We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best accommodation in downtown Halifax”
Review of Waverley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waverley Inn
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I have been staying at the Halifax Waverley Inn for around ten years now. It's not so much as an inn, but a home from home. All the staff are extremely friendly.
Unlike many other downtown hotels, it has free WiFi, free car parking, hot buffet breakfast is included, and there is a continual supply of coffee or tea in the lobby and cakes and cookies.

The inn is two blocks from the waterfront, and about 10min walk from Spring Gardens shops. It's also very close to the Henry House which is ideal for evening meals.

All the rooms are furnished with antiques and tastefully decorated.

An ideal place and ideal location, and wonderful staff.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
2  Thank andycambsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (571)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 571 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2012

A historical house with lots of period furniture and lovely rooms. We had a front room with two big and comfortable beds, however, it was a bit too full of heavy furniture so that we found it difficult to get all our stuff in. The reception was very friendly and helpful. The self-service breakfast was okay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mathilde K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

My husband and I spent 1 night in this beautiful charming hotel centrally located in downtown Halifax at walking distance to all touristic spot.
A victorian mansion, with antique furniture and carpets everywhere. Their internet advertising is really showing the real truth.
Personnel were very friendly and helpul.
Our room, on second floor was very quiet even if located on the front of the Inn.
Complimentary tea and coffee were at guests disposal 24/24 on ground floor near reception as well as a confortable sitting area with internet point.
Continental breakfast included in the rate

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LB_1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We spent two nights at the Waverley August 2012. The Inn was full and our room was right next to the checkin but we only heard other guests twice. The room was lovely and very clean. We had no problems with the wifi, I was pleased with the quality of the toiletries, free parking was a bonus. Perhaps the only thing I might complain about was the breakfast. It could have been better... maybe muffins instead of stale croissants?
The staff at the checkin were friendly and helpful. If you are there in the heat of summer, be aware that the air conditioner was very noisy.

Room Tip: There are stairs you need to climb if you are not on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lise1928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

My husband and I stayed two nights in August 2012. Our room was on the third floor with a double bed, dresser, television and ensuite three piece bath. The wi-fi access was a bit dodgy, but there is free access to computers in the lobby. The inn is beautiful and full of antiques. The breakfast room is in the basement and both mornings we did have to wait for food to be refilled at the buffet table, but as we were on holiday, there was no hurry. There are not any elevators, so if you unable to take several flights of stairs, I would not recommend this inn for your stay. Staff at the front desk were very helpful. Rate for our room was significantly lower than any hotel in downtown Halifax and we were walking distance to all of the downtown. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorkToTravel_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stayed 4 nights at the Waverley Inn in Halifax. It was a very pleasant stay.

It is a very old house/building. Our first impression walking in the place was WOW!!!!!
It is so beautiful. You think you just entered an old castle or a museum with beautiful decoration all over the place.

On the positive side. The place is very clean and beautiful. The bed was comfortable. The staff is very courteous. There is coffee available and free 24 hours on the first floor. The location is great, right downtown.

On the negative side. We stayed 4 nights at the Waverley and the breakfast was included. There were not many choices and every day, we had the same thing. It was hard boiled egg day after day. You would think they could have done at least scambled eggs for a change. The room was beautiful and well decorated but very small. Not a lot of place to put your luggages. No extra table to put your laptop. Had to put the laptop on the bed and be on my knees beside the bed, not too comfortable. Maybe they have bigger rooms but the one we had was very small.

On the scary side. The floors were very slanted. I guess you have to expect that in a very old house, but I have to admit that I was not too comfortable with this at the beginning. I was afraid that the place would fall down.

Would I go there again? Probably not.

Room Tip: Ask if they have rooms with a table so at least you can put your laptop on instead of on the bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stayed in a spacious, charming room on second floor full of antiques. The location is great, but the overall breakfast experience definitely needs improvement. The breakfast room is dark, plain and unwelcoming and the food is average quality, with limited choices. This element is detrimental to the overall customer experience. Our strong advice is to make an effort and upgrade it to a higher standard.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IsabellaP558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
3,028 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Halliburton
#10 of 28 in Halifax
703 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waverley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waverley Inn

Address: 1266 Barrington St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1Y5, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > South End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#10 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: £76 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waverley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored and centrally located inn close to all of downtown Halifax's major attractions. Thirty-four antique-filled rooms all with en-suite bath, many with Jacuzzi. A non-smoking property offering free parking, continental-plus breakfast buffet and high-speed wireless. History and hospitality join hands at Halifax's Waverley Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Waverley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Hotel Halifax
Waverley Inn Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing