We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Halliburton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Halliburton
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Farnborough, Hampshire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Amazing Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2010

We stayed at this delightful boutique hotel in Halifax and look forward to our return visit. The staff are excellent; highly professional, friendly and helpful. Our room was immaculately cleaned and well appointed. It was spacious and the bed was comfy. Nothing was too much trouble and the fresh flowers in the reception area and drawing room were lovely. The breakfast was tasty, fresh ingredients and great coffee. The hotel is within walking distance to the waterfront and Spring Garden/Downtown shops, eateries and entertainment. We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oceanangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    210
    62
    21
    13
See reviews for
56
383
42
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2010

I was in Halifax for 5 days attending a conference and stayed at the Halliburton. It was a delight. My room resembled my first apartment in New York city, except I think it (the room) was larger. The staff was wonderful!!! I asked for directions to a cemetery I wanted to visit on the weekend, and the girl at the front desk not only looked it up, but had printouts with directions and bus schedules for me the next day. I ordered room service three nights. The food delivered by Stories was incomparable. The crab cakes are to die for, as are the scallops, and the goat cheese. My taste buds are tingling just thinking about it. I have to admit I wasn't expecting much out of a small hotel, and I was more than pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrJGToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2010

Well located, within walking distance of shops, restaurants and tourist attractions. No need to leave the premises for an elegant meal. The dining room at the inn is great! One of the best in Halifax.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jh492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2010

don't stay on the street level, Halifax can be a bit of a party town. get up for the free breaky, if you tired , go back to bed later, there is always something to do at night.
Parking is tight, but very safe. you are in a safe area. trust me. Plan a day trip to Crystal Cresent Beach. (40 min drive, but worth it.) only rent a car when you go out of town, you do not need a car in Halifax. If you rent a car, you can do Peggy's in the morning and CCB in the afternoon. You can wear cloths on the nudie, but no cameras .

take care, we'll see you there :-)

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prettyboypreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2010

This small hotel is a treat to stay at - large, well decorated rooms that reflect the age/character of the hotel. The staff are warm, friendly and full of information. It is quiet while being just a couple of blocks from the waterfront, downtown and close to the Halifax university community. There is a comfortable sitting room to read the paper before a fire and the self serve breakfast has everything you need. I haven't had the opportunity to have dinner, but have no doubt food/service will be sublime. This is my fourth stay and I will continue to think of the Inn as home in Halifax.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FerrisToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olargues, France
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2010

I've stayed three times at The Halliburton and always recommend it to friends who are looking to book a room in Halifax. And they are always delighted. The staff are extremely friendly and thoughtful. There is free parking in a lot directly behind the hotel, which, as others have mentioned is a series of 19th-century townhouses.

Rooms tend to be small, but are cozy feeling rather than cramped, with solid, reproduction antique furnishings of high quality. Lush fabrics lend to the beauty of the rooms. Bathrooms are well thought-out and supplied with thick towels and upscale toiletries.

The ample, attractively laid-out, self-service continental breakfast is available off the lobby in Stories, one of Halifax's highest-rated dining establishments. There are complimentary newspapers to enjoy while having breakfast.

In the library a welcoming fire burns in the fireplace and there is a computer that guests may use at no charge.

For those looking for a boutique hotel with charm, personality and a friendly, helpful staff, you can't make a better choice than The Halliburton.

Stayed June 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank Tattnall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2010

From our check-in to the check-out everything and everyone was terrific. We chose to spend New Years Eve here and had our dinner at Stories to make it convenient. We (7 adults, 2 children) were seated in our own private dining room that set the stage for a wonderful celebratory meal. We must give huge thanks to the Chef and servers at Stories who made sure that the kids, were well looked after with the chicken nuggets and many other attempts to meet their very picky eating needs. They especially liked the crayons and paper that arrived just in time before their meal. We also very much enjoyed the diverse and delicious menu. The bison and Black Rock blue cheese were highlights!
We were given rooms all on the same floor which made it perfect for going in and out to get whatever we needed or to make a quick change or take a rest. The double rooms are described as "Small with one double bed" so I was expecting more of a European style room but when we arrived we found the room to be filled with lovely antique furniture and the double bed but with plenty of room to move around and unpack. The bathroom in one of the rooms was huge and even had a window!
We borrowed a DVD for the kids and it was no problem - we just went to the library downstairs and picked one we liked - reception offered us a DVD player as well but we had our own. A warm fire was always burning which reflected nicely the warm hospitality and friendliness of everyone we encountered during our stay. They know how to treat people and make them feel welcome.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nscmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,660 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South End
Waverley Inn
Waverley Inn
#12 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Halliburton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Halliburton

Property: The Halliburton
Address: 5184 Morris St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#8 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Halliburton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Halifax’s historic boutique hotel. The Halliburton features signature dining and individually appointed guest rooms in a trio of heritage townhouses. A favorite downtown retreat for visitors and locals alike, The Halliburton offers a unique four-star hotel experience; a blend of contemporary amenities and personalized service in a historic setting. 'Stories' restaurant offers inventive regional cuisine in intimate dining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your The Halliburton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Halliburton Hotel Halifax
Halliburton Hotel Halifax
Halliburton Halifax
The Halliburton Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing