We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IT WOULD NOT BE HALIFAX WITHOUT THE WAVERLY INN”
Review of Waverley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waverley Inn
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2011

What a nice place to stay. Where do we begin. Let us see. The room was grand; the food was excellent; the snacks outside the door were homemade; the tea and coffee was hot; the room was very clean, the location can not be beat; everything is in walking distance. Most of all, the kind and courteous staff that attended the welcome desk are among the sweetest and kindest "Maritimer's" we have met and we have met many "maritimer's" who share the same warm and kind personalities. Truely a remarkable people who populate this area of Canada. CARING & KIND!!

Stay at the Waverly. You will not be disappointed.

Having said all of that, be prepared to pay the price. The Waverly Inn is not cheap but considering all that is offered--it is worth the premium price. The Waverly Inn is not for the budget traveller. That is a shame because everyone should have the opportunity to experience all of Halifax and the Waverly is within 15 minutes walking distance with the exception of Fairview Cemetery where the "TITANIC" drowning victims are interred.

Fairview is an experience one would not want to miss and is a ten minute drive from the Waverly Inn. Be careful. Finding this cemetery is dangerous in traffic and it's entrance is poorly marked.

Suggest travellers reserve in advance and get the best rooms upstairs--but, they are also more expensive. Go for it!! It may be your only chance to see the wonderful city and great people of Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada.

Room Tip: Any room but upstairs is the best and therefore the most pricey!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tigerpaw16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (571)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

421 - 427 of 571 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed at the Waverley for two nights and very much enjoyed our time there. This intimate hotel is a very special place as the public spaces and guest-rooms are very nicely appointed with antique furniture and the whole building exudes Victorian charme.
We were upgraded to a Premier Room which was very spacious and featured a whirlpool-bathtub. What a treat.
The Waverley has plenty of free parking space for guests and is well-located for exploring Halifax on foot. The free wireless internet-access was most welcome.
The only disappointment was breakfast: the breakfast room in the basement is much less charming than the rest of the hotel and the items offered include eggs, hash-brown and sausages as well as a continental selection but the quality of the food is average at best and therefore doesn't live up to the hotel's standard. In a city like Halifax it's not necessary for a hotel to include breakfast in the room-rate but if they do then it should enhance the guests experience. I would have happily traded in that complimentary breakfast for a friendly recommendation of a place to have a good breakfast nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We spent 2 days/nights at the Waverly Inn using it as our central location to re-discover Halifax and Dartmouth. Location was fine as it allowed us to walk to all the major points of tourist interest in Halfiax such as the Historic Properties, the Citadel etc. Room accommodation was fine as it was an historical building with a lot of character. Plenty of parking if traveling about Halifax and outlining area via car. The registration desk attendants were helpful and answered all our questions. Access to two computers/internet was very helpful and ideal in planning the rremainder of your Nova Scotia trip. They recommended the local pub - the Henry House which did not disappoint in any aspect. Great food! Great beer! Great service! A great historical atmosphere to enjoy good food, good conversation and a moment to reflect on our Halifax visit. The 'breakfast' part of the B&B package was disappointing and we would not recommend it. The hot and cold breakfast was a disappointment. Possibly they may wish to improve on this feature in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AuntMGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Lovely old building, lovingly and carefully restored. Lovely sitting room and tea and coffee ready all day long.
Good location and welcoming staff. Well equipped and interesting history.

Rooms were lovely and well provided for considering it is an old building.
breakfast adequate if not overtly exciting but plenty of it, both hot and cold.
Helpful staff about where to go etc.
Plenty of parking space and good base for Halifax.
No lift so be wary if stairs are a challenge for you but when I booked staff were good at asking if it was OK to be on 2nd or 3rd fl.
Very good stay, we enjoyed it.

Room Tip: No elevator, so be fit for the stairs though they help with luggage.rooms on street side can be nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill35dg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Stayed two nights - had a standard room on the 3rd floor. We were extremely happy with this hotel. The room was filled with antiques and even had a skylight. The bed was comfortable and we appreciated the V pillow for sitting in bed. Free parking and free wifi! The hotel staff were so helpful - we had to checkout very early to make our flight - before breakfast was served, so the staff made sure we knew that muffins would be available. The common areas were beautiful, the breakfasts were very nice. Two complaints: the floor in our room slanted significantly, probably because the hotel is so old and there was no elevator. But that wouldn't stop us from staying here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MinnihahaMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Our family of three stayed 2 nights at the Waverley Inn in July and wished we could have stayed longer. It was our favourite hotel of the 9 we stayed in on our 24 day trip. From the foyer to our room it was just beautiful, and we felt like we were welcomed into someones antique-filled home. The beds were very comfortable, and we enjoyed the breakfast each morning. The hotel is a short walk from the waterfront, and even in the cold Halifax rain we didn't mind the walk! Thanks for a memorable stay, very different from anything we have experienced in Australia!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyGigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We just returned from a 2 night stay in Halifax's Waverley Inn. We had 3 rooms, 2 having queen sized beds, and the 3rd having a king size bed. All rooms were beautiful, clean, well stocked, and each room was unique in it's decor. Breakfast was great each morning, and staff was wonderful. Location was walking distance to all things we wanted to do in downtown Halifax. Staff were very friendly and helpful when choosing restaurants and attractions. Would highly recommend this place!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OntarioCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
3,026 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Halliburton
#10 of 28 in Halifax
702 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waverley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waverley Inn

Address: 1266 Barrington St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1Y5, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > South End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#10 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: £75 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waverley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored and centrally located inn close to all of downtown Halifax's major attractions. Thirty-four antique-filled rooms all with en-suite bath, many with Jacuzzi. A non-smoking property offering free parking, continental-plus breakfast buffet and high-speed wireless. History and hospitality join hands at Halifax's Waverley Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waverley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Hotel Halifax
Waverley Inn Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing