We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful room - excellent location”
Review of Waverley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waverley Inn
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful room - excellent location”
Reviewed 27 September 2006

The Waverley Inn in an excellent place to stay in Halifax. The Inn has free parking on site where we were able to park our car and walk to the harbour. We didn't even need our vehicle in the two days we were in Halifax. The Inn is filled with beautiful antiques. There are two computers available in the lobby for guest use. They have a folder full of menus from local restaurants but were very helpful in suggesting a seafood restaurant to us. They provided us with maps to all the local attractions and informed us of a time when the museum was offering free admission. Coffee, a variety of teas and cookies were available in the evening for a snack. The complimentary breakfast was located down a long flight of stairs, but the buffet was excellent and included blueberry pancakes one of the morning we were there. The cost ($112.50 CAA) and location made it an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tricia43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    208
    64
    12
    4
See reviews for
52
299
45
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2006

We stayed for three nights in August at the end of our Nova Scotia Vacation. The hotel is centrally located and within walking distance to most attractions. However note the city does have its share of hills so be prepared. Parking throughout town can be difficult at times but not like other big cities.

Positives: free parking, free coffee, tea, juice and cookies during the day, good breakfast in am which includes hot items, free water cooler. Rooms are beautiful with antiques and all necessary amenities, including a fridge. Bed in our room was a Queen with feather bed and great lines. Free wireless internet in room or use of two computers in front room.

Negatives: staff are nice; but not approachable, front desk gentleman was very helpful though. Building is heritage building but has been rennovated to accommodate the 21st century. Unfortunately this deters from the beauty of the building -- holes cut in wall to accommodate t.v., fridge, airconditioner in windows, pipe going through room for sprinkler system and ceiling fan that looks like they picked it up at Zellers.

Overall I recommend this hotel, and would definately stay here again. Would love to see the owners make this property entirely authentic.

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Vickie_Bernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2006

The Waverley Inn is a good choice for Halifax, Nova Scotia. The Inn has interesting antique furniture and painting through out. The beds were double size, which we are not used to. Sleeping with your spouse may be snug.
The Inn is walking distance to the coastal historical area and a couple of nice pubs and restaurants.

The staff could try to be a bit more friendly . My traveling companions and I had a nice stay.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank moodswingermama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester. England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2006

We stayed 3 nights in May 2006.

The Waverley is well located to explore Halifax and has a lot of character. The rooms and general areas are well furnished and a refreshing change from the lack of character in many modern hotels.

The breakfast was OK. Our only small criticism was that the character of the staff did not match that of the building! They were certainly not unfriendly but it all seemed a bit formal, however this might be just us as we were on holiday and relaxed!

Overall I would recommend the Waverley and would stay there again iof we return to Halifax.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank blue0104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2006

We stayed here for one night before leaving Halifax, after returning from Cape Breton. Excellent location, clean, comfortable, very good value for the money. I don't think we would have stayed longer than a night or two however; it was a bit too small and cramped.

  • Stayed June 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank megasmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2006

This place is a hiden gem in Halifax. What a great value for your hard earned dollar. We stayed here for 8 night (March 30 - April 7) and it exceeded my expectations. The room rates are good but what makes this place is the added value and personal touch it has.
Free Parking
Free Local Calls
Free Continetial Breakfast (Eggs, French Toast, etc.)
Free Internet Use
Free Afternoon Coffee and Baked goods
Great Location
Nice and very knowledgable Staff
and the Inn is Very Clean

We only had one problem, and that was with our room location. We had a room one the first floor near the reception area and stairs to the breakfast room. There was noise almost every moring which cause some fustration while sleeping.

I highly recommend this Inn! If you can go without a pool, workout facility and saunas that a large chain hotel can provide then this is the place to stay in Halifax.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mciolfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, NB
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2006

I was in Halifax with a friend for part of the weekend and, although the shopping experience and the clubbing were subpar, the room we booked at the last minute at the Waverly Inn was very nice and clean.

There seems to have been a slight issue with the plumbing in our room (hence the 4/5 rating) but, otherwise, everything was just fine.

We expected toast, eggs and coffee as our free continental breakfast but were very surprised with the nice selection of foods available in their dining area, especially given the reasonable rate for the room.

The internet stations downstairs were a nice touch and the bedding, bathroom and floors were the cleanest I'd seen in any hotel room.

I've already started recommending the Waverly Inn to my friends and relatives and am glad to give them this well-deserved positive review on TripAdvisor.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Stephane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
The Halliburton
#6 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waverley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waverley Inn

Property: Waverley Inn
Address: 1266 Barrington St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1Y5, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > South End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#10 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Waverley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored and centrally located inn close to all of downtown Halifax's major attractions. Thirty-four antique-filled rooms all with en-suite bath, many with Jacuzzi. A non-smoking property offering free parking, continental-plus breakfast buffet and high-speed wireless. History and hospitality join hands at Halifax's Waverley Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waverley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Hotel Halifax
Waverley Inn Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing