We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and service in a historic property”
Review of Waverley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waverley Inn
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Just stayed here for a two day business trip. They rearranged my booking with no problem following flight delays. Ample free parking, good wifi, included breakfast, 24 hr front desk. Big hotel amenties, small hotel hygge (look it up). Close to all south end Halifax amenties (lots of eating and drinking options) and attractions. I'll be back for sure - keep doing what you are doing.

Room Tip: The cheaper rooms are small - but ideal for lone business travellers. A great alternative to the c...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amherstburgmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (560)
There are newer reviews for Waverley Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 561 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

A fabulous historic inn close to the waterfront in downtown Halifax. Walking distance to the Maritime Museum, Pier 21 and Citadel Hill. Very close to some great restaurants and a large grocery store. The rooms are lovely, very clean and the inn is decorated with antique pieces. Free wifi in the rooms, coffee, tea and treats out in the afternoon and a lovely buffet breakfast included in the morning - toast, muffins, juice, cereal, pancakes, eggs, ham! Staff very friendly and helpful. No elevator but stairs were manageable and staff offered to help with luggage. (They told me no elevator when I booked). Very nice place to stay for a solo traveler. My room was on the side and was very quiet. (3rd floor)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lew44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Staff are friendly and helpful. The room was stunning and close to everything. Breakfast was just ok and you eat in the catacombs of the building. Coffee and treats are available all day. Pack light, you have to take the stairs.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This hotel has the best location! We walked everywhere and it was perfect. We loved our room. It was very small, but charming. Victorian decor was spot on! There are much larger rooms, there just weren't any available when we booked. Breakfast was fair, like an inexpensive hotel buffet, not like any B&B we had stayed in before. Front desk recommendation for dinner was fantastic. We would love to stay here again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AdlerKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I liked this spot. Beautiful building in a great downtown location. Walking distance from everything. Room was a but different with the sink and vanity in the room and the toilet in the bathroom, but I guess that's what you get with renovated old buildings.

Overall, the food, staff, and hotel itself was nice for a perfect east coast stay. Free parking and breakfast is a plus downtown.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raneew2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

The Waverley Inn was a lovely inn with great staff. A great bonus was that the room came with free parking, which is rare in Halifax. Check-in was easy and located to the left of the desk was a table with fresh baked goods, tea, and coffee. Our room was immaculately decorated and quaint. It was located on the top floor with a sky light. The inn itself was quiet, which was surprising for an inn that kept such character. The Waverley is within walking distance to all of the downtown - a definite plus. The morning breakfast was delicious. I will stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tgall040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The location is right in the heart of Halifax, so it makes the city very walkable. The rooms are far more like a bed and breakfast, antiques aplenty, but sizable with everything you might expect of this class of hotel. The breakfast was good, parking is free, good Internet and the staff was inviting and helpful. I'll bump down a star for the bar across the street as we needed to put on the air conditioner for white-noise to drown out the crowd gathered outside on a warm summer night. If you're early to bed or sensitive to noise, ask for a room away from the street. But certainly a recommended hotel in Halifax.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJB-MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,973 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
The Halliburton
#10 of 28 in Halifax
691 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waverley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waverley Inn

Address: 1266 Barrington St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1Y5, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > South End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#10 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: £74 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waverley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored and centrally located inn close to all of downtown Halifax's major attractions. Thirty-four antique-filled rooms all with en-suite bath, many with Jacuzzi. A non-smoking property offering free parking, continental-plus breakfast buffet and high-speed wireless. History and hospitality join hands at Halifax's Waverley Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waverley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Hotel Halifax
Waverley Inn Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing