We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy with the Waverley Inn”
Review of Waverley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Waverley Inn
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Very happy with the Waverley Inn”
Reviewed 24 October 2010

My husband and I passed through Halifax three times on our three week Atlantic Canada trip, and the Waverley Inn was the first place we had the pleasure of resting our heads while there. We spent three nights and were both very impressed. The Inn has been open since the late 1800s and is not showing her age at all. From the outside of the building to the main lobby to the rooms, everything is beautiful and well done. Beautiful hardwood floors throughout . When we checked in, the man at the front desk (I believe his name was Matt, I might be wrong) was genuinely friendly and excellent at his job. I came across him a few times during our stay and he was always this way.

We stayed in a Traditional room ($129/night in high season) on the second floor, which was small but cozy, not suffocating at all. I am not an easy sleeper, and the bed in that room was arguably the most
comfortable bed I have ever slept in. It was soft, the way I like it, and had this amazing V-shaped pillow that knocked me out instantly. Note - there is not an elevator in the building. Breakfast was included in the price and we both found it to be quite sufficient. Cereal, yogurt, fruit, hashbrowns, eggs, oatmeal, juice.... There was also a little table next to the front desk that had cookies or squares each day, along with some apples, and coffee and tea. I really appreciated this as it was nice to grab an apple or a cookie for the road. The Inn has free Wifi and a computer in the lobby as well.

The Inn is located in a quiet part of downtown, about a 10 minute walk from the waterfront, the Citadel, shopping and almost everything else you'll want to get to in Halifax. We had a rental car as we were heading out of the city quite a bit, and a huge bonus for us was the free parking provided in a good sized lot right beside the Inn.

I also have to add that when I phoned from home to book the room months before our stay, the man on the phone was also extremely helpful and nice. I would absolutely stay here again and recommend it to anyone going to Halifax. We stayed in three different hotels in Halifax, and this was the best.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissWanderlustCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    211
    65
    12
    4
See reviews for
52
302
46
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

Beautifully furnished and well maintained Victorian boutique hotel. Short walk to some cool bars and restaurants. The most outstanding thing was the helpfulness of all of the staff - very impressive!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tych0Brahe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

What I loved:
- The Waverley is housed in a Victorian building and is furnished with antiques (although the bathrooms are modern). The guest lounge is cozy and warm, creating an atmosphere in which guests often talk to each other.
- The bed in my room was just like one I remember from childhood (probably in my grandparents' home), which added to the charm. Plus, it was wonderfully comfortable! It was firm enough not to sag, while also having the top few inches plush. I slept very well.
- The staff knows a great deal about Halifax and the surrounding area, and they even have a custom map printed up, with directions on how to get to Peggy's Cove and other points west.

The so-sos:
- The buffet breakfast was ordinary, the kind of thing I'd expect at a Hampton Inn. It was plentiful and perfectly edible, but nothing to write home about.
- The location is convenient to everything but you have to walk a couple of blocks to get anywhere other than a few restaurants. You can think of that as good in that it's quieter this way, or you can think of it as less convenient (especially at night). I didn't mind it, really, as I was aiming to walk a lot anyhow.

What I'd change:
- The coffee was not good - weak and with too little taste.
- I'd increase the counter/shelf space in the bathroom and would add a light over the mirror.
- Oh, and I could have done without hearing Frank Sinatra at breakfast.

Note: The hotel has no elevator. It does have accessible rooms on the first floor, but people who can walk yet tire easily might keep this in mind. I grumbled about it once in a while (I was on the third floor) but in truth it was useful for me to have no excuse not to use the stairs. And in any case, the main stairway is part of the elegance of the foyer.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethB1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
153 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

This was our first stop in Nova Scotia and it set the standards high. It was our favorite inn in Nova Scotia. The B&B is conveniently located-a nice walk to the waterfront and there was a great pub right down the street. The room had delightful european "V" pillows-wonderful to read and watch TV in bed. The breakfast was good, not great.
This was a quaint, charming B&B and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penny0502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Hi!
I been there! I was not amaze by this hotel, and the price! The breakfast was included, but the breakfast is just ok. The room was also ok....I did not like the background smell of the room. The decoration was quiet pretty, even thought it is a very old hotel.

The hotel is ok, maybe a little bite expensived for what it is since the breakfast is very dole.

Jewel

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jewel1000_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

We recently spent 2 nights at the Waverley and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The front desk staff were extremely pleasant and helpful during check-in and throughout our stay answering all of our questions. We found everything to be very clean and although our standard room was very small , it fit our needs. We were able to look into other more spacious and luxurious rooms and were very jealous.But our priority was to be near the waterfront and the Waverley's location was within easy walking distance from the important sites in the downtown area. A very nice breakfast was included in our rates and this along with free parking made the Inn a good value. We would definitely stay there again and urge others to take a look at this property

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2010

We stayed at the Inn while visiting from Ottawa for 2 nights on our anniversary. Our room was #1, ground floor across from check-in. This might have been a recipe for disaster but posed no problems with noise from other guests. The room had amazing, high ceilings, a huge bay window and the most interesting period furnishings I have ever seen in a hotel/inn/B+B. We had our own bathroom with great water pressure. The parking was free and there was a small fridge in the room for our use. Coffee is available in the lobby with fruit and sweet things all day. Breakfast buffet is included and consists of cereals, instant oatmeal, baked beans, scrambled eggs, pancakes and ham. It was not really inspired but it was good. Hurricane Earl happened along while we were there and we lost power for ~12 hours. Our room was fine because we had such a large window although other guests headed to the common rooms which made for a jovial atmosphere. The staff was polite and professional. Our room fronted the street and there was a bar across it that was loud late at night-it was Frosh Week at the Universities. We minded it a bit the first night but the second (Saturday) was fine. Would definitely stay here again; walking distance to downtown, restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrCanadaGoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
The Halliburton
#6 of 28 in Halifax
641 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waverley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waverley Inn

Property: Waverley Inn
Address: 1266 Barrington St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1Y5, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > South End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#10 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Waverley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored and centrally located inn close to all of downtown Halifax's major attractions. Thirty-four antique-filled rooms all with en-suite bath, many with Jacuzzi. A non-smoking property offering free parking, continental-plus breakfast buffet and high-speed wireless. History and hospitality join hands at Halifax's Waverley Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waverley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Hotel Halifax
Waverley Inn Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing