We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Value”
Review of Waverley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waverley Inn
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Location and Value”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

My parents and I enjoyed our stay at the Waverly Inn. The location was central and convenient. The breakfast was nice and the room was comfortable. Definitely recommend this location for a stay in Halifax.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RForbes300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    211
    65
    13
    4
See reviews for
53
303
46
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
TORONTO
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Waverley Inn was a great inn and I would certainly stay here again. The location is perfect and is within a 10 minute walk to everything downtown Halifax has to offer. Upon check in the nice young man at the counter (always dressed in a nice brightly coloured shirt) was of excellent help for pub, restaurant and attraction suggestions and was helpful in arranging for a second nights stay at the inn on last minute notice. I wish I got his name because he was outstanding (Waverly please take note... he was at the desk @ 7pm Oct. 3)

The main floor of the inn has a little lobby area with some sofas and access to a computer/internet and printer (complimentary). There is also a coffee/tea/treat station (also complimentary). Plenty of onsite parking is available (free).

The inn is rich with history with name placards of historically significant people who have stayed at the inn (Oscar Wilde, PT Barnum among others) on each door. The maids were nice enough to let me poke my head into the Oscar Wilde room after it was cleaned (the previous guest had checked out). There was a nice portrait of him in the room and a beautiful map laminated on the desk). My room was spacious, in good repair, and pretty clean. It had the right balance of old world charm and modernity. Some things were starting to get tired (bathroom) but only slightly.

The inn doors are locked at 11pm and you need to buzz to be let in by the person at the front desk. At first I thought this was annoying but on reflection it keeps excellent control of who's coming into the inn.

One thing I did not like was the included breakfast. Premade frozen pancakes, thick slices of processed ham (not deli slices), frozen hash browns, and hard boiled eggs everyday made for an unimaginative breakfast. There were also 2 types of cereal, a small selection of fresh fruit, tea/coffee, breads, muffins, 2 types of juice etc. were also available. I would have liked to see the selection lessened in favour of a little more effort/quality in the breakfast items. While the selection was technically better than a Continental breakfast, its execution was poor and therefore the benefit null.

Room Tip: For a little bit of history ask for the Oscar Wilde or Vanderbilt room. For a spacious and comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brennus0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deep River, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Our stay at the Waverley was very pleasant. Not a large room but quite adequate. We did not experience noise from the street - we had a side room. The buiding was so much more interesting than a cookie cutter type of modern hotel.Breakfast was adequate - a few more improvements could be made in order to bring the standard up.
The location is excellent and the staff worked hard to be as helpful as possible.

Room Tip: Choose a side room and not the smallest size if there are two persons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glmurraylea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

I stayed at the Waverly Hotel for 4 nights. The hotel is quaint, very old, lots of antiques, which gives the hotel character. The rooms indeed slope which is somewhat understandable, but my bed sloped as well, which was not a great hardship as I was traveling alone. If I had been with my husband we would have talked to the management about changing rooms.
The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful with suggestions of tours, etc. There were lots of umbrellas at the door to use if it was raining (which is was on several days).
The hotel is close to the pier and to the Citadel and within walking distance to lots of great restaurants, pubs and there is a blues bar across the street, that was fun to visit. Unfortunately the noise/music goes on well into the wee hours and can disturb your sleep.
I was not amazed by the breakfast that was included in the cost, but would be adequate for most.

Room Tip: As far away from the street as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adelle58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arans
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Excellent service with very friendly Staff in a central and ideal location downtown Halifax. This victorian house has been restored and decorated with taste. This Inn has lots of Character, breakfast is included and you can help yourself to complimentary tea and coffee

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parmengo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seguin, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night at the beginning of our vacation and two at the end. The positives are the staff (whom we found very helpful and nice), the location (which is ideal for downtown Halifax) and the free parking. The rooms are neutral. Ours was small but clean and adequate. It was what I expected in a converted Victorian home. The setting is quite nice overall but the rooms are what they are. The negative is the breakfast. It is a buffet of mostly unhealthy items without much quality. If you like hard boiled eggs, toast or bagels, and cereal, you are in luck. We typically get better breakfasts at B&Bs. There are very good restaurants nearby, as well as pubs and a blues club. However we do not notice any undue noise, we were there over a weekend. Overall, a good experience.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We stayed at this inn for two nights, only because it was the last nights of our vacation. Unfortunately, this inn was referred to us by the another B&B, which is also a member of "Unique Country Inns". Our room was on a slope, you actually felt that you were going to fall out of the bed. There was a blues bar across the street, which we could here until late, the traffic was extremely loud and you could here the city buses go by. There was no way you could have a quiet, peaceful sleep. The best part was when I checked out, she asked how I enjoyed our stay, I told her I didn't, I also mentioned that I completed the comment card, which stated my concerns and all she could say was that was too bad and charged me, the full price of the room. Seriously, if someone at the front desk, can't deal with complaints don't have them do that job. Never again.

Room Tip: Do not have a room in the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Realfoodmatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBlades, Manager at Waverley Inn, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Thank you for staying at the Waverley Inn and providing feedback regarding your stay. I am sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Our street facing rooms are susceptible to some street noise. Even though they are double glazed it is unavoidable in our downtown location. With a heritage property (c. 1865) we do have a few rooms with floors that slope by about 1/4 inch. It is noticable but not a significant concern for most guests. Some even feel it adds to the character of the property. If you had brought your concerns to us after your first night's stay we would have offered a solution to make your second night more comfortable. When I spoke to the front desk employee that handled your check out she mentioned that you did not state the details of your dissatisfaction only that you had completed the comment card and left it in the room. We try our best to offer fine hospitality and good customer service but in order for us to deliver on that commitment we need the opportunity to rectify your concerns prior to departure. We have a front desk staffed 24 hours per day that would and do gladly address any guest concerns. We hope you allow us the opportunity to demonstrate this on a future stay at the Waverley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
The Halliburton
#8 of 28 in Halifax
644 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waverley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waverley Inn

Property: Waverley Inn
Address: 1266 Barrington St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1Y5, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > South End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#10 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Waverley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored and centrally located inn close to all of downtown Halifax's major attractions. Thirty-four antique-filled rooms all with en-suite bath, many with Jacuzzi. A non-smoking property offering free parking, continental-plus breakfast buffet and high-speed wireless. History and hospitality join hands at Halifax's Waverley Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waverley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Hotel Halifax
Waverley Inn Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing