We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Choice for Downtown Halifax” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waverley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waverley Inn
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
455 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Lovely Choice for Downtown Halifax”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Very convenient to downtown Halifax. We used our car only for the drive to the Citadel.Rum quite clean and quiet with beautiful attention to detail...wallpaper, bedspread, etc.Would definitely stay here again. Henry's for casual dining, and Stories for gourmet dining are quite near.

Room Tip: Avoid a room overlooking the main street..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AaronFWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    206
    63
    12
    4
See reviews for
51
298
45
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed here for the last night of our honeymoon. We booked the Oriental room which was the most interesting room I'd ever stayed in. It was beautifully decorated and the Chinese wedding bed was a beautiful feature. The bathroom is very large and has a vanity, a window seat and jacuzzi tub. The staff were very friendly. The only disappointment was breakfast which really could have been fine with just minor changes -- better quality juice and bagels, more array of cold cereals, no loud easy listening music playing.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJadeite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in a Queen room at $175/night not including taxes. I think if you stay here, you're going for the experience of the old-world rooms etc. and not the modern conveniences of most hotels.


Good Points:
- Right in town, so it's walking distance to everything
- FREE Parking (try find another downtown hotel with free parking...!!)
- Free breakfast and the hours are 7am-10am (good amount of time)
- Comfy bed
- Quaint furnishings throughout and a cute parlour where you can read and relax
- Free teas and coffees, with snacks in the afternoon

- Yes, the air-conditioner is very noisy
- Room is small (by North Americans standards, Europeans will be unfazed)
- Bathroom is tiny, amenities are ok
- Bearley's Jazz place across the way is sometimes noisy (I did not hear it)


Elaboration on the points:
Rooms:
Small rooms, nice and clean with quaint furnishings, yes the air-conditioner is noisy but I think this blocks other noises around you, plus you don't really need it in the Maritimes, it's not THAT hot.

Breakfast:
It was slightly different on both days, one day there was French toast and the next, really good blueberry pancakes... and I am very critical of food!! I think they offered most all you could want without doing a proper cooked breakfast.... cereal, fruits, pastries, juices, boiled eggs, ham, pancakes or French Toast and fairly good coffee.

Staff:
I agree with previous comments about the staff, they were helpful but NOT Maritime friendly.

Price:
Summer in the Maritimes is expensive, prepare to pay a lot for all services... that's how it is.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madeleine75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallkill, NY
Level Contributor
175 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

My husband and I spent two nights here at the end of our PEI cycling trip. We feel that we would have been better off staying somewhere else. The staff did not go out of their way to make us feel welcome. The room was quite small, and the air-conditioning unit was loud. Breakfast was average. The breakfast room is in the basement and could do with some cheerfulness. We will not be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DogLoverDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Had room on top floor facing the street, it was a bit noisy due to the club across the street (especially on Wednesday Karaoke night). No elevator, so lots of stairs, which was not unexpected from these old houses, but was not nice to bring luggage to and from room. Our room came with breakfast, which was mediocre at best, and only went down one of our three mornings. All in all a comfortable and charming stay with lots of beautiful antiques. Really enjoyed the lobby with the coffee, tea and treats that were out at all times.

Room Tip: If tall (>6.3ft) do not stay in P.T Barnum room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank k Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

The Waverley Inn is in the perfect location to explore Halifax and also has a free carpark. Reception staff were very friendly and the tea, coffee and cake in the lobby was a lovely extra.
The standard rooms are quite small which they do not appear to be on their website and the breakfast in the morning is very basic.

But all in all very happy with our stay. The Thai restaurant opposite is worth a visit, be warned the portions are huge!!

Room Tip: There's no lift so if you have a lot of luggage ask for a ground floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonja6920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Va
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Beautiful inn - bed and breakfast actually. Front desk attendant was very helpful and informative. Fresh coffee and tea all day in the lobby, pus muffins in the morning and cookies in the afternoon/evening. Rooms well decorated, and bathrooms updated - which is rather rare in these historic inns. Great location - walking distance to Halifax water front, restaurant and shopping. Breakfast was delicious.

Room Tip: I would avoid the main floor (noise from hallway traffic) and the 3rd++ floors. We stayed on the 2n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
The Halliburton
#7 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waverley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waverley Inn

Property: Waverley Inn
Address: 1266 Barrington St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1Y5, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > South End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Halifax
#9 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#10 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Waverley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored and centrally located inn close to all of downtown Halifax's major attractions. Thirty-four antique-filled rooms all with en-suite bath, many with Jacuzzi. A non-smoking property offering free parking, continental-plus breakfast buffet and high-speed wireless. History and hospitality join hands at Halifax's Waverley Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Waverley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Hotel Halifax
Waverley Inn Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing