We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful historic stay”
Review of Waverley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waverley Inn
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

This is not a modern inn .. step back in time with this beautiful building .. beautiful rooms. If you have trouble with stairs stay on the main floor. Great location only a few minutes walk to pier 21 and the harbor walk. My one recommendation to the hotel would be for the big price we pay to have muffins or something out for those of us that leave early. We were told at 630am there was nothing left yet I saw some employer walking with plates of them for -later-. I'm sure someone could have gone into the breakfast room for us (opening later that morning) to grab a scone or something .. took you from a 5 to a 4

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank tanya j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 576 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

The hotel is an interesting historical building. The choice of décor is odd -- there are all sorts of antiques which are not really functional or decorative -- they're just antiques. for example, there were antiques in our room that would not have been used in bedrooms. It was difficult to find a power outlet that was not in use that was functional (for charging cell phones, etc.) The day staff was helpful, but the night staff seemed a little offhand. It was quite a climb to our room. Parking was handy, and the hotel is close to much of what you'd want to do in Halifax. I notice people mentioning the snacks at night -- the snacks had usually run out by the time we got to them, and we weren't out that late, and I am suspicious that the decaf tea was really caffeinated, given the disturbed sleep I had one night. Breakfast was dismal.

Room Tip: Try for lower floor, away from lobby and exit to parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catrinkah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The best value for your money in Halifax!!! Beautiful hotel, perfectly located within walking distance of harbour and citadel and many great restaurants. The inn is decorated with gorgeous antiques and rooms are great!!! Awesome hot breakfast included with your room. You can't go wrong with this location - have stayed here twice, (five years apart), and it is always great!!

Room Tip: Some rooms are smaller (still larger than New York lol) but still beautiful. If you want more spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bethanmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The Waverley is a beautiful old inn, well taken care of and clean. Easy walking distance to the harbor and off the street parking, a great place to take in Halifax on foot. My husband and I had a beautiful queen room on the first floor and our friends had an equally nice king room also on the first floor. Breakfast was not the best but it worked for us. We had no real negatives to our visit and the staff was great!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BETHANY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Our room was at the very top of the hotel, and it was a long climb as there are no elevators there. Enjoyed the eclectic furnishings and portraits and the friendly staff. The tea and "sweets" available near reception were a nice touch. The room was a little "tight," but very clean and tidy. Housekeeping did a really great job throughout our three-day stay. The bed could have been more comfortable. Not enough space for two, and I kept slipping down towards the side. Breakfast wasn't amazing, but certainly adequate. Wi-Fi cut out a few times...Really great location, just a few blocks down to the boardwalk and many good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Corrina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I am sorry to report negatively about this hotel, as I love old restored inns rather than brand new generic hotels. Yet I was most disappointed when we checked in here. They do have free parking and a free breakfast, but that didn't make up for the rest. Our room had one of the loud floor unit A/C machines (which did help drown out some of the street noise) and was overcrowded with huge walnut beds and a dresser, wardrobe, vanity and two uncomfortable upholstered chairs. There was really no room for us! And though I am not surprised at small bathrooms in old hotels, this was very small with no counter space. The decor was overpowering rather than charming or elegant. Sadly it's a"no" for me on this inn.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

First the positives: friendly staff, historic charm, great free parking, central location, and breakfast included. All of this for what is typical charge for a brand hotel in Halifax (without parking, which is more $, and no breakfast of any kind).

Negatives: Major negative as others have noted is street noise from the bar across the street. If you are a light sleeper, it can make for a rough night. If you're a solid sleeper, it's probably not an issue. Breakfast is 'ok'. Was not expecting much based on others' reviews, and so it was fine.Gave us a start on the day. Seemed to be constantly running out of things though and couldnt keep up with the demand for food items. Probably the hotel should pay a bit more attention to the breakfast portion of the stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
The Halliburton
#10 of 28 in Halifax
738 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
3,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waverley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waverley Inn

Address: 1266 Barrington St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1Y5, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > South End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Halifax
#9 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: £62 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waverley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored and centrally located inn close to all of downtown Halifax's major attractions. Thirty-four antique-filled rooms all with en-suite bath, many with Jacuzzi. A non-smoking property offering free parking, continental-plus breakfast buffet and high-speed wireless. History and hospitality join hands at Halifax's Waverley Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waverley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Hotel Halifax
Waverley Inn Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing