We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable & Convenient”
Review of Waverley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waverley Inn
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Waverley Inn. It is located close to many of the Halifax attractions and has ample parking. The rooms are cozy and clean, and the staff are very friendly. Free WIFI and complementary breakfast (very good). We will definitely stay here again when we return to Halifax.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main street.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (561)
There are newer reviews for Waverley Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 561 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2013

The location was great. You could walk to many places. The free parking was a great benefit which you don't find in many places downtown. The Inn itself was beautiful with many antiques throughout. Have never stayed in any hotel that was as clean as this Inn. The bathroom was sparkling. The breakfast options were good and there were muffins and tea or coffee every morning and afternoon. Internet worked perfectly. There is no elevator but they carried my luggage up to the third-floor for me. My room was on the street side but I did not hear any of the traffic.

Room Tip: My room was on the third floor facing the street. I did not hear any noise.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed last week one night with my husband and was very pleased. Accomodations, service, cleanliness, comfort of beds , quietness of hotel and finally LOCATION!!!!! Cannot be beat!!! Very nice restaurants a stones throw away.....we would definitely recommend and off street parking thrown in!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golfgroup2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I was looking for a romantic place to stay on a honeymoon for three nights in Halifax with a big bed and big tub. Since I spent a lot of money on the wedding I didn't have a whole lot for a honeymoon. The Waverley Inn was impressive as soon as we pulled up. With free parking there were no "hidden costs" at this downtown location. The room had everything we needed to relax and enjoy each other after a busy month of wedding planning and celebrating. The room was romantic with TV, internet and a large whirlpool tub. Walking distance to shopping, movie theatre, Tim Hortons and Liquor Store. New husbands fav was Snappy Tomato Pizza's donair eggs rolls just across the street. Breakfast in the morning was also included. I look forward to spending anniversaries here.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank BoulderCove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The rooms are clean and well kept. Its a beautiful old property and has lots of charm. The location is excellent allowing us to walk to all the attractions in the area which made for a great stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gypsy_Adventure1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I stayed for one night in a modest room with a shower. The price was right and there was more than enough space for one person. The room was clean, bright and comfortable with an updated bathroom. It was also very quiet with no guests in the hallway making noise one any street noise.
I thought this a great plus for a Saturday night on a busy street. I felt like I was staying in a home versus a hotel and lived the decor. The only downside was that the breakfast room in the baseman
could do with a renovation as it seemed a bit tired. The breakfast was good generally though the
fruit salad a little on the old side.
I would suggest getting a room at the back of the building which is what I had.
The Waverley Inn is a very comfortable place to stay with lovely decor and good service.
I would stay again,

Room Tip: You can get a good deal by calling the hotel directly and they offer a CAA discount or 25 percent...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane22013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This old style Inn is at a great location within walking distance to most downtown sites. The interior is beautifully decorated in period furniture. The room we had was cozy and comfortable and the breakfasts offered good selection. My wife and I prefer to sleep with an open window, but our room’s proximity to the street in front as well as the main floor air conditioning unit at the side of the building made for a restless first night. The next day we purchased ear plugs at the local pharmacy which made a huge difference. The staff were friendly and helpful. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Consult with staff as to location of quieter rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim-Dan-BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,974 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
The Halliburton
#9 of 28 in Halifax
690 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waverley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waverley Inn

Address: 1266 Barrington St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1Y5, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > South End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#10 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: £74 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waverley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored and centrally located inn close to all of downtown Halifax's major attractions. Thirty-four antique-filled rooms all with en-suite bath, many with Jacuzzi. A non-smoking property offering free parking, continental-plus breakfast buffet and high-speed wireless. History and hospitality join hands at Halifax's Waverley Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waverley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Hotel Halifax
Waverley Inn Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing