We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Waverley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waverley Inn
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Nice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

The Waverly Inn is a lovely elegant hotel. We had stayed there twice before and we certainly will stay there again. We had chosen one of the most inexpensive rooms (Traditional). It was very small, but there was lots of nice little extras and we were just there for one night.Parking was convenient and the front desk staff was pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was a little disappointing, but adequate. Next time we'll stay more than one night and opt for a Standard or Deluxe room.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jojo0413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    207
    63
    12
    4
See reviews for
52
298
45
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

The Waverley Inn is an Medium class hotel at best , nice elegant furnishings and common areas. The parking is good and allows you to park there and walk around the area easily. The breakfast was disappointing, choice pretty limited.
Our room whilst a large double bedded room ( our request), was sadly on the front of the hotel & the noise from across the road prevented any sleep until the early hours, thus would suggest that anyone who is not a night owl requests a room at the rear of the hotel.
The reception staff during the day were good, i do however have some concerns over the suitability of one character when returning post dinner one evening.

Room Tip: You must ask for a room at the rear or put up with excessive noise from the bars & clubs acrosss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rogandrose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

The Waverley Inn is a lovely hotel, with elegant furnishings and common areas. The hotel staff were very helpful with area sites & meal suggestions. The parking is very convenient and allows you to park there and walk around the major sites easily. The breakfast was disappointing, there were a large number of diners on a Sunday morning with very little available food so we were left to find our own breakfast offsite.

I would return to the Waverley on another occasion but would ask for a room that doesn't face the main street - the music from the bar across the street could be heard well into the wee hours of the morning.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dpl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

The Waverley Inn has a lot going for it: a great walkable location, friendly, very helpful staff, comfy queen bed, cleanliness, and our room wasn't small. But it fell short on the most basic requirements: reasonable quiet and ventilation. Our stay was only one night in early September. The outside air was pleasantly cool, so we opened the window. That let in not only air but a loud mechanical hum, with an intermittent and even louder blowing sound that cycled every 8 - 11 seconds. So we closed the window and tried the air conditioner. The roar was like being in a jet plane. There was an overhead fan, but it emitted a high-pitched whine, and was hooked up to the main light switch, so it didn't work unless the lights were on.

This was room 101, next to the front desk. I don't know about other rooms, but this one should not be given to hotel guests.

Room Tip: Avoid room 101 and inquire about AC noise and ventilation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arlanza707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gouda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
122 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

I booked the most basic room and asked for a quiet room. I ended up witha small but great room. I simply loved the fourposter bed, the free WiFi and the simple but tasty breakfast. (Juice, toasted bagel, scrambled eggs, bacon and toast with jam ticked all the boxes). Very friendly staff at check in. I arrived very early and they arranged for my backpack to be brought to my room as soon as it was ready, so I could spend the day exploring the city

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DutchLassie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TX
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

The hotel is charmingly restored to the Victoria times. The furnishings and carpets seem to be authentic yet pretty comfortable. The room was very small and the bathroom tiny, but it is a very old hotel; and it was fine as we stayed only one night. The desk clerk was extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast was just average but sufficient.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shbTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

This is a great inn with a great location for those visiting downtown Halifax. The staff members helped us a lot with suggestions. The rooms are comfortable--nothing elaborate or fancy, but clean and appointed nicely.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whisperfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
The Halliburton
#7 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waverley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waverley Inn

Property: Waverley Inn
Address: 1266 Barrington St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1Y5, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > South End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#10 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Waverley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored and centrally located inn close to all of downtown Halifax's major attractions. Thirty-four antique-filled rooms all with en-suite bath, many with Jacuzzi. A non-smoking property offering free parking, continental-plus breakfast buffet and high-speed wireless. History and hospitality join hands at Halifax's Waverley Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waverley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Hotel Halifax
Waverley Inn Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing