We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Waverley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waverley Inn
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
hamilton
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

What a great place to stay. Beautiful rooms and a great price for Halifax. So many historic figures stayed here. I was in a room Oscar Wilder stayed in. Clean and great staff. You are away from the core but a very short walk to it. Some good restaurants around it also.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank theklingon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    219
    66
    13
    4
See reviews for
53
313
47
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Historic and picturesque, but has been modernized over the past decade or so and for the price it's a serious bargain. Comfortable, reasonable amenities, friendly and helpful staff, and convenient parking. And right where we want to be when we go to Halifax. Breakfast, included, is okay, though we wouldn't write home about it; afternoon tea in the lobby was a pleasant surprise. Furniture and decoration all appropriately antique without being kitsch or cute. We stayed with friends from New York, to whom we'd recommended it, and we were all more than happy with the choice.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor and it was NOT noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneandRussHunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Comfortable and convenient - right down town - the Waverley Inn is a nicely preserved piece of the city's past. The wifi, parking (a spacious lot, not a low ceilinged, cramped garage) and breakfast are all included in a price that appears to be the best available in the downtown area for accommodations of this calibre. I've stayed at most of the 4-stars in the area and this rivals any of them and has character unmatched by any. My high-topped truck and I will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFSJNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2014

If you like the B&B experience, there is no better place than the Waverley Inn in Halifax. We have stayed at B&B's all over Europe and honestly, the Waverley is right up there with the best of them. The service is super, the breakfast wonderful and the room very clean and comfortable. We left our IPAD charger behind in the room when we checked out and no problem for us to pick it up later. It was neatly identified and waiting for us at the front desk. Great service! With the marvelous breakfast, free parking and very convenient location, the Waverley is at the top for great places to stay in the Halifax.

Room Tip: We had booked one of the less expensive rooms and we thought we would be climbing lots of stairs. N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrammieDale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbados
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Just stayed here for a two day business trip. They rearranged my booking with no problem following flight delays. Ample free parking, good wifi, included breakfast, 24 hr front desk. Big hotel amenties, small hotel hygge (look it up). Close to all south end Halifax amenties (lots of eating and drinking options) and attractions. I'll be back for sure - keep doing what you are doing.

Room Tip: The cheaper rooms are small - but ideal for lone business travellers. A great alternative to the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amherstburgmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

A fabulous historic inn close to the waterfront in downtown Halifax. Walking distance to the Maritime Museum, Pier 21 and Citadel Hill. Very close to some great restaurants and a large grocery store. The rooms are lovely, very clean and the inn is decorated with antique pieces. Free wifi in the rooms, coffee, tea and treats out in the afternoon and a lovely buffet breakfast included in the morning - toast, muffins, juice, cereal, pancakes, eggs, ham! Staff very friendly and helpful. No elevator but stairs were manageable and staff offered to help with luggage. (They told me no elevator when I booked). Very nice place to stay for a solo traveler. My room was on the side and was very quiet. (3rd floor)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lew44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Staff are friendly and helpful. The room was stunning and close to everything. Breakfast was just ok and you eat in the catacombs of the building. Coffee and treats are available all day. Pack light, you have to take the stairs.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,913 reviews
The Halliburton
#9 of 28 in Halifax
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waverley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waverley Inn

Property: Waverley Inn
Address: 1266 Barrington St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1Y5, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > South End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Halifax
#9 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#10 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Waverley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored and centrally located inn close to all of downtown Halifax's major attractions. Thirty-four antique-filled rooms all with en-suite bath, many with Jacuzzi. A non-smoking property offering free parking, continental-plus breakfast buffet and high-speed wireless. History and hospitality join hands at Halifax's Waverley Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Waverley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Hotel Halifax
Waverley Inn Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing