Halliburton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Halliburton
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at your hotel last night for the first time... it won't be our last! The room we had was in the yellow building... room number 303. It was perfect! Very cute, cozy and so quiet!! It felt like we were somewhere else... so close to downtown! The girl who checked us in was wonderful, actually all the staff were wonderful! We also ate at your restaurant, my husband and I both agree, its the best in the city!!!! We live in Halifax, and just wanted a night out! I have a feeling we will be having a few nights out after this experience. Thank you

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fredie657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (750)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

521 - 527 of 750 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

As part of a Christmas season treat, my wife and I stayed overnight in a suite with a fireplace, and couldn't have asked for a better night. This was no remote-control blue-flame mini-wall, but a traditional grate and stone hearth. There's nothing like a snowy Canadian winter night with a fire burning in a lovely room. Before heading up for the night we had an amazing meal at the attached restaurant, Stories. Check-in staff was friendly and helpful too.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FreelyReleased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Superb hotel, very well located but in calm area. Spacious and well designed rooms. Very confortable and impeccable service and staff.
Very generous free continental breakfast. Very nice ambiance.
The free parking is appreciated.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank JFrancois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed there for two night in October. We were in the main building, no elevators/lifts. The room was ok, we could open the window but the view out of it was not great. The amenities were fine no problems. The breakfast was continental and very good with homemade muffins and cakes. The location was great easy walking distance to most places in Halifax. The restaurant The Stories was very very good, we enjoyed that the best. I think was well worth the stay but again if stairs are a problem then not for you.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank AneleW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Been here twice in the past 8 months - March and November. Both times the staff have been friendly, efficient, and accommodating. Rooms are ample, comfortable. Breakfast is plentiful. Parking is included. Close to everything downtown - universities, Historic properties, museums. Citadel, train stations. Home to Stories, one of the finest restaurants in Eastern Canada.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms at the front of the hotel can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelsWithKECA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The Halliburton House was recommended by a place we'd stayed in Baddeck, Cape Breton, so we followed their lead with little disappointment. The location was "half way up the hill" with easy access to the port and boardwalk (downhill), and a strenuous but comfortable, slow climb (or cab ride) to the Citadel. Converted brownstones, we loved the creaky floors and the large, wood banisters, although an elevator would have been helpful - but they have "strapping young lads" available to help with your luggage. Our suite (consisting of a living room, bedroom, a wet bar, and a full bath) was small but comfortable, despite the coffee table that couldn't keep its "feet" attached if moved only an inch or the badly bruised desk that looked like it might have been part of some family roller derby. We weren't disappointed with our comfort or the service during our three night stay but we might seek out another venue, just for variety, the next time around.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDWBridgehampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We chose Halliburton House because of its history and based on some previous recommendations is various magazines. We, sadly, ignored the many negative reviews in Trip Advisor.
We arrived late in the afternoon, checked in, then asked for a dinner recommendation. The desk clerk, who also presented herself as a concierge, told us just to walk along the waterfront, and we would find both a restaurant and the Tourist Information Center. When we asked how late the information center was open, she said that they stayed open at least till 8. We took her advice, and found a closed information center closed (at 5). The restaurants we had to choose from on the waterfront were noisy, crowded, or very formal. Since all we wanted after a day of traveling was a nice, quiet pub, we kept prowling the waterfront, and finally ended up at a steak/sushi place, which was OK, but not what we were looking for.
The next day, we spoke to another staff member, who did give us excellent recommendations both for restaurants and the Harbor Hopper tour, which we found enjoyable and informative. The pub she recommended, where we ate that evening, was exactly what we wanted, and only two blocks away.
We do not understand why this establishment could not supply a list of restaurants, and, perhaps, even menus to peruse. This is a common practice, and should not be so very difficult.
In addition, while our room way clean and charming, the balcony off the room was dirty. There was leaf litter on it, which may have been excusable, since it was September. In addition, there was a wad of used tissues which, after exposure to the elements, was firmly ground into the surface. We requested cleaning on our first night, but the cleaning was never done (we stayed three nights).
The continental breakfast was so-so. The breads were fresh and tasty, and there was a toaster. The breakfast rooms were small, and crowded. The staff tried to hustle to keep up, but it did not compare well to Hampton Inn.
The location was a bit of a walk, and the neighborhood appears to be struggling. It would certainly have been worth the walk if the accommodations had been worth the price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skitrips56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#4 of 28 in Halifax
3,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South End
Waverley Inn
Waverley Inn
#12 of 28 in Halifax
576 reviews
The Westin Nova Scotian
#15 of 28 in Halifax
1,848 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Halliburton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Halliburton

Address: 5184 Morris St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#8 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: £85 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Halliburton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Halifax’s historic boutique hotel. The Halliburton features signature dining and individually appointed guest rooms in a trio of heritage townhouses. A favorite downtown retreat for visitors and locals alike, The Halliburton offers a unique four-star hotel experience; a blend of contemporary amenities and personalized service in a historic setting. 'Stories' restaurant offers inventive regional cuisine in intimate dining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Halliburton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Halliburton Hotel Halifax
Halliburton Hotel Halifax
Halliburton Halifax
The Halliburton Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing