We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Romantic Getaway in Halifax”
Review of The Halliburton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Halliburton
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
New Brunswick, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Best Romantic Getaway in Halifax”
Reviewed 25 October 2009

I took my wife to Halifax for her Birthday for 3 days. We have been to Halifax a few times and stayed at the Prince George Hotel. This time it was just a romantic weekend with no set plans. Wanting something different than the standard hotel room we chose the Halliburton. We stayed in the Grand Suite and got the Do Not Disturb package which gave fresh flowers, bottle of wine, and cheese/chocolates/fruit in the room when we arrived.

The hotel itself is beautiful and has had a lot of work put into keeping it that way. Everyone we talked to was extremely friendly and willing to help us. They have movies available in the lobby to take back to your room as well as a computer with internet access. There is also free wireless available throughout the hotel.

The room we stayed in was amazing. It had a large sitting room with a TV, fireplace, bar, and couch and chair. The bedroom had a King bed and lots of room for clothes in the armoir and dressers. The bathroom had a shower stall big enough for two with two shower heads in it. There was alos a 2 person air-jet tub, which was very nice.

We had a few fires throughout the weekend and had no problems getting firelogs for them, they left one every morning and when I called for more it was there within 5 minutes.

The Bearly's pub is behind the hotel but being fall and a rainy weekend all of the hotel windows were closed as well as the doors to the pub so we didn;t really hear any music from it, not sure if it would be louder in the summer.

This was by far the best weekend we have had in a while and the best hotel we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    231
    70
    21
    16
See reviews for
60
418
45
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Castlegar, B.C.,
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2009

We spent 2 nights at the Halliburton Inn. It is located on a busy street and a bar just outside the back alley. The first night was horrible. The noise went on until 4:00 am. Then it was quiet until the traffic started at about 06:00 am. When we first made our reservation, I specifically asked for a quiet suite because a lot of reviews said that it was noisy. When we arrived, they gave us a third floor suite directly above the busy street. We complained in the morning and were put in another suite. Much better for noise. The location is great for site seeing the downtown area by foot. It is close to all amenities and the restuarant is ok. Not great but ok. We definately had better during our trip to the Maritimes

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gpopoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nova scotia
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2009

Booked the romance package... amazing fruit/cheese etc.. and champagne welcome. Beds were perfect. Loved the downtown location to walk to restaurants. Best choice in the city.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apple0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2009

We rolled into Halifax late on a Sat. afternoon with no reservations anywhere but with help from the Tourist Bureau we landed at this hotel. It is truly an elegant, comfortable, and quite lovely establishment. Breakfast was continental (good for a calorie-conscious traveler) and the coffee terrific. I loved the computer in the library that enabled me to keep in touch with family back in the states (our cell phones received no coverage). I have put this hotel among my top 5 favorites!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2009

We stayed 2 nights on a touring trip of Canada. We arrived early, and although our allocated room was not ready we were offered a smaller alternative immediately. With hindsight we should probably have waited for the larger room, as we found our back room in the building next door rather small (and a little dark), but it had a small balcony, which was a nice touch. It was also very peaceful (although we could see the pub referred to elsewhere it did not cause us any inconvenience at all). We liked the location very much - an easy stroll from the centre, waterfront and pier 21, and close to restaurants and bars. The staff were friendly and attentive. Late on our second afternoon we greatly enjoyed wine and small plates in the very nice garden - the food was really excellent and we were disappointed that the restaurant was not open later that evening, as we would love to have eaten there.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAW51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2009

We arrived late on the 30th of June and stayed for two nights. Our room was great, the staff were great, the breakfast was ok, but hey...it was included.

We would definately stay there on our next trip to Halifax.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldwilc32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2009

This hotel is a gem. While my colleaguest stayed at a nondescript chain, I relaxed in space and comfort at the Halliburton. My room was enormous and had a queen bed, very large sitting area with a full size sofa and arm chairs, a desk with *free* high speed internet, and a nice bathroom. Breakfast is included in the room rate. It's not a full cooked breakfast but there are lots of things to choose from. Stories, the dining room, was highly recommended and did not disappoint. The hotel is very close to Dalhousie University and a short walk to downtown Halifax. There is also a great coffee shop on the corner called The Wired Monk. When I return to Halifax I will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,859 reviews
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Halliburton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Halliburton

Property: The Halliburton
Address: 5184 Morris St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#8 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Halliburton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Halifax’s historic boutique hotel. The Halliburton features signature dining and individually appointed guest rooms in a trio of heritage townhouses. A favorite downtown retreat for visitors and locals alike, The Halliburton offers a unique four-star hotel experience; a blend of contemporary amenities and personalized service in a historic setting. 'Stories' restaurant offers inventive regional cuisine in intimate dining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Halliburton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Halliburton Hotel Halifax
Halliburton Hotel Halifax
Halliburton Halifax
The Halliburton Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing