We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waverley Inn
Nearby Hotels
Cambridge Suites - Halifax(Halifax)(Great Value!)
US$175
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites(Halifax)(Great Value!)
US$173
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Four Points by Sheraton Halifax(Halifax)(Great Value!)
US$196
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$188
US$181
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$165
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
US$147
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atlantica Hotel Halifax(Halifax)(Great Value!)
US$174
US$169
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$202
US$156
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (584)
Filter reviews
584 results
Traveller rating
268
228
70
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
268
228
70
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoscar wildeno elevatorfree parkingantique furnitureblues bargreat locationfirst floorhenry housedowntown halifaxwithin walking distancebreakfast roomtea and coffeebarrington streetmain floorjacuzzi tubflights of stairsbaked goods
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
496 - 501 of 584 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2008

Stayed there for 4 nights with my husband. Nice room but the antique bed was uncomfortable but very beautiful. Best thing about the room was the large bathtub (it is not a jacuzzi as their website claims) which was very nice.
It is close to the center about 5 minuets walk.
THe breakfast was OK, I may have expected more from all the reviews from this site.
The pancakes were not at all good and not much variety was on offer. The same things were on offer my long week-end.
So overall this is just an average B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank frqntfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2008

We found the Waverly Inn by walking through Halifax and stopped in to check room availability for the night. The location is historic, having housed P.T. Barnum, Oscar Wilde, and the Vanderbilt's! The bed was a carved work of art, very ornate, matching the historic room decor. Although the room was small, it was comfortable, had everything we needed, and computers were even located in the lobby for our use. The reception desk was more than friendly and willing to suggest local bars and restaurants to visit. I would recommend the Waverly Inn to most everyone!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MappyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2008

I stayed at this inn when I was in Halifax for a conference. The room, although a bit small was very comfortable and the inn is a great location in Halifax.

Stayed: June 2007
Thank Janie_pooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2008

We love the Waverley. Located a quick walk from the waterfront, and crammed with history, antiques, charm and friendly service, staying at the Waverley feels like you're visiting friends for the weekend. The rooms are decorated with authentic period pieces, some original to the house. The beds were so comfortable I was contemplating how to sneak one out past the front desk :) The staff were more than accommodating, and really went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. Tea and cookies are available on a regular basis, not to mention a feast of a complimentary breakfast buffet. If you're looking for something to complain about, you might find the lack of elevator a nuisance, but the Waverley's other delights more than make up for it. It also doesn't hurt that the rates are below what you'd pay at your run of the mill corporate hotel in Halifax. A definite gem, not to be passed up.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ajvallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2008

We stayed three nights at the Waverley for our honeymoon. It was really a nice place to stay! We came in on the VIA train, so it was a really short walk to the Waverley from the station. We had Deluxe Queen room for 2 nights and I think a Standard room the third night. The bed and the large jacuzzi in the deluxe queen room were excellent!! The breakfast room was great and the selection of breakfast food was very good. The two staff there worked endlessly all morning, keeping new breakfast food fresh on the table (including egg sandwiches and muffins and sausage and everything else). You can pick up the free FRED bus back at the train station or up Barrington street a block, otherwise the walk down to the waterfront is not bad (a bit uphill on the way back). We rented a car from Hertz at the VIA station, and that was nice and parking at the Waverley was good.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank EFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews