We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Halliburton
Nearby Hotels
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$240
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$254
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$231
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cambridge Suites - Halifax(Halifax)
US$273
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$252
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Coastal Inn Halifax(Halifax)(Great Value!)
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake(Halifax)(Great Value!)
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$373
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$365
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (758)
Filter reviews
758 results
Traveller rating
366
271
80
22
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
366
271
80
22
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingboutique hotelhalliburton housegrand suitegreat locationcontinental breakfastfree parkingno liftsmall hoteldowntown halifaxwithin walking distancemobility issuesthird flooryogurthard boiled eggsnova scotiasitting area
Filter
Updating list...
687 - 692 of 758 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2008

My husband and I booked two rooms at the Halliburton, one for us and one for my very senior parents. Upon arrival we learned that my parents were placed several floors from us, a concern due to their age and health. Well - the staff at the hotel were amazing. Though the hotel was fully booked, they jumped through hoops for us, coming up with a perfect arrangement, moving our luggage twice to available rooms, all with discretion and a very helpful attitude. What a delight, and in fact a surprise these days!

Our rooms were nice - attractive, clean, and the breakfasts were hearty, but the thing that will bring us back to the Halliburton is it's kind and extraordinary service.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TorontoStargazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2008

We stayed for 4 nights in July during a month long trip of Quebec and Nova Scotia. We were very warmly and efficiently welcomed at the start and offered help with our luggage to our room which was in first annexe. We felt the room was an adequate size, well air conditioned with eveything we needed. We had a small balcony looking over the garden and with our room to the back got no outside noise.There was a fair bit of noise from other guests going up and down stairs but it did not really bother us.I would agree from other reviews that breakfast was a little uninspiring but adequate and we always were able to get a table. The use of internet in the library proved very useful for us.We ate dinner at the restaurant once( receiving small discount as a hotel guest) which was extremely good and professionaly served.We found the location to be very suitable for walking around Halifax- it is a very easy city to walk around.
We found a laundrette only about 10 mins walk away ( down past the rail station ) to catch up with our laundry wthout paying hotel laundry costs.We enjoyed good pub food in Henry's just round the corner and we would definitely recommend a meal at McKelvie's( about a 15min walk )
Overall I would say our stay at the Hallibrton was very enjoyable and made a good base for exploring Halifax.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank randbcraib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2008

My husband and I were so impressed with The Halliburton. It is located right downtown Halifax in a great location for shopping, visiting the Citadel, Pier 21, and many other great things in Halifax.
Our room was in the Pryor-Binney building and it was just perfect. We had a balcony overlooking the lovely garden/seating area that was just so relaxing. The room was clean, spacious, and the bed was incredibly comfortable. The front desk staff were very helpful and provided us with some great information for things to see and places to visit. We were very impressed with the friendly, courteous service.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 052706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2008

August, 2008

The Halliburton

A jewel of civility on a quiet street in downtown Halifax.

The words superb staff are often overworked in the world of travel and tourism. The staff at The Halliburton take a charming, multi-building inn to a level of accommodation excellence not found that often in the new millennium. In a city of courteous and friendly people, the staff of The Halliburton stand out as bright lights in providing top-notch service, assistance and information.

Rooms are most pleasant with latest needs, including flat screen television set.

The well-regarded restaurant serves fine fare, including some unique items we had not come across before. A classic example would be the warm lamb salad.

The inn is spotless and offers a restful green-lawned "back yard" to peruse a daily newspaper and morning coffee or to take a pre-dinner drink.

The breakfast is well thought out with the added touch of the finest of bagels offering - Montreal bagels. That is an extra-mile touch.

We will return. The Halliburton is an integral part of Halifax, a city of charm and warmth that reaches into the daily workings of this fine inn.

Neil MacPhail/Susan MacPhail

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank OntarioTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2008

We stayed at the Halliburton for two nights and enjoyed our stay. The check-in staff were very friendly and helpful.
Our room was on the second floor up some narrow stairs which made getting to it with luggage a little awkward. I would agree with other reviews that the rooms could have been a bit bigger and ours had an air conditioning unit in it that meant the window always had to be open so you got some noise from outside.
The breakfast was a good spread but there were not many tables.
The hotel was ideally located to explore the city which we did on foot.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Travelgirl064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews