We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable friendly hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Waverley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waverley Inn
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Comfortable friendly hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2010

Comfortable, friendly, quiet hotel in a convenient location on the edge of downtown Halifax. This is a restored Victorian, furnished to period. Basic breakfast provided; tea, coffee and cake available. Free internet, comfortable lounge, friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spruce_grouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    207
    63
    12
    4
See reviews for
52
298
45
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2010

The Waverley is perfect. Staff is pleasant and helpful, rooms are adequate and clean, breakfast is fine (by the third day we wanted a change so went out) and the location is amazing - our car sat in the parking lot for the three days we were there.

I have stayed at other hotels in Halifax but never again!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJB1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2010

Our third visit to the Waverley Inn and it just gets better every time. Old world elegance and charm really make this place as well as the friendly staff. We stayed in the Oscar Wilde room which is large and airy. The breakfast as usual was excellent and the supply of cakes and warm drinks near the reception is very much appreciated after a long day walking around Halifax.

We had an extra 8 days here due to the Volcanic Ash as all the flights had being cancelled to the UK, we would like to stress how co-operative the staff and Alistair where during this period, never pressuring us to when we were leaving and even moving other guests who were due to stay in our room around, so we could stay in our room and not suffer any inconvenience. This was greatly appreciated.

We cannot thank the staff and Alistair enough we will definately be returning.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShellyGrantham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2010

First of all, hearing that Oscar Wilde stayed at the Waverley Inn during his North American tour was an instant selling point for me. It could have been pretty horrible and I would have grasped on to its historical significance like a life preserver--history improves all for me. This, however, was not necessary. The Waverley Inn met and exceeded my expectations!

The lobby was just what I would have expected from a Victorian Inn. Perhaps you'll notice the many pineapple motifs--pineapples were sign of great wealth in the Victorian era. It's these little details that would perhaps go otherwise unnoticed that I find charming and memorable. Our room was on the top floor, complete with window and skylight! The white beddings were pristine and extremely comfortable.

The service was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was nice and served each morning in a cozy dining room. The location was perfect for all the needs of our trip. There's really nothing more that we could have asked for in a hotel! I would recommend--and already have recommended--this hotel, and choose it for all future Halifax trips.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dicelees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
150 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2010

I recently stayed at the Waverley Inn for 3 nights while in Halifax for a business meeting. I usually prefer more modern hotels but decided to try something different based on the good reviews I found on TripAdvisor. I have to say my stay was wonderful and I was not disappointed with the Waverley Inn!

The location on Barrington Street is convenient - close to the waterfront and a short walk from the main downtown area. I stayed in a "traditional room" which was quite small but had a full bathroom including bathtub and was well appointed. I felt at home right away. The service was excellent and the people at the front desk were very helpful. They have delicious baked treats in the hallway all day long in addition to tea & coffee. Free wireless internet is available in all the rooms.

Breakfast was more than adequate. It's essentially a continental breakfast with the added bonus of hot items such as scrambled eggs and hashbrowns. Lots of fresh fruit options as well - bananas, apples, oranges, kiwi, melon.

Because it is an old building, I found the adjacent rooms to be a bit noisy - you could hear water in the pipes when other people were showering as well as doors opening & closing. Walking down the hallway you can hear muffled sounds coming from the rooms (TV, conversations) so I'm not sure this hotel would be ideal for a romantic getaway, but I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomvula_za
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valkenburg, Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2010

This place left us with mixed feelings. A very promising website raises the bar to a level that the rooms we had could not make reality (102 and 103). Especially the latter one (a "deluxe room") appeared to be a disappointment, the rate being disproportionally high when compared to the much larger "standard twin" (102). The room was quite tiny and surely would have been quite dark in the summer, yet, due to the time of year we only saw it with the lamps switched on. After the first night we wondered why the room was so overheated despite the heating itself was off. The solution to that secret are the heating pipes under the ceiling which I could easily spot even with my glasses off (minus 7), in other words: they are huge! Finally, the breakfast. What ought to be a good start of the day turned out to be just enough to deserve the title "breakfast". The ambiance was quite fitting to the concept.
Well, it is a historic place, the entrance hall is quite nice, they have free internet access, parking is easy, and all relevant locations of Halifax are within walking distance. That's of course all positive, and hence our "mixed feelings".

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Makina67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2009

What a wonderful, unique hotel this is. Elegant, old world, wonderful customer service right in the heart of Halifax at very reasonable rates. The room full of original, beautiful antiques. Even breakfast included. Just the perfect place to be after a long day of work.
Recommend it to anyone who wants something different than standard hotel fare.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hopetravels8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
The Halliburton
#7 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waverley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waverley Inn

Property: Waverley Inn
Address: 1266 Barrington St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1Y5, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > South End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#10 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Waverley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored and centrally located inn close to all of downtown Halifax's major attractions. Thirty-four antique-filled rooms all with en-suite bath, many with Jacuzzi. A non-smoking property offering free parking, continental-plus breakfast buffet and high-speed wireless. History and hospitality join hands at Halifax's Waverley Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waverley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Hotel Halifax
Waverley Inn Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing