We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Waverley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waverley Inn
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2012

My wife and I had a wonderful 6 day stay at The wavely Inn. The hotel is charming and a world away from the normal chain business hotel. The furnishings are generally "antique" and fit in well with the decorative style adopted.
The staff are friendly, courteous and helpful.
There are a number of nice touches such as the tea and coffee in the lobby and the afternoon snacks.
The hotel is an easy walk away from the train station, sea front, shops and museums.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PickyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 576 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2012

we stayed in the waverley for two nights last summer during our brief stop in halifax. it was a last minute decision and we picked the bed & breakfast because it was close by. we were thrilled we made the choice. the building is absolutely beautiful and the staff are beyond awesome.

our room was a tiny space with a double bed on the main floor. no complaints though, the room and bathroom were spotless and very comforting.

the morning breakfast was a delight and had a very good spread with many options. there is also free coffee and cookies during the afternoon in the main lobby (just another sweet treat from the staff).

next time i return, there is no doubt - we will stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kristenlatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Surely one of the most beautiful properties in Halifax, The Waverley Inn is in a great location near the VIA Rail station and decent pubs and restaurants. The Maritime Museum and other attractions are a short walk away along the waterfront. But you'll be hard-pressed leaving your room - it was quite cold to my comfort level in Halifax when I visited and the Waverley Inn's room were really nice and cosy. The rooms are exquisite and show a wonderful flair for decorating. Even the Traditional Room is lovely, although I did take a peek at one of the majestic Premier Rooms, with a bed so high and plush it had a little wooden stepladder next to it! My Traditional Room was just right for me and my budget and provided a really good nights sleep with WiFi access available and a hearty breakfast included downstairs the next morning.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda_since_1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We stayed at the Waverley Inn in Halifax, NS for four nights. Our first room was small, and the air conditioner was extremely noisy, even when only the fan was running. We put up with it for three nights, but finally asked the managment to move us to another room. To their credit, they moved us across the hall to a much nicer and larger room with a quieter AC. When we were billed, they gave us a $25 credit for "move inconvenience" which was unexpected and appreciated.

The inn itself is very well located close to all downtown amenities by walking. It is very ornate and has good Wi-Fi both in the lobby and the rooms. The parking is free and stalls are usually available (we had no problem during our stay parking there).

We thought the room charge of $170/night was a little pricey (the most we paid on our Eastern Canada trip), but everything in Halifax is pricey. The rooms need updating, and the antiques need to be better coordinated and not broken down.

We are not sure if we would stay at the Waverley if we revisit Halifax. It is possible we might find a better inn near downtown for a lower price.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the first floor. There is no elevator to the upper floors. If you have a mob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We booked four rooms here with our friends and family and were very pleased with the experience. The sense of history and the interesting details here kept us very engaged. We found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful in all areas: front desk, housekeeping, breakfast room. Our room on the ground floor was very pleasant with a "heavenly" bed, large jacuzzi, fireplace, antique marble-topped furniture. Free wi-fi and parking was a nice inclusion that other hotels charge for. Our daughter and grandson dropped by our room and staff was again very helpful to make our baby welcome! Afternoon "tea" is available in the lobby and staff brought out freshly-baked banana bread. Our breakfast in the morning was also very satisfying: juice, tea, coffee, toast, bagels, muffins, boiled eggs, ham, hash browns, beans, pancakes. We also enjoyed the doll-house model of The Waverley in the breakfast room as well as the many original watercolours by talented local artists. We were walking-distance-close to the waterfront , and historical sites, and restaurants including Talay Thai restaurant and we took full advantage of this. We would definitely stay here again. There are a number of rooms on several floors with varied amenities so rates reflect this.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValleyCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Our expectations for breakfast were not met, as the food was mediocre and service not terrific. Front desk service was excellent. Rooms are clean, but small and not sound proof from hall or neighbouring rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for room on second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula580419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We recently styaed here for 6 nights and enjoyed the stay. The prices were steep because of a Tom Petty concert going on in the city so not a lot of choice available for a consecutive stay. The room we had on the ground floor was fine with its Victorian'esque decor. Hardwood floors throughout do make for a noisy building but once you accept that then you do not mind the elephants at night moving furniture about. The breakfast is very basic but it does at least set you up for the day and coffee is always available at the reception area. Wifi worked. Location is not quite downtown but it is close enough to everything. I would recommend the Ginger Grass restaurant next door and also the Henry House pub. The Henry House pub has a fine selection of UK type ales and the staff are friendly. I would stay here again but only with a discounted rate.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pubcyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
The Halliburton
#10 of 28 in Halifax
738 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
3,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waverley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waverley Inn

Address: 1266 Barrington St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1Y5, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > South End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Halifax
#9 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: £62 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waverley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored and centrally located inn close to all of downtown Halifax's major attractions. Thirty-four antique-filled rooms all with en-suite bath, many with Jacuzzi. A non-smoking property offering free parking, continental-plus breakfast buffet and high-speed wireless. History and hospitality join hands at Halifax's Waverley Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waverley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Hotel Halifax
Waverley Inn Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing