We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average accomodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Waverley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waverley Inn
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Iceland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average accomodation”
Reviewed 4 June 2008

Stayed there for 4 nights with my husband. Nice room but the antique bed was uncomfortable but very beautiful. Best thing about the room was the large bathtub (it is not a jacuzzi as their website claims) which was very nice.
It is close to the center about 5 minuets walk.
THe breakfast was OK, I may have expected more from all the reviews from this site.
The pancakes were not at all good and not much variety was on offer. The same things were on offer my long week-end.
So overall this is just an average B&B.

  • Liked — bathtub in bathroom
  • Disliked — uncomfortable bed
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank frqntfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    207
    63
    12
    4
See reviews for
52
298
45
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2008

We found the Waverly Inn by walking through Halifax and stopped in to check room availability for the night. The location is historic, having housed P.T. Barnum, Oscar Wilde, and the Vanderbilt's! The bed was a carved work of art, very ornate, matching the historic room decor. Although the room was small, it was comfortable, had everything we needed, and computers were even located in the lobby for our use. The reception desk was more than friendly and willing to suggest local bars and restaurants to visit. I would recommend the Waverly Inn to most everyone!

  • Liked — The rich history.
  • Disliked — Smaller rooms, view of parking lot.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MappyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2008

I stayed at this inn when I was in Halifax for a conference. The room, although a bit small was very comfortable and the inn is a great location in Halifax.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank Janie_pooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajvallis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2008

We love the Waverley. Located a quick walk from the waterfront, and crammed with history, antiques, charm and friendly service, staying at the Waverley feels like you're visiting friends for the weekend. The rooms are decorated with authentic period pieces, some original to the house. The beds were so comfortable I was contemplating how to sneak one out past the front desk :) The staff were more than accommodating, and really went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. Tea and cookies are available on a regular basis, not to mention a feast of a complimentary breakfast buffet. If you're looking for something to complain about, you might find the lack of elevator a nuisance, but the Waverley's other delights more than make up for it. It also doesn't hurt that the rates are below what you'd pay at your run of the mill corporate hotel in Halifax. A definite gem, not to be passed up.

  • Liked — the authentic antique charm and spectacular service
  • Disliked — no stairs!
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ajvallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2008

We stayed three nights at the Waverley for our honeymoon. It was really a nice place to stay! We came in on the VIA train, so it was a really short walk to the Waverley from the station. We had Deluxe Queen room for 2 nights and I think a Standard room the third night. The bed and the large jacuzzi in the deluxe queen room were excellent!! The breakfast room was great and the selection of breakfast food was very good. The two staff there worked endlessly all morning, keeping new breakfast food fresh on the table (including egg sandwiches and muffins and sausage and everything else). You can pick up the free FRED bus back at the train station or up Barrington street a block, otherwise the walk down to the waterfront is not bad (a bit uphill on the way back). We rented a car from Hertz at the VIA station, and that was nice and parking at the Waverley was good.

  • Liked — The decor was excellent
  • Disliked — For the area, the price was a bit higher than some
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank EFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2008

This was our second visit to this hotel (2 adults and a teenager). We stayed in a different room this time (our first visit was August 2005) but were not disappointed as it was equally as sumptious as the other time (even our teenage son was impressed by it!). There was plenty of room and the bathroom was adequate. The room and whole hotel was very clean and quiet and in a pleasant location about a 5/10 mins stroll from the sea front. The breakfast was buffet style but as much as you want and the best hit for our son was the unlimited free internet access (essential for keeping uptodate with cricket results) and the free coffee and tea and biscuits in the lobby.

  • Liked — The lovely rooms
  • Disliked — nothing at all
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsbluesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2007

I recently had the pleasure of staying two nights at the Waverley Inn. The staff was absolutely wonderful from check in to check out. All were friendly, knowledgeable and willing to assist in any way that they possibly could. The rooms are a nice mix of old and new with antique art, headboards, desks and armoires, as well as wireless Internet, cable television, comfortable beds and bar fridges. The complimentary hot breakfast, late afternoon tea/coffee and cookies set the inn apart. Overall my stay was fantastic and I would highly recommend the Waverley Inn.

  • Liked — The friendly staff, the comfortable rooms and the heritage atmosphere
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank NM-Stratford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
The Halliburton
#7 of 28 in Halifax
617 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waverley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waverley Inn

Property: Waverley Inn
Address: 1266 Barrington St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1Y5, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > South End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#10 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Waverley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored and centrally located inn close to all of downtown Halifax's major attractions. Thirty-four antique-filled rooms all with en-suite bath, many with Jacuzzi. A non-smoking property offering free parking, continental-plus breakfast buffet and high-speed wireless. History and hospitality join hands at Halifax's Waverley Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waverley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Hotel Halifax
Waverley Inn Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing